Brutal latency/ping Recently

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

@RumalYapa do you have the white Hitron CODA-4582 modem, or one of the older black CGN3xxx modems.  The modem model will be seen on the back of the modem.  If so, in either case, can you log into the modem and confirm what Software (firmware) version is currently loaded as shown on the STATUS page.  Then navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN tab.  Select or highlight, from the start of the Downstream Overview line, all the way to the bottom right hand corner of the bottom OFDMA/OFDM section, right click .... Copy.  Then in a new post, right click .... Paste.  The pasted table should look like the table in the modem. 

 

If you have one of the new XB6 modems, the modem model is found on the bottom of the modem.  It will either be an Arris or Technicolor modem.  I just need know which one.  In this case, there is a signal level table that runs horizontally.  Its still possible to copy that table and paste it into a post.  Its a similar procedure, start at the upper left hand corner of the table and select all the way to the very right hand bottom corner.  You need to be a little careful to copy the entire table as you have to start the selection process with the shift key held down, then scroll right to the end of the table and select the bottom right hand corner.  Right click .... Copy.  Then in a new post, Right click .... Paste.  That should paste in the table with a scroll bar at the bottom of the image.

 

Did tech support ever run a signal check on your modem?

 

When the field tech was at your home, did he physically check the external cable and its connectors?  The techs can access the modem data remotely, so, I suspect there's a chance that there wasn't much of an external inspection. 

 

Can you also run the following test to check for packet loss:

 

ping -n 3600 64.71.255.204

 

That will run a ping test to the Rogers primary Domain Name Server (DNS) for one hour and terminate after the test completion.  At that point, right click on the top title bar of the command prompt box, right click, select .... Select All.  Right click again .... select .... Copy.  Then paste that into something like Notepad or other text editor of choice, copy the bottom test results and paste that into a post.  

 

Hopefully the signal levels and ping test results will shed some light on the situation.



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

@Caitwyn can you post the whole signal level table please.  Include the top section as you've already done.  Please log into the modem and navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN tab.  Select or highlight, from the start of the Downstream Overview line, all the way to the bottom right hand corner of the bottom OFDMA/OFDM section, right click .... Copy.  Then in a new post, right click .... Paste.  The pasted table should look like the table in the modem. 

 

I'm wondering where your upstream signal levels are currently at. 

 

Are you making any progress on the problem with @RogersTony ?



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

Hello @Datalink 

 

Thank you for reaching out, I am currently working with @RogersTony to see what is going on. 

 

The full table I will paste below:

 
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM4.100740.366
2597000000256QAM4.100840.366
3603000000256QAM4.100940.366
4579000000256QAM4.200540.366
5585000000256QAM4.100640.366
6279000000256QAM4.500140.946
7609000000256QAM3.9001040.366
8615000000256QAM4.1001140.366
9621000000256QAM4.2001240.946
10633000000256QAM4.1001340.366
11639000000256QAM4.2001440.366
12645000000256QAM4.3001540.366
13651000000256QAM4.3001640.366
14657000000256QAM4.1001740.366
15663000000256QAM4.2001840.946
16669000000256QAM4.0001940.366
17675000000256QAM3.7002040.946
18681000000256QAM3.5002140.366
19687000000256QAM3.2002238.983
20693000000256QAM3.0002338.983
21699000000256QAM3.1002438.983
22705000000256QAM3.0002538.983
23711000000256QAM2.8002638.983
24717000000256QAM2.8002738.983
25723000000256QAM2.7002838.983
26825000000256QAM2.2002938.983
27831000000256QAM1.9003038.983
28837000000256QAM1.6003138.983
29843000000256QAM1.3003238.605
30849000000256QAM1.200238.605
31855000000256QAM1.100338.605
32861000000256QAM0.900438.605
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES5.500000
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
136996000ATDMA - 64QAM34.50046400000
222100000ATDMA - 64QAM36.50013200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM34.00036400000
425300000ATDMA - 64QAM38.00023200000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

Any insight is greatly appreciated, thank you!

