Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Tech support said I have firmware .22210am and I will need it upgrade to .22 , please do so, thanks.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 98

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@asharahmed wrote:

 

my speeds, these were solid speeds (no dips or spikes, went up right away to 950 and stayed there until the end of the test, same for upload.) not sure whats up but this is good!


I won't lie - I am pretty jealous right now.

 

Can you post up a few details of where you live, which modem you are currently using (with the new black dot on the back or the original), which firmware and the downstream overview as well as are you in bridged mode?.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I would like someone from Rogers to please explain why this is happening, because not only am I paying for a service that I'm unable to use, it's been this way for 6 months now with no end in sight which is wrong.  I don't want to be a beta tester for your problems.

 

First off my setup:

 

- CODA modem currently on firmware .19 (waiting on .20 upgrade)

- Wired with cat6e and in bridge mode

- all tests done with direct connection to modem from computer but tests idential through my pfsense router

- Gig plan

 

Now... my internet is unusable because when my connection is saturated (as much as allowable due to poor UL speeds) no new connections are able to be made due to complete packet loss.

 

I've also noticed that the modem page 192.168.100.1 is not accessible during the time of packet loss (the page partically loads but I never get the login boxes until the modem usage goes down (ie. I stop using the internet) which at that point the PL also goes away and ping rates fall to somewhat normal (for Rogers) levels.

 

the PL comes from my 2nd hop (so the CTMS?) and flows further down to the last hop as seen here:

 

Jan-15-4-50pm-ping.png

 

Here is (one of) my speed test, which was used to "saturate" my connection:

 

Jan-15-4-50pm.png

 

Here are my current modem stats:

 

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 591000000 256QAM 0.400 31 37.636
2 657000000 256QAM -1.500 41 36.387
3 363000000 256QAM -2.700 10 37.636
4 369000000 256QAM -2.500 11 37.636
5 375000000 256QAM -3.100 12 37.356
6 381000000 256QAM -3.100 13 37.636
7 387000000 256QAM -2.800 14 37.636
8 393000000 256QAM -2.600 15 37.636
9 399000000 256QAM -2.300 16 37.636
10 405000000 256QAM -2.500 17 37.356
11 411000000 256QAM -3.300 18 37.356
12 417000000 256QAM -2.800 19 37.356
13 423000000 256QAM -2.200 20 37.636
14 429000000 256QAM -2.500 21 37.636
15 435000000 256QAM -1.300 22 37.636
16 441000000 256QAM -1.100 23 37.636
17 447000000 256QAM -1.400 24 37.636
18 555000000 256QAM -0.500 25 37.356
19 567000000 256QAM -2.900 27 37.356
20 573000000 256QAM -1.700 28 37.356
21 579000000 256QAM -0.300 29 37.636
22 585000000 256QAM -1.100 30 37.356
23 561000000 256QAM -0.600 26 36.610
24 597000000 256QAM 1.200 32 37.356
25 603000000 256QAM -0.700 33 37.356
26 609000000 256QAM -1.600 34 37.356
27 357000000 256QAM -2.300 9 37.356
28 615000000 256QAM -0.900 35 37.636
29 633000000 256QAM -0.100 37 36.610
30 639000000 256QAM 0.600 38 37.356
31 645000000 256QAM -0.100 39 36.610
32 651000000 256QAM -1.400 40 36.610
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 NA NA NO NO NO NA
1 NA NA NO NO NO NA
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 38595766 ATDMA - 64QAM 43.000 3 3200000
2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.500 1 6400000
3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 38.750 2 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K

 

I would like for a technican to reach out to me to either explain to me what is causing these issues and if there is a fix or let me know that there is nothing they can do because of issues on their back end because that will ultimately help me make a decsion that has to be made.

 

Not being able to use the internet throughout the day due to issues like this is unacceptable.  If speeds aren't as advertised that's one thing.  But leaving me with broken internet completely is a completely other subject and needs to be addressed.

 

I'd like to preface this by saying I've opened multiple tickets about speed issues, and have recently had a technician here to verify there is nothing wrong with my connection to the street.  I've gone though just about every modem Rogers offers as well.

