FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 119

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@RogersDave just another update for you...

Still got continuous uptime going, which is great, my Docisis Events are the same as my post above,

but I've noticed a concideral drop in some of my downstream channels.

 

Not sure how much of my account history is visable to you @RogersDave but I've had 3 senior techs to my property this year, 2017, and they've litterally replaced every single piece of coax cable in my house, to the splitter on the side of my house, across my backyard, and all the way down the street between the houses to my local hub. So I know its not the cables causing the issue, but Im wondering if there is some heavy over-load in my local hub? I know Rogers wont upgrade a local hub unless its at somthing like 87% capacity for 3 months or what ever, but this was one of my first issues when I got the CODA modem, that I thought was causing my issues, and I believed, and until recently, it was, repaired. But the last few days, ive noticed there are always 4 or 5 channels over the +10/-10 signal strength range.

Downstream Overview

Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1597000000256QAM-3.700838.983
2849000000256QAM-10.000235.595
3855000000256QAM-10.600335.084
4861000000256QAM-10.200435.084
5579000000256QAM-4.200538.605
6585000000256QAM-3.600638.605
7591000000256QAM-3.300738.983
8303000000256QAM-0.900138.983
9603000000256QAM-3.500938.983
10609000000256QAM-3.2001038.983
11615000000256QAM-3.3001138.983
12621000000256QAM-3.3001238.983
13633000000256QAM-3.1001338.983
14639000000256QAM-3.2001438.983
15645000000256QAM-2.7001538.983
16651000000256QAM-3.1001638.983
17657000000256QAM-2.7001738.983
18663000000256QAM-2.5001838.983
19669000000256QAM-2.8001938.983
20675000000256QAM-3.0002038.605
21681000000256QAM-3.4002138.605
22687000000256QAM-3.2002238.605
23693000000256QAM-3.5002338.605
24699000000256QAM-4.0002438.983
25705000000256QAM-4.0002538.605
26711000000256QAM-4.3002638.605
27717000000256QAM-5.2002738.605
28723000000256QAM-4.7002838.605
29825000000256QAM-9.3002935.780
30831000000256QAM-9.6003035.595
31837000000256QAM-10.3003135.084
32843000000256QAM-10.1003235.780

 

Im wondering if, with so many people upgrading to the CODA modem, and upgrading their packages, if the local hubs are being over-run and cant handle the traffic, hence everyones random ping spikes and latency and such that is like, next to impossible to predict or re-create, because it all about the exact moment people the people on your same hub all decide to try and stream or join PVP games or what ever, within seconds of eachother, and the network cant handle the server requests and MMORPGs and PVP games that everyone is playing more and more, and again, upgrading the bandwith to allow for better gaming and such.

 

I know its all a  huge network of homes to local hubs to area hubs to main hubs, but if the lowest level hubs cant handle the traffic and constant VPN, PVP, MMORPG, and such traffic, it doesnt matter what firmware or testing, or hardware is used in our homes, the hubs will always just get bogged down randomly and take loger to process the information, there by giving pings spikes and latency issues that are dificult to track on a home by home basis.

I could also be completly grapsing at the wind here, but Im just wondering if someone on the firmware team is also keeping an eye on the secondary hubs of the users in the trials, and cross-referencing the data in their Docsis Event times and the Hubs internal logs, and if someone is, whats they're opinion on my cusiousity about this is? Am i correct and the hubs just get randomly over-run when too many ppl join an online game in one area? is it too many constant connections like VOIP phones and VPNs hogging the stable signals? Im very curious about this whole part of things as well.

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

Thanks for upgrade to 33T3 firmware for the CODA modem. No reboot issue. The download stream is very steady at around 920-930 Mbps even in the mid of busy traffic time of the day:)

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 28

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

So I did try Lan to Lan and I was also having issues with this setup. I set the C7 to 192.168.0.3 (CODA is at 192.168.0.1). Turned off NAT, DHCP and FW. I made sure that there are no conflicts with the wifi channels and and I still have issues with wifi connection. I lose connectivity after a while with the IP being assigned as 169.xx

One thing that I remembered was that my home security device connected via ethernet was having issues after I switched to the CODA when it was set to DHCP. I have since set it up as static and I have not had any issues with it so far. I did this for the C7 this morning and will monitor.

Are there other having issues with DHCP on the CODA? Is there a known issue with DHCP with the CODA that I am not aware of?

