Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
markopas
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 98

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Ok, I can verify that the modem needs to be restarted in order for the guest feature to work but I've come across some issues.

 

After the modem has been rebooted, I connected to this guest wireless connection which is obviously unlocked.  I was then expecting some sort of pop-up which should prompt to enter a password which is not the case.  I then opened a browser to surf to google and thought it would do a browser hi-jack and that did not happen either.   I then tried a couple of different browsers just in case this was the case but they all yielded the same results.  I then figured I would try the gateway address which was 192.168.103.1 (dont know if this will be the same for all users of this modem) and it brought up the password window.  I entered the password I created and then hit the access internet button and got the following error message below.  I didnt get any "successfully connected" window, I then tried to open a new tab and surf to google and still no internet connection.  Disabled the feature and rebooted the modem.

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-21 at 19.46.20.png

shawnie
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I'm missing channels 17-22 is that normal. I'm on .19. I hate this machine
RogersDave
Retired Support
Retired Support
Posts: 611

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@Vikentieff wrote:

I have called several rogers stores in North York and employees are completely clueless about the recent recall, insisting the recall was 3 weeks ago and all the modems they have are with a black dot now and they are all equal. When mentioned rogers community forums, I was told "it's just a bunch of people that have no idea what they are talking about". I know, minimal wage people and stuff, but this is just wrong and insulting!

 

Therefore, how do I know the black dot modem they would give me is actually from the tested bunch? I don't trust them to be honest, and I want to make sure I have the latest hardware to rule out all the problems I'm having with this modem?


@Vikentieff, I just ran a test remotely and can confirm that your modem doesn't need to be replaced. As for the store, I suspect that employees may not be aware of all the details but they should all have received by now the new ones.

 


@hptouchdroid13 wrote:

After a couple of factory reset trying to fix the phantom Cougarmountain device, now my modem keeps restarting and dropping connection. Smiley Sad And my downstream is missing some channels now. Smiley Surprised 

 

@hptouchdroid13, I just ran a few remote tests on your modem and it must have been from the original batch. I would recommend swapping it. You can bring it to a store and exchange it, it will resolve a lot of your issues.

 


@soundwave80 wrote:
I'm missing channel 20 and 21 how do I fix this?

@soundwave80, I don't have your MAC address handy to confirm but the solution is likely to swap your modem.

 


@Mayoo wrote:

bad news for me .. I am on original CODA-4582 and had no issues ih bridge mode. Everything was fine until i got .20 FW and my speeds are always locked at 400Mbps.. Thats its.. its not going back .. I have Factory Reset the modem, rebooted the router and same issue... 

 

@Mayoo, I just ran remote tests on your modem and it seems affected by the interference issue. In this case, the best solution is to swap the modem.

 


@shawnie wrote:
I'm missing channels 17-22 is that normal. I'm on .19. I hate this machine

@shawnie, I don't have your MAC address to confirm but your modem is likely from the original shipment where some of them are impacted by interference. Your best bet is to visit a store to replace it.

 

Dave

philharmonic
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Thanks for the details re: guest SSID. I actually find it weird having a completely open SSID. I think that's more hackable than just simply having it secured via WPA2.

Also, the error message you got most likely means that you hard coded an IP address in to your network card settings when you connected to the guest SSID. If you set the network card to automatically obtain an IP address (DHCP), then the error should disappear.
hptouchdroid13
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 39

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@RogersDave Thanks Dave. I just  got it swapped yesterday and I am not sure when did you do your test. The CODA I got yesterday has more missing channels now and getting unstable connection. I am not sure if the problem is the modem or the line. Please advice.

 

CODA with black dot

Modem in bridge mode

 

Hardware Version1A
Software Version2.0.10.20

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1609000000256QAM-1.6003438.983
2363000000256QAM-2.1001036.610
3369000000256QAM-2.1001136.610
4375000000256QAM-2.5001236.387
5381000000256QAM-1.8001337.356
6387000000256QAM-2.3001437.356
7393000000256QAM-2.3001537.356
8399000000256QAM-2.0001637.356
9405000000256QAM-2.2001737.356
10411000000256QAM-2.3001837.356
11417000000256QAM-2.1001937.356
12423000000256QAM-2.0002037.356
13429000000256QAM-1.8002137.636
14435000000256QAM-2.2002237.356
15441000000256QAM-2.2002337.636
16447000000256QAM-2.2002437.636
27615000000256QAM-2.0003538.605
28621000000256QAM-1.9003638.605
29633000000256QAM-2.4003737.636
30639000000256QAM-2.3003837.636
31645000000256QAM-2.6003937.356
32651000000256QAM-2.6004037.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM39.50046400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM41.50063200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM39.50056400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

Before CODA my longest up time was a week.

 

 

I noticed .20 was pushed after I got the .19 last night. I just did a factory reset and missing channel still exist. Before .20 channels were complete when I factory reset it with .19.

