Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hi Maude,

 

Does anyone at Rogers have an idea why the CODA-4582 DOCSIS WAN IP shows to be in the range of 7.31.x.y with the gateway on 7.31.176.1?

ARIN.NET shows a pretty interesting owner for the network 7.0.0.0/8.

 

Thank you!

 

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Here is my setup.

Rogers (500U) —>  Hitron CODA-4582U

 

My download speed is 80% slower when I am using the modem wifi, when using wired connection my download speed is ~450mbps but when I use the wifi connection, sitting besides the modem, the connection drops to ~80mbps.

I just got a Asus ac86u, but I would like to figure it out this problem before include it on my setup. @Datalink, could you please help me?

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@rafagomes can you log into the modem at 192.168.100.1, and navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN tab. Copy the entire Downstream Overview table, from that title all the way down to the bottom. Ignore the data that is above the Downstream Overview title. Paste that data into a post so we can see whats up with the signal levels. Depending on what device your testing wired speeds with, I'd expect you to run at least 500 Mb/s, probably a little higher due to Rogers overprovisioning on the 500 Mb/s and lower plans.

 

Are you running a 2.4 or 5 Ghz network?

 

If you're running a Windows pc or laptop, drill down into the Device Manager, down to the wifi adapter. Copy the entire adapter name (highlight, or select and copy) and run a google search with that data. See if you can dig up the adapter specs which will indicate the maximum raw data rate that the adapter will run. This particular info is part of the mix of information that you need to determine how fast the adapter can run and how fast you're able to see it running, whats the max theoretical number versus the real world number that you're seeing?


Log into the router and check your current wifi network settings against the following list. Adjust your router settings as shown in this list.

 

2.4 Ghz wifi network:

 

Wireless Mode: N only
Channel Bandwidth: 20/40 Mhz
Control Channel: Auto
Extension Channel: Auto
Authentication Method: WPA2-Personal
WPA Encryption: AES


5 Ghz wifi network:

 

Wireless Mode: N/AC mixed
Channel Bandwidth: 20/40/80
Control Channel: 149
Extension Channel: Auto
Authentication Method: WPA2-Personal
WPA Encryption: AES

 

Assuming that you're running two networks, one 2.4 and one 5 Ghz network, I'd recommend using different network SSIDs so that you know which network the device is connected to.

 

Reboot the router when the changes are saved.

 

Note that I recommend the higher 5 Ghz channels to run the max power output of 1 watt, which is allowed in that upper range. The lower 5 Ghz channels are restricted to 50 or 200 milli-watts depending on when the device was approved by Industry Canada. 200 milli-watts is the current restriction.  The higher power output will result in a larger operating range from the router or modem and a higher throughput due to higher signal to noise levels. That higher power won't counteract the problem of shared wifi channels in locations where wifi is highly congested due to a large number of users.  Thats the primary reason why one can stand beside the modem or router and see a fraction of the download speeds via wifi compared to what you would see via wired connection.  Too many users and not enough channel transmit time to go around, so everyone's wifi, on that particular channel runs slow.  

 

Load inSSIDer and the Lizard Systems wifi scanner to determine who else you're competing with for clear wifi channels. For 2.4 Ghz networks, that pretty well impossible these days if you happen to live in a city or its suburbs. On 2.4 Ghz, its highly likely that the best you might be able to do is 80 Mb/s, as you are currently seeing. The 5 Ghz should produce better results, but, again, it depends on where you live and you're wifi environment.

 

Depending on your wifi environment, you're probably better off if you can shift any devices out of the 2.4 Ghz band, up to the 5 Ghz band.  While 2.4 Ghz networks have a larger range, the 5 Ghz band with its lesser range, wider available bandwiths (80 Mhz) and reduced number of users will result in a much faster data rate.  That would probably be the typical result, however, for residents of highrise buildings or condos, that might not work as expected.  It all depends on how many other nearby wifi users are running 5 Ghz networks.  

 

Here's my post with the wifi scanner links:

 

https://www.snbforums.com/posts/444768/

 

Have a look at your wifi environment with inSSIDer to see who else you're competing with and whether or not you can really do anything about it. The Lizard systems scanner is similar but presents more detailed info to the user. Each one has its applications, depending on what one wants to look at. The column data can be sorted top to bottom or vice versa by clicking on the column titles. That's useful to sort by channel, to see how many other users are on your channel, or sort by power level to see what other modems or routers are close to your home.

 

If you need help with the interpretation, take a screenshot using Ctrl+Alt+Prt Scrn and paste that into something like Microsoft Paint or other image application. Wipe out your MAC address and then save the image. You can include that image in a post if you prefer.

 

Note that although the 86U has a fast processor (1.8 Ghz), compared to a lot of other routers in use today, its not immune to running slower than expected. Functions such as QOS, Traffic Monitoring, Traffic Filtering, etc, which cause the data to route thru the CPU for analysis and processing will slow the throughput thru the router. I don't use anything except the AI Protection, firewall and wifi. Everything else has been deliberately disabled. So, it might be worth reviewing all of the General and Advanced settings and their sub-selections to disable anything and everything that you have no intention of using. When that is all completed, reboot the router.

 

Let me know how this turns out. Assuming that you can drastically improve on the wifi performance, anything else that is router specific should be referred to SNB forum.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 12

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hi just bought the RT-AC86U. I am connected to a rogers modem GIG speed via bridge mode. I am also using TP-Link AV 2000 2-Port 2000 Mbps power line adapters to connect to my streaming box downstairs. I am not sure why I am only getting 170Mbps download when I am using 1 gig speed. Now I know I wont get that kind of speed, but 170 is kinda slow. Any ideas or settings I should change? I am on Merlin firmware.