 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

@Caitwyn thanks very much.  The signal levels don't look too bad at all.  The downstream DOCSIS 3.0 channels 1 to 32 are a little high but thats ok.  The modulation at 256 QAM is good and the signal to noise ratios are good.  The upstream DOCSIS 3.0 channels are a little high for this modem, but where their sitting is fine. 

 

The DOCSIS 3.1 OFDM channel is always a mystery as the modem doesn't present all of the data necessary to determine the health of the OFDM channel itself.  So the signal level, signal to noise ratio and QAM level are not presented to the end user.  Tech support has access to that data.  From the signal levels of the DOCSIS 3.0 channels, I wouldn't suspect any issues with the DOCSIS 3.1 channel, but, tech support or @RogersTony would have to specifically check those parameters. 

 

The OFDM channel health is important as the modem uses that channel for its downstream data, and doesn't uses the upper DOCSIS 3.0 channels unless the OFDM channel fails. 

 

The fact that you're seeing packet loss to Rogers primary IPV4 DNS isn't a huge surprise.  That points to a possible issue with your external cable and its connectors.  To determine that you can run another ping test to the Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS).  To do that, run a trace to anywhere:

 

tracert www.google.ca

 

When that is completed, use the second hop IP address as a ping target.  That second hop is the CMTS, and it won't matter if you have the modem in gateway mode with a direct connection, or the modem in Bridge mode with a router behind it, the second hop is the CMTS.  The actual path from your modem to the CMTS is as follows:

 

modem -> splitter -> external demarcation point -> local tap -> neighbourhood node -> CMTS

 

From the modem to the neighbourhood node, the path runs over cable.  From the neighbourhood node to the CMTS, the path runs over fibre.  The typical location for cable issues is at the external demarcation (connection) point just outside your home, the cable running to the local tap (pedestal or utility pole) and the connection point at that local tap.  From the local tap, the cable that is used is a much heavier cable and its usually more reliable over the length of its lifespan.

 

So, running a ping test to the CMTS will usually find issues with packet loss in the local cable run from your home to the local tap.  While you can have signal levels that look ok, you can still have problems with that cable and its connectors.  So, easy test:

 

tracert www.google.ca

 

ping -n 3600 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx    where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the second hop IP address from the trace.  

 

Ignore any high time pings that you see in the trace.  With the Coda-4582, you will see high time returns from the CMTS due to a firmware change introduced in version 2.0.10.27.  Those high time returns are not seen on any ping beyond the CMTS, so its a local issue only.  However, this test is perfectly valid for the purposes of looking for packet loss between the modem and the CMTS.  While the packet loss is usually found in the local cable, there is always the chance that its due to cabling up to neighbourhood node, or due to amplifiers or equalizers on the line.  If that's the case, this becomes an issue that requires a maintenance crew.  

 

By running a ping test to the CMTS, you avoid any network issues beyond the CMTS.  So it serves to isolate the problem location to one of before the CMTS, or after the CMTS. 

 

Here's an example.  Note the first high time ping in the test, which is typical of a ping test.  Note that there is no packet loss:

 

tracert www.google.ca

 

Tracing route to www.google.ca [172.217.164.195]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

 

1    <1 ms    <1 ms  <1 ms    RT-AC86U
2    14 ms    20 ms   11 ms    174.112.xxx.xxx
3    14 ms    11 ms   10 ms      67.231.221.77
4    15 ms    14 ms   16 ms    209.148.236.173
5    18 ms    15 ms   17 ms    9301-cgw01.ym.rmgt.net.rogers.com [209.148.229.229]
6    17 ms    17 ms   19 ms    209.148.230.10
7    19 ms    20 ms   18 ms      72.14.216.54
8    20 ms    20 ms   17 ms    209.85.249.37
9   16 ms    21 ms    21 ms    216.239.42.139
10 23 ms    21 ms    17 ms    yyz12s04-in-f3.1e100.net [172.217.164.195]

 

Trace complete.