VivienM
I'm an Advisor
Posts: 931

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hey @RogersDave,

 

Quick question. Ever since I got upgraded to D3.1 earlier this week, I see this in my D3.0 downstreams channel:

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 651000000 256QAM 4.900 16 38.605
2 561000000 256QAM 2.900 2 38.605
3 567000000 256QAM 3.000 3 38.605
4 573000000 256QAM 2.900 4 38.605
5 579000000 256QAM 2.900 5 38.983
6 585000000 256QAM 2.900 6 38.983
7 591000000 256QAM 3.000 7 38.605
8 597000000 256QAM 3.300 8 38.983
9 603000000 256QAM 3.100 9 38.605
10 609000000 256QAM 3.600 10 38.605
11 615000000 256QAM 3.800 11 38.983
12 621000000 256QAM 4.100 12 38.983
13 633000000 256QAM 4.900 13 38.983
14 639000000 256QAM 4.800 14 38.983
15 645000000 256QAM 4.800 15 38.605
16 555000000 256QAM 3.300 1 38.983
17 555000000 64QAM 5.500 17 4.191
18 561000000 64QAM 5.300 18 4.191
19 567000000 64QAM 5.600 19 4.191
20 573000000 64QAM 5.600 20 4.191
21 579000000 64QAM 5.500 21 4.191
22 585000000 64QAM 5.700 22 4.191
23 591000000 64QAM 5.600 23 4.191
24 597000000 64QAM 5.700 24 4.191
25 705000000 256QAM 5.400 25 38.983
26 711000000 256QAM 5.200 26 38.983
27 717000000 256QAM 5.600 27 38.983
28 723000000 256QAM 5.600 28 38.983
29 825000000 256QAM 8.000 29 38.983
30 831000000 256QAM 8.000 30 40.366
31 837000000 256QAM 7.800 31 38.605
32 843000000 256QAM 7.100 32 38.983

 

Notice how 17-24 are 64QAM, and duplicates of other channels.

 

Is this normal? I don't think it's affecting anything, just looks weird...

fearless90
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 19

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@RogersDave @Datalink

It's been almost 3 weeks and I still get mdd timeout every three hours. Any way you can provide us an update? The open issues post is 2 weeks old with no updates. Don't forget about us! We are paying the bill!

zanateh
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Been observing this thread with interest, because I've been seeing continual (sometimes 2+ in a day) download speed degradations. Reboot corrects, but it's back hours later. Typical degraded speeds are 5 or 9Mbps. 

 

(The wife is annoyed that I have to reboot the modem every time she wants to watch netflix in HD...)

 

I'm in a degraded state now. Advice on how to proceed, @RogersDave?

speedtest.png

My CODA-4582 is running .19. Tech installed it around 5th January.

DOCSIS WAN info:

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1609000000256QAM-1.6003438.605
2657000000256QAM-4.8004137.636
3663000000256QAM-5.2004237.356
4669000000256QAM-4.3004337.636
5675000000256QAM-4.3004437.356
6681000000256QAM-3.6004537.636
7687000000256QAM-3.1004638.983
8693000000256QAM-2.1004738.605
9699000000256QAM-2.5004838.605
10705000000256QAM-3.2004937.636
11711000000256QAM-4.9005037.356
12717000000256QAM-5.6005136.387
13723000000256QAM-7.4005235.780
14825000000256QAM-9.2005335.595
15831000000256QAM-8.1005436.387
16837000000256QAM-7.1005536.610
21579000000256QAM-2.4002938.983
24597000000256QAM-1.9003238.983
25603000000256QAM-1.0003338.605
26855000000256QAM-2.8005837.636
27615000000256QAM-2.1003538.605
28621000000256QAM-3.1003637.636
29633000000256QAM-5.1003737.356
30861000000256QAM-3.2005937.356
31645000000256QAM-6.0003936.610
32651000000256QAM-5.5004037.636
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM38.50026400000
238595805ATDMA - 64QAM42.00033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM39.00016400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

RyzenFX
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 590

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@zanateh

 

From the looks of it you seem to be affected by interference issue due to the fact that you have lost channels 17-20, 22, and 23. Your Downstream signal levels also seems to be everywhere. I highly reccomend switching out the modem for the black-dot version at your local Rogers store as it provides extra shielding against interference. Additionally, these newer modems are tested before being shipped to the stores, so it's certain that you'll be receiving a good modem 🙂

 

Don't forget to bring the power cord with it aswell when going to exchange it.

coder_1990
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 24

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I was just thinking how the ones affected by the coda-4582 problems should get a gateway from a different supplier, at least until this is fixed. It sounds like a lot of the affected have compatible ac routers anyway, but I guess Rogers feels like they are moving fast enough with updates to get this out of the way. If they did that though, you're right, their marketing of included wifi would be affected.