 

What I'm asking for shouldn't be hard for an experienced technician.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 8

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Datalink I waited just so that I can give you my results:

 

 
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1669000000256QAM3.2001940.946
2561000000256QAM2.300240.946
3567000000256QAM2.600340.366
4573000000256QAM2.500440.946
5579000000256QAM2.900540.366
6585000000256QAM2.600640.946
7591000000256QAM2.700740.366
8597000000256QAM2.400840.946
9603000000256QAM2.400940.366
10609000000256QAM2.3001040.946
11615000000256QAM2.3001140.366
12621000000256QAM2.4001240.946
13633000000256QAM3.3001340.366
14639000000256QAM3.2001440.366
15645000000256QAM3.6001540.366
16651000000256QAM3.4001640.366
17657000000256QAM3.4001740.366
18663000000256QAM3.0001840.946
19555000000256QAM2.400140.366
20675000000256QAM3.0002040.946
21681000000256QAM3.1002140.366
22687000000256QAM2.9002240.946
23693000000256QAM2.8002340.946
24699000000256QAM2.6002440.366
25705000000256QAM2.7002540.366
26711000000256QAM2.2002640.366
27717000000256QAM2.8002740.366
28723000000256QAM2.7002840.366
29825000000256QAM0.8002938.983
30831000000256QAM0.6003038.983
31837000000256QAM0.2003140.366
32843000000256QAM0.2003238.605
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES3.700001
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM33.50016400000
238595824ATDMA - 64QAM37.25033200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM32.75026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

Thoughts? I am currently at 5Mbps DL / 50Mbps UL on speed test

Highlighted
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 146

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Datalink, in @gbssengo's output, would the downstream frequencies possibly be a contributing factor?

 

It appears that most modems are operating in the 363-651MHz UHF range, but in @gbssengo's case, the modem is operating well above that, exceeding the 700MHz limit (aka analog TV ch 51-69), and in particular, exceeding the 806MHz limit of analog TV.

These results look anomalous;


 
 
 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
      
25705000000256QAM2.7002540.366
26711000000256QAM2.2002640.366
27717000000256QAM2.8002740.366
28723000000256QAM2.7002840.366
29825000000256QAM0.8002938.983
30831000000256QAM0.6003038.983
31837000000256QAM0.2003140.366
32843000000256QAM0.2003238.605

 

Could it possibly be outside interference at these frequencies?

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_terrestrial_television_in_Canada#Transmitters_using_channels_5...

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/700_MHz_auction_in_Canada

 

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

them stringing you along with no fix after all this time is another way of them telling you they just don't know how to fix your issue. I suggest you do what I'm about to do and just make the decision you're contemplating on making.

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

 
Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware
@gp-se wrote:

I have a WD My Cloud, I also cannot connect to my NAS using Windows Wifi, my MacBook Pro however will connect using Wifi without issue, however I think it's connecting with AFP instead of SMB. My PS4 Pro using LAN cable can connect to the NAS without issue. So it looks like a SMB Wifi issue.

 


@gp-se wrote:

@gp-se wrote:

I have a WD My Cloud, I also cannot connect to my NAS using Windows Wifi, my MacBook Pro however will connect using Wifi without issue, however I think it's connecting with AFP instead of SMB. My PS4 Pro using LAN cable can connect to the NAS without issue. So it looks like a SMB Wifi issue.

 


Just an update, I set my MacBook Pro to connect using SMB over WiFi, and I couldn't connect. So this issue is Operating System Indipendant. When I connect using AFP over WiFi it will connect, just no SMB over WiFi. Using my PS4 Pro over LAN I can connect to SMB. Does anyone know if the .20 firmware corrects this? I'm on Network Wide Release .19

 


 

how did you connect to your Samba share with the ps4?

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 22

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

In the markham berczy area, using the original, going to swap out for the new one tomorrow. running .20. yes im in bridged. no DOCSIS 3.1 here yet.
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 98

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@asharahmed wrote:
In the markham berczy area, using the original, going to swap out for the new one tomorrow. running .20. yes im in bridged. no DOCSIS 3.1 here yet.

Why would you swap modems (sounds like you are using the CODA-4582) if everything is working great?

 

What router are you using?

 

What about your downstream overview,  can you share that?

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 108

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

I've been very happy with the new modem.

 

I switched back to Rogers from TS for the 250/20 on Dec 16th and started with a used CGN3ACR (had a CDA3 with TS). It was problematic from the beginning, speeds were up and down hour to hour and day to day. It would also lose connectivity multiple times a day. This was in bridge mode.

 

After finding out about the new modem I swapped it out for the CODA-4582. Had to fight for it because the Rogers CS wanted to charge me more. She had to call retention to get it added without an increase in cost.

 

Anyhow, it’s been running perfect ever since. Started with .13 and it was updated to .19 the next day and still at .19.

 

It’s in bridge mode connected to my Sophos UTM and is my primary connection to my TS DSL line. Rock solid with multiple speeds tests and Netflix streams running at the same time.

 

This speedtest was with QoS and IPS turned off.

 

digitalocean.jpg