Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 205

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


JohnyR wrote:

Wasted my whole day with this new modem. Swapped the unit twice, and still having the same issue: getting 20mbps down if I'm lucky, instead of the 800 that I usually average. I've noticed that my upstream power levels are way below spec. My old modem was between 41-43, now it is 31-35 (35 is min recommended)

 

I've spoke to tech support atleast 6 times today, and they are all pretty useless (I forgot how much better and technically-knowledged level1 techs on third party ISPs are). I keep mentioning that my upstream signals are BELOW spec and they brush it off -- probably because they dont understand it.

 

What is my course of action here? I can't get my old modem back as its marked to be shipped off to whereever. 


I wouldnt be concerend about your upstream numbers at all. the CMTS tells your modem what power it needs to make it back. your modem does not determin them at all. Mine are 30.XX no issues, always have been even before the new modem. As for your down stream issues I'd see if @RogersDave can run a diagnostic on your modem and see what he can find. 

WHats your downstream numbers look like?

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 205

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


JohnyR wrote:

Wasted my whole day with this new modem. Swapped the unit twice, and still having the same issue: getting 20mbps down if I'm lucky, instead of the 800 that I usually average. I've noticed that my upstream power levels are way below spec. My old modem was between 41-43, now it is 31-35 (35 is min recommended)

 

I've spoke to tech support atleast 6 times today, and they are all pretty useless (I forgot how much better and technically-knowledged level1 techs on third party ISPs are). I keep mentioning that my upstream signals are BELOW spec and they brush it off -- probably because they dont understand it.

 

What is my course of action here? I can't get my old modem back as its marked to be shipped off to whereever. 


I wouldnt be concerend about your upstream numbers at all. the CMTS tells your modem what power it needs to make it back. your modem does not determin them at all. Mine are 30.XX no issues, always have been even before the new modem. As for your down stream issues I'd see if @RogersDave can run a diagnostic on your modem and see what he can find. 

WHats your downstream numbers look like?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,058

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

This is a known issue, and Rogers Dave is looking into it, I also suffer from this issue. You can log into the modem then hit reboot, this will temporarily fix it. Also your upstream signals are fine, the higher the number the more power the modem is using to reach the CMTS. In your case the modem isn't use much dbmv, which is a good thing. 41-43 meant your modem was using a lot of power trying to keep the signal to the CMTS, now its barely using any power to communicate to the CMTS.
I hope they find a fix for the slow speeds though, sometimes I'm at full speeds, other times 150mb/s max on my Gigabit plan. With the old CGN my speeds were constant, but had terrible latency.


I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I just "upgraded" my modem today too and my speeds have dropped from over 700 Mbps to under 100 Mbps

I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 332

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I got the new modem as well and my signal levels for the upstream seem low.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM5.5003137.093
2363000000256QAM6.9001037.636
3369000000256QAM7.1001137.636
4375000000256QAM7.6001237.636
5381000000256QAM7.2001337.636
6387000000256QAM6.7001437.356
7393000000256QAM6.7001536.610
8399000000256QAM6.7001637.356
9405000000256QAM5.9001737.636
10411000000256QAM5.9001837.356
11417000000256QAM6.6001937.636
12423000000256QAM7.0002037.636
13429000000256QAM7.7002137.636
14435000000256QAM8.1002237.636
15441000000256QAM7.9002337.356
16447000000256QAM6.9002437.356
17555000000256QAM4.0002536.610
18561000000256QAM3.6002636.387
19567000000256QAM2.9002736.387
20573000000256QAM3.8002836.387
21579000000256QAM4.2002935.780
22585000000256QAM4.3003036.387
23357000000256QAM6.900937.636
24597000000256QAM6.1003237.356
25603000000256QAM6.1003337.356
26609000000256QAM5.5003436.610
27615000000256QAM4.7003537.356
28621000000256QAM3.6003636.610
29633000000256QAM3.1003736.387
30639000000256QAM3.3003836.610
31645000000256QAM4.3003936.387
32651000000256QAM3.4004036.610
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
138595668ATDMA - 64QAM38.75033200000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM34.75016400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM33.25026400000

 

perhaps this modem draws less power?

 

@RogersDave Can you please add me to the modem firmware program so I can get the latest firmware as it comes out?

 

Thanks

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 43

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Yes but there also exists a minumum amount of power. I don't know about you, but this is almost unusable. I'm getting 1/8th the speed I should be getting.. not a few Mbps off. Not only that, I'm getting an average of 1% packetloss.

I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 142

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


JohnyR wrote:

Wasted my whole day with this new modem. Swapped the unit twice, and still having the same issue: getting 20mbps down if I'm lucky, instead of the 800 that I usually average. I've noticed that my upstream power levels are way below spec. My old modem was between 41-43, now it is 31-35 (35 is min recommended)

 

 

I've created a ticket with engineering and requested that a tech come out to try and fix my upstream power levels. 


@JohnyR, 31-35 may be in spec.

From the datasheet: "Upstream transmit signal level: +11 to 65dBmV"

It does not break it down for TDMA 64QAM 3 channel (which is what Rogers uses), so optimum level is a guess at best right now.  The midpoint is 38dBmV, and you're really close to that.  You will definitely see a lower power requirement/negotiation from the CMTS for these devices - that's why Rogers is going to save electricity costs by deploying these units since they require less power from the CMTS.

From the 2015 announcement: "In addition to the increased network performance, the energy-efficient CODA will help reduce power usage and lower the cable operator’s carbon footprint." Source

 

The speed issues are being tracked in the firmware thread, and RogersDave is asking affected users to post their info in that thread using his template.

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/Getting_connected/message-id/381...

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 43

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Thanks for that explanation, I did not know that!

Looks like my speeds have significantly improved, but nowhere near what they were before. PL is still about 1%.

Will submit a reply in that thread.
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

did you do the auto setup and input a wifi password?

if so, cusadmin / (your wifi password)
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 19

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

For some reason this modem isn't able to correctly identify when it's connected to a gigabit ethernet card. I've got 3 laptops, all of which were able to get the yellow light on the prior black modem indicating a gigabit connection. Now all 3 are showing the green light and running a speed test caps out at around 95mbps.