 

ping -n 3600 174.112.xxx.xxx

 

Pinging 174.112.xxx.xxx with 32 bytes of data:


Reply from 174.112.xxx.xxx: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=63
Reply from 174.112.xxx.xxx: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=63
Reply from 174.112.xxx.xxx: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=63
Reply from 174.112.xxx.xxx: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=63
Reply from 174.112.xxx.xxx: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=63
etc
etc
etc

 

 

Ping statistics for 174.112.xxx.xxx:
Packets: Sent = 3600, Received = 3600, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 91ms, Average = 13ms



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 17

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

I may or may not be having the same issue as well. It's not bad where my Internet is unusable but there's definitely something going on. I was unable to work from home on Friday afternoon, getting constant disconnects to my company's VPN server while everyone else had no issues. Went away for a short vacation over the weekend and got back tonight, which is why I didn't handle this sooner. After talking to my family, the issue continues and the Internet is definitely not as responsive as it should be. I did get DDOSed in CS:GO last month so I wonder if this is related to that. From my understanding, the guy has been DDOSing a lot of people in game.

 

Just spoke with Rogers technical support and they had me run a Speedtest, did an interference test on their end, and ping test and said everything is fine on their end. Gave me the option to switch modems so I may try that tomorrow because I need to be able to work from home.

 

For the past hour, I ran some tests and here's the following info on a Hitron CODA-4582 without the black dot at the back:

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM6.900740.366
2597000000256QAM6.600840.366
3603000000256QAM6.300940.946
4855000000256QAM6.000336.387
5861000000256QAM5.300436.387
6579000000256QAM6.100540.366
7585000000256QAM6.700640.946
8849000000256QAM6.500236.387
9609000000256QAM5.9001040.366
10615000000256QAM6.3001140.366
11621000000256QAM6.6001240.366
12633000000256QAM6.9001340.366
13639000000256QAM6.9001440.946
14645000000256QAM7.2001540.366
15651000000256QAM7.1001638.983
16657000000256QAM7.0001740.366
17663000000256QAM6.9001840.366
18669000000256QAM7.2001938.983
19675000000256QAM7.0002038.983
20681000000256QAM6.8002138.983
21687000000256QAM6.7002238.983
22693000000256QAM7.0002338.983
23699000000256QAM6.7002438.983
24705000000256QAM6.6002538.983
25711000000256QAM6.6002638.605
26717000000256QAM6.6002738.983
27723000000256QAM6.4002838.605
28825000000256QAM7.4002936.610
29831000000256QAM7.1003036.610
30837000000256QAM7.3003137.356
31843000000256QAM7.2003236.387
32279000000256QAM7.400140.946
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES6.599998
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
125300000ATDMA - 64QAM36.25023200000
236996000ATDMA - 64QAM35.00046400000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM34.50036400000
422100000ATDMA - 64QAM36.25013200000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

Ping statistics for 64.71.255.204:
Packets: Sent = 360, Received = 359, Lost = 1 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 77ms, Average = 14ms

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

When you run your ping tests and speedtests, are you running those via ethernet, or wifi?  They should be run via ethernet.  

 

Your DOCSIS 3.0 signal levels are higher than I would like to see them.  They're at the point where I'd like to see an attenuator installed.  QAM is good at 256, signal to noise ratios are good.  The upstream DOCSIS 3.0 levels are ok as well.  

 

The OFDM channel is an unknown as the signal level, signal to noise ratio and QAM level aren't presented to the user.  Tech support has access to that data so you would have to call tech support to check the OFDM channel. The OFDM channel is important as the modem uses that channel for its downstream data and only falls back on the upper DOCSIS 3.0 channels if the OFDM channel fails. 

 

Can you run a ping test to the CMTS as detailed just above your post?  Please run that via ethernet for 3600 pings (one hour).

 

Do  you run the modem in Gateway mode and connect to it via wifi or ethernet.  Just wondering where you're seeing the poor performance, over wifi, over ethernet or both.  Do you have a wifi scan program available to check for interference from your neighbours?  If you need a windows application, download Winfi Lite from:

 

http://www.helge-keck.com/index.html

 

To bring up the graphical display, select the wrench symbol (tool icon) in the second row on the right hand side.  That brings up the bottom display.  Select Spectrum from that display to see the graphical network display.  That display depends on the 2.4 Ghz, 5 Ghz or All at the top of the application. 