 

Downstream Overview

Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1597000000256QAM-7.100837.636
2849000000256QAM-6.000238.983
3855000000256QAM-5.600338.605
4861000000256QAM-6.600438.605
5579000000256QAM-7.100538.605
6585000000256QAM-6.400638.605
7591000000256QAM-7.100737.636
8303000000256QAM-3.500138.983
9603000000256QAM-6.900937.636
10609000000256QAM-7.3001037.636
11615000000256QAM-6.8001137.636
12621000000256QAM-7.0001238.605
13633000000256QAM-6.9001337.636
14639000000256QAM-6.6001438.605
15645000000256QAM-6.1001538.605
16651000000256QAM-6.3001638.983
17657000000256QAM-6.0001738.605
18663000000256QAM-6.1001838.605
19669000000256QAM-6.7001937.636
20675000000256QAM-6.3002038.605
21681000000256QAM-6.6002137.636
22687000000256QAM-6.9002237.636
23693000000256QAM-6.7002337.636
24699000000256QAM-7.3002437.356
25705000000256QAM-6.9002537.636
26711000000256QAM-7.4002637.356
27717000000256QAM-7.4002737.636
28723000000256QAM-7.3002837.636
29825000000256QAM-6.2002938.605
30831000000256QAM-6.4003038.983
31837000000256QAM-6.1003138.605
32843000000256QAM-5.9003238.605
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Ramz can you post the rest of the table that sits below that data?

 

All of the DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels are low, so, I'd like to see the rest of the table. 

 

Is that 170 Mb/s thru the modem in Gateway mode, or is that thru the router with the modem in Bridge mode? 

 

What do you get when you run a speedtest thru the modem when its in Gateway mode?

 

Can you run a speedtest or two using:  http://speedtest.googlefiber.net/

 

and let me know what you get for results.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 12

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Here you go.

 

OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-3.299999
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM42.25016400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM43.75033200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM42.25026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 12

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hi I got download MbPS 126 up 31,7 Mbps
Forgot I have bridge mode set up.
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Ramz, ok, so all of the upper DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels are low, signal to noise ratios are ok, the DOCSIS 3.1 OFDM channel is probably low, and the upstream DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels are higher than normal but well within spec.  Typically with this modem running DOCSIS 3.1 we see somewhere around 30 to 32/33 dBmV on the DOCSIS 3.0 upstream side.  

 

So, it would appear that you have some type of cable and/or connector issue on the go.  The signal levels would probably be ok for pure DOCSIS 3.0 operations, but, the modem is running DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream side.  There isn't enough data presented to come to any conclusion of how the OFDM channel is running, but, obviously there's an issue with that channel.  

 

Are you running a wired or wifi test?  That's an important point here.

 

My advice at this point is to call tech support and ask the Customer Service Rep to run a signal check on the modem and to ask specifically if the OFDM channel is running within spec.  Even if its in spec, the question is, how are you testing for data rates?  Wired or Wifi?  If this is wired I'd like to see a test with a direct connection to the modem, with the modem in Gateway mode.  If this is wifi, then absolutely I'd like to see a wired test thru the modem.  Tech support will ask the same thing unfortunately.  

 

To flip the modem into Gateway mode, log into the modem using 192.168.100.1, navigate to the BASIC .... GATEWAY FUNCTION tab and enable the Residential Gateway Function.  Save the setting and it will reboot back into Gateway modem with its previous settings intact.  Can you also set the modem to run IPV4 only while your there.  I'd like to ensure that any speedtests that you run in Gateway mode will run in IPV4 mode only.  That will give us a comparison with the router speedtests.  AI Protection won't degrade any IPV4 speedtest, but it will slow down any IPV6 traffic.  

 

To return to Bridge mode, log into the modem, navigate back to the BASIC .... GATEWAY FUNCTION tab and disable the Residential Gateway Function.  Save the setting and the modem will reboot into Bridge mode. 

 

So, if you can flip the modem back into Gateway mode and run a speedtest with a wired pc/laptop, that will be another part to add to the puzzle.  

 

What are you using for a test platform?  

 

Fwiw, there are some customers who see less than stellar data rates with this modem.  The OFDM channel has to be running to spec, if not, you end up with slow data rates.  



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 12

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I am using wired via power adapters. The teat result are wired, When I switch to wifi AC speed I only get 76Mbps. But I will switch to Residential Gateway Function. Will report back.

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,986

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Ramz your tests are thru the power adapters?  Just want to be sure.  To see the maximum data rate thru the power adapters, take an extension cord that has a multiple plug in head.  Plug one adapter into one of the plugs, and the other adapter into the other side of the plug.  Run a speedtest in that configuration.  That will show you what the absolute maximum speedtest is thru the adapter set.  There won't be any signal loss as your getting now with one adapter in one room, and the other adapter in the other room.  There will be background noise which could only be solved by shutting down various appliances in the home, which is a non-starter. 

 

What modem of adapter is it?  There are newer adapters out these days that use all three plugs to run data, so you end up with multiple data paths thru the adapter set.  These are the Homeplug AV2 adapters:

 

http://www.homeplug.org/tech-resources/hpav2_next_gen/

 

If your adapter set is already one of these then the question is, what the path from the first adapter to the second adapter.  That plays a big part in the data rate that users will see.  One word of caution, you don't want either adapter to be located in a circuit that has a Ground Fault Interrupter plug installed.  That will slow the data rate between the adapters.