If I keep on getting issues I will return it in store and ask for the Ignite router since with that one I have been stable for years.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 136

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial


@ayosnato wrote:

So I did try Lan to Lan and I was also having issues with this setup. I set the C7 to 192.168.0.3 (CODA is at 192.168.0.1). Turned off NAT, DHCP and FW. I made sure that there are no conflicts with the wifi channels and and I still have issues with wifi connection. I lose connectivity after a while with the IP being assigned as 169.xx

One thing that I remembered was that my home security device connected via ethernet was having issues after I switched to the CODA when it was set to DHCP. I have since set it up as static and I have not had any issues with it so far. I did this for the C7 this morning and will monitor.

Are there other having issues with DHCP on the CODA? Is there a known issue with DHCP with the CODA that I am not aware of?

If I keep on getting issues I will return it in store and ask for the Ignite router since with that one I have been stable for years.

Try DHCP Reservation instead of static and see if the problem still exists.  You will need to reboot the CODA after you set a host for DHCP Reservation.  What hardware version, 1A or 2A, and what firmware are you running on the CODA?  I have a fairly complex network running and have not experienced any DHCP issues.  I run 2A/33T3.

 

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 28

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@blues_clues thanks for the feedback. I am running 2A and 33T3 as well but could not get a simple network with 2 routers going with the CODA which I have been using for years using the Ignite modem. I will try your suggestion tonight and will see if that helps.

So essentially you are suggesting setting the DHCP reservation on the CODA for the IP address I want for the C7 and set the C7 back to Dynamic IP?

I went back to Lan to Wan by the way. If I want to try Lan to Lan again should I set the DHCP reservation as 192.168.0.3 even though it is outside of the DHCP range (10 to 199) on the CODA?

You think I got a lemon? I can also try to switch the CODA for another one. 

 

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 136

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial


@ayosnato wrote:

@blues_clues thanks for the feedback. I am running 2A and 33T3 as well but could not get a simple network with 2 routers going with the CODA which I have been using for years using the Ignite modem. I will try your suggestion tonight and will see if that helps.

So essentially you are suggesting setting the DHCP reservation on the CODA for the IP address I want for the C7 and set the C7 back to Dynamic IP?

I went back to Lan to Wan by the way. If I want to try Lan to Lan again should I set the DHCP reservation as 192.168.0.3 even though it is outside of the DHCP range (10 to 199) on the CODA?

You think I got a lemon? I can also try to switch the CODA for another one. 

 


No, set DHCP reservation to the IP addresses that you were having problems with, instead of setting them to static.

The C7's static IP is fine.   A wireless device that is not associating and authenticating will receive the 169.254.x.y address.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 28

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@blues_clues I stand corrected. I am at 1A and 33T3. What are the main differences between 1A and 2A?

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 28

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

DHCP reservation did not seem to resolve my issues. I still get 169.254.x.y on a couple of wireless devices at home (ie chromebooks, iphone) that I tried DHCP reservation when connected to the wireless network of the CODA but has internet access when connected to the C7

What is interesting is that a few of the devices that connect wirelessly to the CODA (ie Lyric thermostat and an older laptop) seem to be fine. Could it be an ipv4 and ipv6 issue?

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 136

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial


@ayosnato wrote:

@blues_clues I stand corrected. I am at 1A and 33T3. What are the main differences between 1A and 2A?


2A is the newer hardware version of the CODA, which is being tested by some of us in the community.  My advice would be to pin reset your CODA but you will have to re-request 33T3 from RogersDave again.  If that doesn't work, you may have to wait until Hardware 2A CODAs go mainstream and swap out your current one.  Other than that, you can try bridge mode and use the C7 as the main router.  How important is running 4 wireless radios to you? 

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 119

Re: FEEDBACK - Rogers Rocket Wi-Fi Modem Firmware Trial

@blues_clues WHOA!!!!

 

Now theres hardware 2A???

OMG.....

im gonna loose my mind this year........

What are the differences? like everything, physical and ability wise.....

Im like, gonna freak out if I need to upgrade AGAIN in less than a year to be able to get proper networking...
Cuz I mean, Ive already come to the conclusion they will never fix the DHCP Scan to actually identify all devices, I've always had one or two on my list either not show up, or the CODA has a different IP than the devices says on its screen, and both are different than my DHCP reservations, and Ive just come to live with it, and try my best to set static IPs within each of my devices and not rely on the DHCP within the CODA for anything really.

 

But if new Hardware, especially on the Switch HUB protion of the system, could solve it, Id be standing first in line for it, but Im honestly not in the mood to get another modem, add it to the trial, find out 33T3 doesnt work as well as it is on 1A, and then go complete nutter butters.......

So back to my question, lol, anyone know exactly what the differences are between hardware 1A and 2A?