CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

@GaryInquiry sadly no! The friend's phone still causes the device to bootloop until she turns off her wifi
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 41

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation


@f3ndotwrote:

CODA-4582 reboots when Huawei P10 connects to 2.4G Wi-Fi

 

This one had me stumped pretty bad. Wondering why my internet dropped every time my friend's new Huawei P10 attempted to join the network.

 

Model: CODA-4582

Hardware Version: 1A

MAC: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

Current Firmware: 2.0.10.33T3

 

We've tested on two separate occasions, around 5x each. The last 3 times today, I sat with `ping 8.8.8.8` running and had her connect to WiFi.  Immediately I got "Request timeout for icmp_seq nnn". Having her disconnect herself from WiFi at this point is too late and I watch the router reboot itself and come back online in ~3min. We can then repeat and reproduce the issue, although sometimes it takes up to 60sec before it times out.

 

I have never seen this before and not sure how to proceed. I consider myself pretty technically savvy and am clueless. I'm hoping maybe @RogersDave can shed some light on this... Is her phone's MAC buffer overflowing my router? Smiley Very Happy

 

My friend's phone details:

 

Model: Huawei P10, VTR-L09

Android Version: 7.0

 

Please help, this is a sucky thing to try and diagnose 😞


We have not heard from Rogers on this.  I'd say that this is important.  How can you attract their attention?

 

Perhaps you should start a new topic.  Maybe they would notice.

 

Perhaps you could phone Rogers Support.

 

Any other ideas?

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Guest network -- only allow DHCP client to use this wireless

 

I enabled the guest network in my Rogers modem.   The devices connected but once it entered the password it displayed "Only allow DHCP client to use this wireless".

 

Can someone direct me the procedure to verify and configure the modem to allow guest access?

 

The modem I am using is CODA-4582U (hardware version 1A); software version 2.0.10.28T2

 

Thanks for your help.

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 319

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Hello @wpak,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums, and thanks for reaching out. 

 

It can be totally inconvenient to be unable to use the guest network when you need it. As of this post, it was reported that some users were still experiencing issues with guest network on the firmware previous to yours. 

 

Have you considered joining the Rogers Rocket Modem Firmware Trial?  You can enroll by sending a PM to @CommunityHelps. For more information on our Private Message system, check out this page

 

RogersShaun

I'm a Regular
Posts: 890

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

You should be on 33T3 already when did u get the modem ? 33T3 is the production firmware
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

@f3ndot that is too bad. Thanks for letting me know, I've looked everywhere online and doesn't look too promising. Very weird..

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

My router upgraded to 2.0.10.34T5 firmware. However, the Guest network still give out the "only allow DHCP client to use this wireless" message.

Just wonder if it still an open issue or it is my setup problem?

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Hi,

 

I have been following the threads on losing sync on the CODA-4582.  Up until last week I have had no connection issues and been getting download speeds in the 850Mbs range. We had a significant power outage in our area, and now I can't get more than 210Mbps down, and the downstream indicator is light blue instead of the bright blue.  I had a tech come out and he changed my splitter and then told me that the colours on the modem do not matter because the LED's fade.

I questioned him about signal loss as I wondered if that could be the lock issue and he said that my tap was down 5 or 6 dB and there was a 3dB loss from there to the house.  He stated that he would put in a service ticket for my tap but it could be weeks until they come.  Is there any way for me to confirm that a ticket was placed?  

With the power outage I am also wondering if it is worth changing the mode?  I do have it on a UPS but I do not have the feed coming through it.

 

Here are my current readings:

 

 - Hitron Technologies

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1639000000256QAM-1.6001438.605
2849000000256QAM-6.600237.356
3855000000256QAM-7.700336.610
4861000000256QAM-7.100437.356
5579000000256QAM-3.300538.605
6585000000256QAM-3.900637.636
7591000000256QAM-4.600737.356
8597000000256QAM-4.500837.356
9603000000256QAM-5.100937.636
10609000000256QAM-4.9001037.636
11615000000256QAM-3.3001137.636
12621000000256QAM-4.0001237.356
13633000000256QAM-1.1001338.605
14303000000256QAM-11.000134.346
15645000000256QAM-1.4001538.605
16651000000256QAM-2.1001637.636
17657000000256QAM-2.6001738.605
18663000000256QAM-2.4001837.356
19669000000256QAM-2.6001938.605
20675000000256QAM-2.1002038.605
21681000000256QAM-1.6002138.605
22687000000256QAM-1.1002238.605
23693000000256QAM-1.4002338.605
24699000000256QAM-1.6002438.605
25705000000256QAM-1.7002538.605
26711000000256QAM-2.1002638.605
27717000000256QAM-2.3002738.605
28723000000256QAM-1.5002838.605
29825000000256QAM-5.5002937.636
30831000000256QAM-5.7003037.356
31837000000256QAM-7.7003136.610
32843000000256QAM-6.4003237.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-11.400002
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
130596000ATDMA - 64QAM33.50016400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM37.00033200000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM31.25026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,087

