Brutal latency/ping Recently

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
raymond111
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 20

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

My pingplotter results from tonight to rogers ipv4 address and google.  Can someone help me interpret this data?  Rogers says there is nothing wrong with my connection and only that my area is due for an upgrade due to congestion but is unable to give me a timeline.  I need to know if there is anything I can do to help my latency/packet loss or am I stuck waiting for Rogers to fix there network?

 

Capture.JPGCapture1.JPGCapture3.JPG

RogersAndy
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 568

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

Hey @CM128 and @raymond111!

 

Welcome to the community CM128!

 

Latency can be an incredibly difficult thing to deal with as a customer for sure, and just as difficult to troubleshoot. I would definitely recommend following the steps available in our Knowledge Base here.

 

If you're able to see latency within the Rogers network that exceeds 100ms, definitely share that traceroute information here and @CommunityHelps via pm so we can have it escalated for you. You can read more about our PM system here.


@RogersAndy

borisnet
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

Thank you @RogersAndy for the reply.

 

Channel 0 has OFDMA as operate and Channel 1 has OFDMA disabled see attached:

20210109-OFDMA settings.png

 

Let me know if this is expected as I see other post having both channels disabled. The values on the channel 0 row do not look to change over time.

 

Looking forward to what to check next.

lethalsniper
I'm an Enthusiast
Posts: 1,011

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

What is OFDMA what’s it supposed to do ? Mine is still disabled
-G-
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 2,483

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently


@lethalsniper wrote:
What is OFDMA what’s it supposed to do ? Mine is still disabled

It all has to do with how the modem encodes and sends data on the upstream channels.

 

Up until now, the DOCSIS 3.1-capable modems are only using D3.1 on the Downstream channels; they still use D3.0 on the Upstream channels.  Having OFDMA enabled means that your modem is using DOCSIS 3.1 on the Upstream channels as well... and from the sounds of it, Rogers may be running into problems having D3.0 and D3.1 modems coexisting on the same cable plant in this configuration.

 

One advantage to implementing D3.1 Upstream is the potential for higher speeds.  (The fastest speed that you can get with D3.0, with 4 bonded 6.4 MHz 64-QAM channels, is 108 Mb/s.)  However, there are other advantages that you can achieve depending on how you implement D3.1 and how you allocate spectrum for D3.0 and D3.1 channels.  I don't have OFDMA enabled on my modem so I can't really comment on Rogers' implementation.  (There are some D3.1 upstream configurations that can be problematic, depending on which CPE gear is in the mix... for example, if you have TaFDM enabled and have OFDMA and SC-QAM operating on the same frequencies / different times.  If Rogers is asking whether you have OFDMA enabled on you modem, presumably they are in the midst of trying to resolve some issues with their implementation in the real world.  This is pure speculation on my part.)



bluerose
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000QAM2563.599738.983
2597000000QAM2562.500838.983
3603000000QAM2561.599938.983
4855000000QAM2562.299340.946
5861000000QAM2562.200440.366
6579000000QAM2564.699539.854
7585000000QAM2563.900640.366
8849000000QAM2562.500240.946
9609000000QAM2561.2991038.983
10615000000QAM2561.5991138.605
11621000000QAM2562.0991240.366
12633000000QAM2562.7991338.983
13639000000QAM2562.5991438.983
14645000000QAM2562.2991538.983
15651000000QAM2562.0991640.946
16657000000QAM2561.5991738.983
17663000000QAM2561.5001838.605
18669000000QAM2562.2001940.366
19675000000QAM2562.2992038.983
20681000000QAM2563.2002138.983
21687000000QAM2563.5992240.366
22693000000QAM2563.7002340.946
23699000000QAM2563.7992440.946
24705000000QAM2563.5992540.946
25711000000QAM2563.2002640.366
26717000000QAM2562.9002740.366
27723000000QAM2563.2002840.366
28825000000QAM2561.9002938.983
29831000000QAM2561.4003038.605
30837000000QAM2562.2003140.366
31843000000QAM2562.2993240.366
32279000000QAM2567.199140.366
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES3.900002
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
13230000064QAM31.77076400000
23870000064QAM33.02086400000
32110000064QAM31.26053200000
42590000064QAM31.77066400000
50QAM_NONE----1600000
60QAM_NONE----1600000
70QAM_NONE----1600000
80QAM_NONE----1600000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0OPERATE0.212210.55439.600038.031530.25002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
bluerose
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

i get high latency and getting disconnected from warzone servers, also modem reboots everyday. I use an asus rt ax86u router and modem in bridge mode, had to unbridge the modem to get these modem stats

 

PING
12
ms
JITTER
2
ms
DOWNLOAD
515.4
Mbps
 
 
UPLOAD
32.6
Mbps
this is with laptop plug directly to modem, i get the same speeds with the asus router 
borisnet
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

Thanks @-G- for the theory - it is interesting and while not confirmed it could make sense as it seems difficult to address.

 

The consistency of the problem I could observe is that:

- it happens everyday although it can be hard to catch if you are doing something else than being online (arguably easier to notice with the pandemic and all the activities online impacted by connectivity outages in a household)

- it clears itself after a few minutes. That is the part that is surprising to me. In your theory, is there anything that could explain the fact that the problem does not last as long as a normal congestion issue

- there will be roughly 4 to 5 short outages (less than 3 min) and then it comes back to normal connectivity

 

@RogersAndy 

If this is something Rogers is working on, I am happy to monitor the CMTS portion of the modem in more details if that can help diagnose, troubleshoot and fix the issue.

I am or was on the beta track for modem firmware. Again, if there is something to be tried, I would be happy to contribute from my end.

-G-
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 2,483

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently


@borisnet wrote:

Thanks @-G- for the theory - it is interesting and while not confirmed it could make sense as it seems difficult to address.

 

The consistency of the problem I could observe is that:

- it happens everyday although it can be hard to catch if you are doing something else than being online (arguably easier to notice with the pandemic and all the activities online impacted by connectivity outages in a household)

- it clears itself after a few minutes. That is the part that is surprising to me. In your theory, is there anything that could explain the fact that the problem does not last as long as a normal congestion issue

- there will be roughly 4 to 5 short outages (less than 3 min) and then it comes back to normal connectivity


If Rogers is in the process of making DOCSIS-related changes in parts of their network, there are any of a number of things that could be causing the problems that have been reported here.  Something as "simple" as intermittently losing a Primary channel in a Downstream Bonding Group would cause a modem to reboot.  D3.1 Upstream-related changes could also result in interoperability issues and other unforeseen side-effects that might not have been seen during lab testing.  It could be anything, but at least the problem appears to be localized... and I want to stress again that I am in no position to speculate as to what the problem(s) could be because I am not affected and I have no information that I could even use to hazard a guess.  I'm sure that Rogers would have identified the root cause by now and just need some time to get the underlying issues resolved.



borisnet
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: Brutal latency/ping Recently

Happened again today at:

-11:52am - interrupted calls for everybody in the house - same behaviour as before.

- 8:06pm and 8:08pm - same symptom as before

 

It would be great if @RogersAndy can confirm whether Rogers as an organization is aware of the problem and what else we can do as customers experiencing outages every day. It was not that bad before this thread started and I would have hoped for quicker resolution if not at least transparent communication around the effort associated with the resolution.