Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Big8D no, thats not a problem.  In order to run DOCSIS 3.1, a certain percentage of the users connected to any given CMTS require the CODA-4582.  At or above that threshold %, DOCSIS 3.1, which uses OFDM can be enabled on the CMTS.  There is a bandwidth tradeoff as the freqency spectrum allocated to DOCSIS 3.1 will become exclusive to DOCSIS 3.1.  @RogersDave can correct me here if I'm wrong.  The remaining frequency spectrum will remain as is for DOCSIS 3.0 operation. 

 

So, for now, your modem remains in DOCSIS 3.0 mode, which isn't a problem.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 23

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Thank you for answering my question @Datalink
I'm an Advisor
Posts: 928

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@Datalink wrote:

Please let me know if the swap manages to bring up both OFDM channels.  If not, I would wonder if there is an issue with the CMTS to which your modem is connected.


Maybe I'm missing something (I'm in a still-3.0 area), but I thought the initial D3.1 deployment was only one OFDM channel, with another to come later as D3.0 capacity gets reallocated... 

 

@RogersDave can you clarify? Has anybody observed two OFDM channels?

I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 338

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

marco5566

Depending on your modem, I also had similar issues that drove me nuts. Assuming your signal level is good, try turning off the 2.4 Ghz wifi band, save the settings and power cycle the modem. That may resolve the problem.
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 11

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

So I went back to the store and they gave me a CGN3ACSMR modem which looks like the old one. Hopefully this one works fine. I had big wifi issues with this model before.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

That modem should update to 4.5.8.27 within the next 48 to 72 hours.  Still configured for gigabit service?



I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 338

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I am getting internet stalls and in the logs I am seeing this:

 

No.
Time
Type
Priority
Event
1
12/31/2016 16:13:45
84000500
critical
SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
2
12/31/2016 16:13:50
84020200
warning
Lost MDD Timeout;;;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
3
12/31/2016 16:14:14
82000400
critical
Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
4
12/31/2016 16:15:05
82000200
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
5
12/31/2016 16:15:18
90000000
warning
MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

Is there something going on?

 

 

***Edited Labels***

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Can you edit your post and delete the CM-MAC addresss?  Don't like to see that hanging out in an open forum.  Is that ongoing or is the problem a "one of" situation?



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 11

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I'm running on 4.5.8.22 firmware right now. I don't know what configuration I have but I have the 100mb connection. Current download speed is at about 180 I can't complain. Let's see if the connection is stable or it disconnects like the CODA. So far I noticed that the 5ghz wifi briefly disconnects and reconnects every so often.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,147

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

When you say that you have a 100 Mb/s connection, is that to mean that you're on a 100/10 Mb/s internet plan, or that the connected port LED at the back of the modem is green, which would indicate a connection to a 100 Mb/s device.  Amber denotes a 1 Gb/s interconnect with the device.

 

For the wifi, have a look at your wifi environment with inSSIDer.   See  who you're competing with in the 2.4 and 5 Ghz band.  The link below is for the last freebie version of inSSIDer.  It doesn't properly display the 802.11ac networks in the area so you won't see the complete picture so to speak.  For anyone else running 802.11n networks, those you will see.  There is a newer licenced version which does display the 802.11ac networks, so, if you do happen to use 802.11ac, its worth the $20 US to see who else is possibly using the same channels. 

 

For 5 Ghz networks, try using channels 149 and higher as they have a higher allowable transmit power, 1 w versus the lower 5 Ghz which are limited to 50 or 200 mw depending on when the device received its Industry Canada certification.

 

http://www.techspot.com/downloads/5936-inssider.html