 

Note that swapping the modem will result in a new MAC address and a new WAN IP address.  That will take care of the DDOS.  Note that this is an issue with Intel Puma modems, of which the CODA-4582 is one.  Intel has released firmware updates to take care of DDOS problems with Puma modems, but, no company or individual has released any test results that show that DDOS is a thing of the past.  Maybe not??

 

Edit:  can you log into the modem and check the Software (firmware) version that is loaded.  Please let me know what version is loaded.



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 17

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

@Datalink. I bridged the modem and ran the above test with Ethernet directly to my desktop on a CAT6 cable. I normally run it in bridge mode with a ASUS RT-N66U using Merlin-WRT.

Some more test results before I go sleep. Can only ping for 10 minutes right now:

Ping statistics for 64.71.255.204:
Packets: Sent = 600, Received = 600, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 122ms, Average = 26ms

Not quite sure which is my CMTS so I hope I picked the right one:

Ping statistics for 2607:f798:804:10b::1:
Packets: Sent = 600, Received = 600, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 115ms, Average = 14ms

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,987

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

In either case, with the modem in Gateway mode and a direct connection to the modem, or with the modem in Bridge mode with a router behind it, the second IP address is the CMTS.

 

With the modem bridged and a direct connection to the modem, the first IP address is the CMTS.  Please don't run that configuration.  I'd say that all of the Rogers IP addresses are scanned probably two or more times per minute, so anyone running without a router firewall runs the risk of some type of attack, putting your computer and privacy at risk.  I only advise this for very short periods of time, far less than 10 minutes, followed by a retreat behind a router firewall.  

 

If you picked the correct addresses as the CMTS address, they will be the second IP address in a trace to anywhere when you have the router connected to the modem once again.

 

Take your time when it comes to running the ping test.  Do that whenever its convenient. 

 

Can you check the modems Software (firmware) version when you have time?

 

I see that the RT-N66U is no longer supported by Merlin.  What version are you running now, just curious at this point. 

 

Edit:  The DDOS problem can be solved another way, and that is to clone a MAC address in your router, or, generate a MAC address.  If you navigate to the router's WAN tab there should be a MAC Address entry window.  You can take note of another MAC address on your network, either ethernet or wifi and enter that MAC address into the entry window and hit CLONE.  

 

The MAC address format for the entry window is as follows:

 

Colon after every two digits: - 00:00:0A:BB:28:FC

 

After cloning the MAC address, reboot the router.   That will or should result in a new WAN IP address.  As long as the MAC address is valid, you should see a new WAN IP address after a reboot.  If the MAC address wasn't valid, you would see an alert on the Network Tab.  That would indicate that "Your ISP doesn't work" or something very similar.  In that case, you would need to use another MAC address.  

 

So, as long as the MAC address is valid and you end up with a new WAN IP address that doesn't cause any conflict on the network, this will save you a trip to the Rogers store to swap the modem.  You can swap MAC addresses when required.  This isn't a normal procedure but it can work.  



Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 17

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

@Datalink.

 

Ping statistics for 99.241.X.X:
Packets: Sent = 3600, Received = 3600, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 2807ms, Average = 11ms

 

I run the ping tests and speedtests with the modem bridged and connected directly to my computer because that's what Rogers asks every time I call in for technical support. Otherwise I use my RT-N66U at all times. I'm on Merlin's 380.70, the final firmware released for my router.

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 11

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

Hi guys, I was already suggested to swap in my modem but I'm not able to for another few hours so I'm wondering if I can pin this down in case it's not the modem itself and save myself some time going out.

