Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Datalink yes, the 2nd from top LED is a pale blue compared to the 3rd from top LED which is a darker blue.

 

The tech that was here last added a 9dB attenuator to improve my TX signal. It fixed my TX signal at the expense of killing my download speed.

 

I am happy that this issue got escalated to "maintenance", but I've heard this story before and nothing has happened. Any suggestions?

 

Is there a way to attach to the Coda modem while it is in Bridge mode, so that I can post my DOCSIS values?

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hi
I'm a new ROGERS gigabit home internet customer.How can I update my coda 4582U modem current FW 2.0.10.28T2
Thanks

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 26

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

@Jeyanthan - look in this thread for message 1813 (copied below)

 

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware
@RogersMoinwrote:

 

Hello, @TECHHEAD

 

Thank you for posting your query in the Community. The current production firmware is 2.0.10.33T3 and the modems should get updated during the regular maintenance window.

 

If your modem is not getting updated then please send us a private message at @CommunityHelps so that we can request the latest firmware push to your modem.  Our private messaging system is explained in this blog.

 

Cheers,

RogersMoin

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Thank you for everyone's help so far.  I thought I'd share with you the progress so far since I've upgraded from Ignite 250u to Ignite Gigabit.

 

1. I had issues with internet stability and severe performance degregation at times, where the modem would random reboot itself, or if I have stable internet, getting 150 Mbps but after 2 hours it would drop to 0.5 Mbps. 

 

- After replacing the CODA modem (the new one is a CODA-4582U that was brand new in the box), it seemed to have fixed this issue.  Getting stable internet, but only 200-225 Mbps.

 

2. Not getting as high throughput as I had hoped.  After above change, my pings are getting 200-225 Mbps.  Not getting 900 Mbps may be related to my equipment not powerful enough to drive to 900 Mbps, but with Ignite 250u I was able to see up to 320 Mbps with the same laptops/machines.

 

- I had a service technician come.  He replaced some of the connectors outside as he said they were corroded.  He noticed that my signal was too strong. He also put some sort of connector/filter behind the modem where the cable is plugged into.  When checking the signals at the modem after, they seem more in range.  The upload signals are much better, and the download signals are a bit better.  I'm not losing the OFDM downstream link.  I could get up to 280-300 Mbps now.  Though the technician thought he should be able to see better throughput, he thinks there may be something on Rogers internal end, so he opened a new ticket for me.  Someone called me and I describe the problem, and I asked if my profile was correct, and they said it looks correct but they will go and check it again.

 

Here is what my modem signals looks like now.  I'd appreciate any guidance or how I can direct the support team to look at specific things.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1639000000256QAM-3.5001433.377
2849000000256QAM-7.000232.585
3855000000256QAM-6.000332.676
4861000000256QAM-8.300431.616
5579000000256QAM-1.100534.926
6585000000256QAM-2.300633.957
7591000000256QAM-0.600735.084
8597000000256QAM-2.700833.957
9603000000256QAM-0.500934.926
10609000000256QAM-2.1001034.484
11615000000256QAM-0.9001134.926
12621000000256QAM-2.2001233.957
13633000000256QAM-4.6001332.585
14303000000256QAM4.000135.084
15645000000256QAM-1.3001534.346
16651000000256QAM-2.3001633.957
17657000000256QAM-0.1001734.926
18663000000256QAM-1.4001834.484
19669000000256QAM-1.4001934.484
20675000000256QAM-1.9002034.346
21681000000256QAM-1.2002134.926
22687000000256QAM-2.2002234.346
23693000000256QAM-2.5002333.834
24699000000256QAM-2.5002434.346
25705000000256QAM-2.2002534.346
26711000000256QAM-2.8002633.957
27717000000256QAM-2.8002733.957
28723000000256QAM-3.7002833.487
29825000000256QAM-6.4002932.237
30831000000256QAM-4.8003033.063
31837000000256QAM-6.7003132.237
32843000000256QAM-5.1003233.063
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES5.300003
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM34.75016400000
238595785ATDMA - 64QAM38.25033200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.25026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 36

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Is there anything to do with this error on the modem?

 

DOCSIS Logs

The DOCSIS event logs is shown here

No. Time Type Priority Event
1 03/28/2018 20:54:38 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:93:65:86;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

 

***Removed CM MAC address***

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hi Rogers, 
I have recently upgraded my speed from Ignite 100u to Ignite 500u but however, I am not satisfied with the speed I am getting through 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. On the 2.4 GHz it gives me range of 10-32 Mbps (Very very slow!!!) compared to I have 500 Mbps download. And on the 5 GHz it goes up to 90-140 Mbps considering I have Ignite 500u very slow still only the wired connection gives me the right speed. 
I spoke to several technical department at rogers they said you are getting right speed on wired as per ur package and try 5 GHz it will give you fast it is still not fast considering I have Ignite 500u. 
I even tried to check speed when near the modem through Wifi both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz still slow slow compared to the package I have. 

