FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 25

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

docsisdownstreamchart0809.png

 

here I have posted a linegraph of my 32 channels downstream and the corresponding signal levels, im on a "gigabit" plan, yet cant get past 25 on the upload and 800 max on the download (this is on telus toronto speedtest mind you, real world is no where close!!), my friend in oakville on the 250/20 package not only has way better pingtimes to all servers than me, but his routing to various servers takes way less hops... I have been dealing with this since january, 8 months approximetly, 10+ tech visits, senior tech ect, maintenance has been referrered to my site yet they refuse to come, senior tech explicitly tells them to come out, and they cancel the request without telling me anything and dont contact me, they just tell me to wait, then when I call in half a month later to get a update they tell me they cancelled.... this case has been all the way to the office of the president / ombudsman and they have acknowdledged the lack of services as advertised. I have 2 more senior techs coming out tomorrow to do the same time wasting as usual, another day off work another lost day / waste of time for these techs and for me. What to do what to do.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 124

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

I'm in the same boat as you but with much less download, as I only hit around 300 Mbps. I have a open ticket but I'm not going to hold my breath.
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

Noticed tonights push forced me to lose my Ipv6 lease. Any idea how these work? I am going to assume they are not static but whats the actual lease time. Giving us a /64 is awesome but if we cannot use static assignment, slightly pointless

I'm a Trusted Contributor
Posts: 306

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

I've had the new firmware for a few days now. The range of the wifi signal is better than it was before the update. I'm in an apartment building so I have lots of wifi around me. I had one really bad spot where my phone and tablet had a very hard time picking up the signal. That is no longer the case. They both work fine everywhere. 

 

For the not so good part, the wifi drops out quite often on the 5G side. It is a very short drop, but it happens a bunch of times a day. The other issue I'm having since the new update is with my Samsung SMART TV (UN55KS9000). The TV is hooked up to the same 5G network. What happens now is that it too loses connection. Even when it stays connected, I get constant freezes and network errors from the TV and from the apps I'm using, such as Netflix and YouTube. I have a power line network kit and when I use it instead of the wifi the problems go away.

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,111

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@jalalinator  If the techs are going to do anything, my personal opinion is that the signal level should be stabilized.  Its odd to see a wide range in terms of the signal levels.  Yup, the signal levels are within spec, but, I remember reading somewhere that the signal range, top to bottom is fairly small.  I'll have to look that up again.  So, even with a 6 dB pad in place, I would expect to see your signal levels possibly down to -7 or -8 dBmV, but they should all be at that level, essentially a flat line.  The question to ask the techs is what is the allowed signal level range or difference, from the highest signal level down to the lowest signal level,  and what he or she is able to measure at your modem connection.  Thats not the maximum Docsis 3 levels which are + / - 15 dBmV, but the maximum allowable difference, top to bottom, when the sytem is operational.  The techs equipment measures this in a slightly different fashion, but the end results are similar.  I think the response will be that the range is out of spec, and if so, what will be done to correct it.  My opinion is that with better signal levels, the pad that is currently in place could probably be replaced with a 3 dB pad, which woudn't drop the downstream or result in the upstream pushing up so much.

 

Can you do the following for me.  Log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS....DOCSIS WAN page, copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into a post.  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the tables.  I'd like to see all of the data, including the signal to noise ratios and upstream levels.

 

Here is additional food for thought, and that is to check for packet loss.  Load pingplotterpro from www.pingplotter.com.  It will run in PRO mode for 14 days before it kicks down to Freebie mode if you don't buy the intermediate or advance licence.  When you have that loaded, run a test session out to something like google.ca.  When the application is running, right click on the top title bar to bring up the column menu.  Select MAX and JTTR to display those columns and drag those columns right so that their sitting beside the MIN .  In the Focus drop down menu on the upper right, select ALL for now so that it holds and displays the extreme values of the MIN, MAX, Jitter and Packet loss data and averages the ping times from the time that its selected.  This will show if at some point you have packet loss problems, even if that comes and goes.  Drag the bottom area up to the bottom of the data area to expand the scaling.   Let that run for three to four minutes.  Then, select Edit .... Copy as Image.  Dump the clipboard contents to something like MS paint, wipe out the line 1 address as it will most likely be an IPV6 address for your modem and then save that image.  Run another test but this time change the Focus time in the upper right to 30 seconds.  Let that run for a minute or two.  This will show if you have ongoing packet loss problems as the data lookback is only 30 seconds instead of all of the data.  Then run the same Edit .... Copy as image routine......  If you see any packet loss shown in the packet loss column at any time, copy that image and save it to post.  That's what I'm interested at this point.  

Please insert those images into a post and indicate which Focus time is applicable.
 



Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,111

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@mousetamer Try this.  Load inSSIDer on your laptop, which is a wifi monitoring application. When loaded on a dual band laptop, inSSIDer will monitor both 2.4 and 5 Ghz networks that can be detected by your laptop. Have a look to see what you're competing with in both bands especially in the 5 Ghz band where you're experiencing issues with your smart tv.  The program link below is for the last freebie version.  It doesn't display the 802.11ac networks in use in the 5 Ghz band.  There is a newer licenced version is out now that will handle 802.11ac networks, and which will work on a 802.11n laptop.  The new version will read the broadcast management frames and display the 802.11ac networks that are running in the 5 Ghz band.  If you use 5 Ghz networks to any great extent, and it appears as if you might, its worth the $20 U.S. to buy, so that you can see all of the 5 Ghz networks that are in use.

http://www.techspot.com/downloads/5936-inssider.html

What you want to see on the graphical display is that your network is the highest network shown, which indicates that it has the highest received power of all the received networks.  Generally you want somewhere in the neighborhood of 40 to 45 dBmW separation between your network and any other network that is on the same or overlapping channel.  So, while your network should be the tallest on the display, everything else should be well below yours.  When that power level separation decreases, you end up with interference and possibly with problems maintaining a wifi network.  Your only option is to change to a channel with less overlap from the competition.  The scale on the display has zero at the top and descends from there.  

So, with inSSIDer loaded on your laptop, take a walk around your home.  Take a look at the display when you're close to the modem, and where you normally use your laptop and close to your tv.  Essentially, you're doing a site survey.  It takes about three to four minutes for the display to settle out when you move around and stop in a location somewhere.  You should see some differences in the received network power levels as you move around your home, both for your own network, and those of your neighbors.  Perhaps one of your neighbors has bought a new modem or router and is competing for the same channels that you are using.  If so, inSSIDer will show that.
 
What you can do is take a screenshot of the inSSIDer display, dump it into something like Microsoft paint and wipe out your MAC address from the text and display area and then save it.  Insert it into a post so I can have a look at it if you need help with the interpretation.  With the info provided by the inSSIDer display it will be easier to determine what the problem might be.



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

My upload speeds are crawling. I'm hitting max 7 up. Previously when I had 100/10, my upload was always around 10-11. When I first upgraded to gigabit, I would hit 35+ consistetly.

 

My download speeds have also made a considerable nosedive. Maxxing out at around 300 down, any time of the day. Was closer to 600 previously (hardware restriction max).

 

Worth opening up a ticket?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,111

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@Freegithub Thats a little strange.  Can you log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN page, copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into the thread?  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the table, so a screen capture isn't required.  Perhaps something has happened that has resulted in a cable signal issue, and therefore a data rate issue.



I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial


@Datalink wrote:

@Freegithub Thats a little strange.  Can you log into the modem, navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN page, copy the downstream and upstream tables and paste them into the thread?  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the table, so a screen capture isn't required.  Perhaps something has happened that has resulted in a cable signal issue, and therefore a data rate issue.


Here you go. Thanks for taking a look:

 

Downstream Overview

Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1693000000256QAM-2.0004737.636
2363000000256QAM-4.5001037.636
3369000000256QAM-4.6001137.636
4375000000256QAM-4.2001237.636
5381000000256QAM-4.6001337.356
6387000000256QAM-4.1001438.605
7393000000256QAM-3.9001537.636
8399000000256QAM-3.7001637.636
9405000000256QAM-3.2001737.636
10411000000256QAM-3.1001837.636
11417000000256QAM-2.9001938.605
12423000000256QAM-3.3002038.605
13429000000256QAM-2.9002138.983
14435000000256QAM-3.4002238.605
15441000000256QAM-2.8002338.605
16447000000256QAM-3.1002437.636
17579000000256QAM-3.1002937.636
18585000000256QAM-3.0003037.636
19591000000256QAM-2.9003137.636
20597000000256QAM-2.6003238.605
21603000000256QAM-2.9003337.636
22609000000256QAM-2.7003437.636
23615000000256QAM-3.3003537.636
24621000000256QAM-3.0003638.605
25633000000256QAM-2.4003738.600
26639000000256QAM-2.9003838.200
27645000000256QAM-2.8003938.200
28651000000256QAM-3.4004037.600
29681000000256QAM-1.7004538.600
30687000000256QAM-1.4004638.200
31357000000256QAM-5.200937.300
32699000000256QAM-2.0004837.900
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
110000086ATDMA - 64QAM54.000---6400000
238595844ATDMA - 64QAM47.75033200000
310000086ATDMA - 64QAM53.000---6400000
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,111

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@Freegithub, call tech support and ask the CSR to run a signals check on the modem.  It will fail, and the follow-on discussion should lead to a tech visit very soon. 

 

Your upper channels are only showing one channel running.  The other two channels are showing above 52 dBmV, which is Rogers cut-off point.  Docsis 3 limits are 51 dBmV for three channel operation.  I'm surprised that the other two channels even show a power level at all.  Usually the modem shuts down one or two channels and nothing is shown for those channels at all. 

 

The downstream levels are a little low, but that won't cause any problems.  The signal to noise ratios are good as well.  The problem is that you're running on a single upstream channel. 

 

The normal signal levels and ranges are 0 dBmV for the downstream levels with signal to noise ratios in the 36 to 40 dB range.  The upstream is normally in the 36 to 40 dBmV range, with a max power point at 51 dBmV for three channel operation.  As the cable ages and signal leakage in both directions increase, the downstream levels drop and the modem increases the output power on its transmitted channels, until it reaches the maximum power output for the modem.  After that it will shut down channels, one at a time and increase the power on the other channels to keep communicating with the CMTS.  Running on a single channel, the modem is basically running in survival mode.  When that happens the data rates will drop severely. 

 

When the tech visit is completed, can you repost those levels so I can see how they turned out.  Sometimes this takes more than one visit to sort out, but, hopefully not.  We'll see.

 

Rogers:  1-888-764-3771