 

WinMTR Results for 64.71.255.204

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| hitronhub.home - 18 | 135 | 112 | 1 | 248 | 4403 | 35 |
| 99.251.10.1 - 8 | 168 | 155 | 6 | 234 | 4786 | 35 |
| 8082-dgw02.ktgc.rmgt.net.rogers.com - 3 | 203 | 198 | 5 | 171 | 4402 | 36 |
| 209.148.237.53 - 3 | 200 | 194 | 10 | 167 | 4437 | 24 |
| 209.148.227.157 - 3 | 204 | 199 | 11 | 166 | 4424 | 29 |
| 10.202.47.161 - 25 | 117 | 88 | 0 | 239 | 4261 | 3307 |
| dns.cp.net.rogers.com - 31 | 105 | 73 | 0 | 297 | 4816 | 14 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

 

Because formatting is odd, the noteworthy points are an 18% loss from hitronhub.home and a 30% loss from dns.cp.net.rogers.com.

 

I was told (By a support rep) that  them pinging my modem alone without any devices connected had a perfect result, but an average ping of 500 with devices connected (this is from them pinging me). Pinging it directly with my PC and all devices connected locally (Me, at home, pinging my own modem) returns a perfect result, as well, though. I understand that that should mean it's not an issue with my modem or my devices?

 

Result of WinMTR for 8.8.8.8 (Google)

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| hitronhub.home - 9 | 111 | 102 | 1 | 38 | 2638 | 10 |
| 99.251.10.1 - 4 | 127 | 122 | 6 | 65 | 4056 | 17 |
| 8082-dgw01.ktgc.rmgt.net.rogers.com - 0 | 144 | 144 | 8 | 57 | 4053 | 12 |
| 209.148.236.185 - 3 | 132 | 129 | 10 | 64 | 4055 | 20 |
| 209.148.233.46 - 1 | 140 | 139 | 9 | 64 | 4057 | 14 |
| 72.14.222.87 - 0 | 144 | 144 | 9 | 62 | 4056 | 14 |
| 108.170.250.241 - 2 | 136 | 134 | 10 | 65 | 4057 | 19 |
| 108.170.226.217 - 2 | 138 | 136 | 12 | 48 | 4062 | 24 |
| dns.google - 3 | 132 | 129 | 10 | 66 | 4057 | 21 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

 

Low packet loss there, but it's been as high as 22 from hitronhub.home before. Here's an example 1 minute after that one .

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| hitronhub.home - 21 | 74 | 59 | 2 | 13 | 33 | 10 |
| 99.251.10.1 - 3 | 120 | 117 | 8 | 13 | 38 | 10 |
| 8082-dgw01.ktgc.rmgt.net.rogers.com - 0 | 133 | 133 | 8 | 16 | 517 | 13 |
| 209.148.236.185 - 1 | 127 | 126 | 10 | 17 | 172 | 14 |
| 209.148.233.46 - 1 | 130 | 129 | 11 | 18 | 65 | 19 |
| 72.14.222.87 - 1 | 129 | 128 | 10 | 18 | 178 | 11 |
| 108.170.250.241 - 2 | 126 | 124 | 11 | 18 | 169 | 13 |
| 108.170.226.217 - 1 | 127 | 126 | 11 | 19 | 174 | 16 |
| dns.google - 2 | 126 | 124 | 0 | 17 | 172 | 13 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

 

Notably - low packet loss from from all nodes besides hitronhub.home, which is now 21.

 

Ping results are consistent for Rogers (64.71.255.204); low time and clear response, and sudden request timeouts thrown in about 30-40% of the time. However, pinging Google (8.8.8.8)  has less frequent request timeouts and the odd super high (900-4000ms) response time, so they differ in this respect.

 

Signal strength numbers are stable, well within healthy ranges. High of 4, low of -2.8, average of about 0. Upstream is 37, 37, 35.750.

 

Running the default CGN3ACSMR on firmware version 4.5.8.40. I was told that because the ping only spikes when devices are connected that it must be a device on my network. I've run it two ways; with all devices besides my personal PC off and running these tests, and getting the same result, and having all devices besides my second PC off, with the same results. So it's either the modem or Rogers, but as I said, pinging the modem while I'm connected has 0 issues even with all devices connected.

 

Appreciate any help guys, thanks.