Previously I was using CGN3 modem with ignite 100u was giving me 80-92 Mbps when close to the modem on 2.4 and 5GHz. But with CODA-4582 very very very weak speed!! And technician came too and used their cell phone and said you are getting right speed 250 Mbps (That is not right speed I have Ignite 500 I should get around 450-480 Mbps close by)  but that was close to the modem on 5G. 

 

I am not satisfied with the Ignite 500u and I use wireless connection and speed is very very slow sometimes videos buffering! 

Any help would be appreciated or I will have to switch to BELL!!
 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 26

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

The problem is your wireless signal/interference, not the service level. In general, don't expect much faster rates with Wi-Fi. Although, also keep in mind that the Wi-Fi network driver/OS may throttle speed based on whether your machine is on battery power or AC.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 41

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware


@mma786wrote:

Hi Rogers, 
I have recently upgraded my speed from Ignite 100u to Ignite 500u but however, I am not satisfied with the speed I am getting through 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. On the 2.4 GHz it gives me range of 10-32 Mbps (Very very slow!!!) compared to I have 500 Mbps download. And on the 5 GHz it goes up to 90-140 Mbps considering I have Ignite 500u very slow still only the wired connection gives me the right speed. 
I spoke to several technical department at rogers they said you are getting right speed on wired as per ur package and try 5 GHz it will give you fast it is still not fast considering I have Ignite 500u. 
I even tried to check speed when near the modem through Wifi both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz still slow slow compared to the package I have. 

Previously I was using CGN3 modem with ignite 100u was giving me 80-92 Mbps when close to the modem on 2.4 and 5GHz. But with CODA-4582 very very very weak speed!! And technician came too and used their cell phone and said you are getting right speed 250 Mbps (That is not right speed I have Ignite 500 I should get around 450-480 Mbps close by)  but that was close to the modem on 5G. 

 

I am not satisfied with the Ignite 500u and I use wireless connection and speed is very very slow sometimes videos buffering! 

Any help would be appreciated or I will have to switch to BELL!!
 


 Sounds more like your wireless client. What wireless client are you using? phone? laptop? Are your clients 1x1, 2x2?

I'm a Senior Advisor
Posts: 2,144

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Wi-Fi interference is well documented and if you get full speed on wired they deliver speed promised. There are tons of disclaimer statements about Wi-Fi throughout home, device types structure of home. You may have to look at a wifi extender or moving gateway around but fact that tech got 250 I don't get that one. They do talk about gig speed with wired and one wireless to get full speed but wifi is often not full speed. Anyone got suggestions.

As for device can you get someone to visit and test. Me personally my wifi on 75 is up and down like a yoyo. With extender a have improved strength with wired to extender.

The reality is the truth by all providers about wifi speeds is buried and hard to find and sometimes confusing and almost on verge of deceptive. See recent TV ads in response to Bell claims of removing dead spots, does not imply speed though, with mesh connectors.

Best of luck with getting improvements. I would love to hear about 250 on techs phone. Is that all the gateway can do?
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Rogers Hitron CODA-4582 Hardware

Hello champs, I just got my rogers cable internet and I am interested in the Moca 2.0 coax/ethernet set up, as all I have is coax connector in each room, so might as well thinking to use them.

 

I tried to research more on this forum and it seems it was not as trivial as it appears. So please forgive me if I was a noob in this case, here is a few of my questions I have. One of the online guide said as long as you have 2 actiontec adapters it will work 

This guy appears to be using rogers internet and all he did was install 2 moca adapters on each end..

 

https://wegotserved.com/2015/08/04/how-to-improve-your-network-speeds-with-moca-adapters/

 

1) Since the moca capability was enable in the recent firmware, do I still need to buy one of the actiontec moca 2.0 adapter before the modem? Or the LAN ports behind the CODA 4582 modem can act as one already?

 

2) my current set up of internet is like this

Cable from street -> splitter -> main coax in the first floor -> coda 4582 -> tplink archer c7 

                                                                                                      |_> split -> coax in the second floor study (want to ethernet)

                                                                                                                 |_>coax in the family room (want to ethernet)

Just wanted to know where should I put my Moca PoE filter? Realized it was mentioned a few times here already. I am thinking either before the first splitter or before the coda 4582

 

Hopefully guru like @Datalink and @viciouslancer would be able to advise here.

 

Ps only rogers internet in play here