CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Alex4161
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 405

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Thanks for the info.

I agree there is security in different fronts. The fact that we get IP6 turned on with no way of turning it off, and having a poorly configured firewall (an issue that IP4 configs do not seem to have) is, in my opinion, bad implementation.




Double_K
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 146

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Or, another way to look at it;

You get IPv4 turned on automatically as well - and the only way to control IPv4 & IPv6 addressing being turned on or off is to put the modem in bridge mode and run your own router.

 

As for the firewall....it gets to those layers of security.  Just like the choice between using the built-in Windows firewall vs Kaspersky Internet Security for your PC, you can have basic security for no additional cost, or you can have more security for more cost (ie. your own firewall that only you have access to & control).

 

 

Telek
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 154

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation


@Double_K wrote:

@Telek wrote:

The problem is Mirai. That is what happens when you do things exactly. like. this.


 Not sure why you're bringing up a malware that is easily addressed by changing the default password on the Linux device when you first set it up.


Because, as I've been trying to point out, the problem isn't me and you. We're fine. We can disable IPV6 via DHCP, add our own firewalls, and secure our things..

 

Mirai wasn't a problem because of people like us.

 

Mirai was a problem becuase 99.9% of people just buy devices and plug them in and never touch them after.

J04DAN1
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

@Telek

 

How do you disable IPv6 via DHCP?

Eaglzfan
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

@RogersDave I have an issue with the coda 4582 where I have to keep resetting it to stay connected. I woke up this morning and everything said it was connected but nothing worked. Reset and was fine. Then came home this afternoon and same thing. Reset then fine. Also I have noticed my devices connected that are wired to the Ethernet ports drop connection and wont reconnect unless again I reset this modem.
Mythen
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 274

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1615000000256QAM-0.3001133.957
2561000000256QAM-0.200234.926
3567000000256QAM0.100334.346
4573000000256QAM-0.100434.484
5579000000256QAM0.100534.484
6585000000256QAM-0.300634.346
7591000000256QAM-0.600734.346
8597000000256QAM-0.600834.346
9603000000256QAM0.000934.346
10609000000256QAM-0.5001034.346
11555000000256QAM-0.300134.926
12621000000256QAM-0.1001234.346
13633000000256QAM-0.1001333.957
14639000000256QAM0.0001434.346
15645000000256QAM0.2001533.957
16651000000256QAM0.5001634.484
17657000000256QAM0.1001733.957
18663000000256QAM0.2001833.834
19669000000256QAM0.0001933.834
20675000000256QAM0.2002033.834
21681000000256QAM0.0002133.834
22687000000256QAM0.5002233.957
23693000000256QAM0.8002333.834
24699000000256QAM0.6002433.834
25705000000256QAM0.4002533.957
26711000000256QAM-0.5002633.957
27717000000256QAM-0.6002733.834
28723000000256QAM-1.4002833.957
29729000000256QAM-0.6002933.957
30735000000256QAM-0.9003033.834
31741000000256QAM-0.9003133.834
32747000000256QAM0.3003233.957
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K251600000YESYESYES-4.700001
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
138596000ATDMA - 64QAM44.00033200000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM36.75016400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM36.00026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

Does this all look normals for docsis 3.1?

Mythen
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 274

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

 

 

Tracing route to www.google.ca [2607:f8b0:400b:807::2003]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms 1 ms 1 ms hitronhub.home 
2 12 ms 9 ms 9 ms 
3 8 ms 9 ms 11 ms 
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 56 ms 49 ms 50 ms 
8 52 ms 50 ms 50 ms 
9 52 ms 50 ms 60 ms 
10 52 ms 50 ms 50 ms 
11 53 ms 51 ms 49 ms yyz08s10-in-x03.1e100.net [2607:f8b0:400b:807::2003]

Trace complete.

 

what do you guys make of this?

Mythen
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 274

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

gp-se
I'm an Advisor
Posts: 1,143

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

@Eaglzfan


@Eaglzfan wrote:
@RogersDave I have an issue with the coda 4582 where I have to keep resetting it to stay connected. I woke up this morning and everything said it was connected but nothing worked. Reset and was fine. Then came home this afternoon and same thing. Reset then fine. Also I have noticed my devices connected that are wired to the Ethernet ports drop connection and wont reconnect unless again I reset this modem.

I would goto the closest Rogers store and exchange the modem.

 

Telek
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 154

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation


@J04DAN1 wrote:

@Telek

 

How do you disable IPv6 via DHCP?


Sorry, perhaps I oversimplified 🙂

 

If you run your own DHCP server, you can have it not give you IPV6 addresses to any devices on your network, effectively blocking them from using IPV6.

 

Or, at least, that's the theory that I've heard here. I decided to test it, and to my surprise it doesn't appear to be that way.

 

I have the DHCP on the modem (in regular router mode) turned off, and my own DHCP running internally.  I have a laptop which I just turned on IPV6, and it's still getting a usable address.

 

Does this mean that, for IPV6, effectively, we're on one big open network segment, and the Rogers' servers are directly able to respond to DHCP requests from inside my network?