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation


@qwerk007 wrote:

Hi,

 

I have been following the threads on losing sync on the CODA-4582.  Up until last week I have had no connection issues and been getting download speeds in the 850Mbs range. We had a significant power outage in our area, and now I can't get more than 210Mbps down, and the downstream indicator is light blue instead of the bright blue.  I had a tech come out and he changed my splitter and then told me that the colours on the modem do not matter because the LED's fade.

I questioned him about signal loss as I wondered if that could be the lock issue and he said that my tap was down 5 or 6 dB and there was a 3dB loss from there to the house.  He stated that he would put in a service ticket for my tap but it could be weeks until they come.  Is there any way for me to confirm that a ticket was placed?  

With the power outage I am also wondering if it is worth changing the mode?  I do have it on a UPS but I do not have the feed coming through it.

 

Here are my current readings:

 

 - Hitron Technologies

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 639000000 256QAM -1.600 14 38.605
2 849000000 256QAM -6.600 2 37.356
3 855000000 256QAM -7.700 3 36.610
4 861000000 256QAM -7.100 4 37.356
5 579000000 256QAM -3.300 5 38.605
6 585000000 256QAM -3.900 6 37.636
7 591000000 256QAM -4.600 7 37.356
8 597000000 256QAM -4.500 8 37.356
9 603000000 256QAM -5.100 9 37.636
10 609000000 256QAM -4.900 10 37.636
11 615000000 256QAM -3.300 11 37.636
12 621000000 256QAM -4.000 12 37.356
13 633000000 256QAM -1.100 13 38.605
14 303000000 256QAM -11.000 1 34.346
15 645000000 256QAM -1.400 15 38.605
16 651000000 256QAM -2.100 16 37.636
17 657000000 256QAM -2.600 17 38.605
18 663000000 256QAM -2.400 18 37.356
19 669000000 256QAM -2.600 19 38.605
20 675000000 256QAM -2.100 20 38.605
21 681000000 256QAM -1.600 21 38.605
22 687000000 256QAM -1.100 22 38.605
23 693000000 256QAM -1.400 23 38.605
24 699000000 256QAM -1.600 24 38.605
25 705000000 256QAM -1.700 25 38.605
26 711000000 256QAM -2.100 26 38.605
27 717000000 256QAM -2.300 27 38.605
28 723000000 256QAM -1.500 28 38.605
29 825000000 256QAM -5.500 29 37.636
30 831000000 256QAM -5.700 30 37.356
31 837000000 256QAM -7.700 31 36.610
32 843000000 256QAM -6.400 32 37.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 NA NA NO NO NO NA
1 4K 275600000 YES YES YES -11.400002
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 33.500 1 6400000
2 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 37.000 3 3200000
3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 31.250 2 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K

@qwerk007

If you look at the modem, does the Downstream and Upstream both show Blue? that means the modem is running in DOCSIS 3.0 Mode. If the Downstream is a bright/light/purplish colour then the modem is running in DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream (Normal Mode). Regardless you need a tech visit because you're out've spec on Channel 14, so call Rogers and have them do a signal check, the check will fail because you're signal is too low. 

 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: CODA-4582 - Open Issues for Investigation

Thanks @gp-se

 

The downstream is a light blue/purple and the upstream is a bright blue (up until last week both were bright blue).  I had a tech come and he ran a signal test.  He said that there is an issue outside and a ticket would be placed.  I noticed that a couple of other houses close to me had techs show up, so I am hoping that will bump up the priority. We have had flooding issues with our neighbourhood in ground box (last year they came and replaced a bunch of rusty components) and we have had quite a bit of rain. I assume that since I am out of spec on 14 which looks like it maps to Channel ID 1, that is probably the reason why I either get slow speed or completely lose Internet for periods of time? 

Thanks again for the response 🙂