Ignite Internet Gigabit - Slow Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 732

Re: Ignite Internet Gigabit - Slow Speeds

Hello, @vocao

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums! 😃

 

It certainly is strange that you are experience such a huge difference in speeds from Ethernet to Wi-Fi. Ethernet is definitely faster but from the results that you've provided, it seems like your devices are connecting to the 2.4GHz band and not the 5GHz band.

 

Do you know if you have Band Steering enabled on the Gateway? If yes, it can be difficult to determine which band you are connected to. For testing purposes, please disable Band Steering and connect to the Network designated -5G. You may need to edit the network name after disabling Band Steering.

 

Let us know if the speeds are still low via Wi-Fi after trying this.

 

RogersTony

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Ignite Internet Gigabit - Slow Speeds

I'm also on Gigabit connection, can't get above 200 Mbps on cat6 wired.

Can anyone of Rogers tech here tell me if anything's wrong with my connection ?

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1609000000256QAM-1.3001038.983
2849000000256QAM0.700240.366
3855000000256QAM0.800340.946
4861000000256QAM1.200440.946
5579000000256QAM-1.900538.605
6585000000256QAM-1.400638.983
7591000000256QAM-1.000738.983
8597000000256QAM-1.000838.983
9603000000256QAM-1.000938.983
10279000000256QAM-2.500138.983
11615000000256QAM-1.3001138.983
12621000000256QAM-1.5001240.366
13633000000256QAM-1.4001338.983
14639000000256QAM-1.5001438.983
15645000000256QAM-1.2001538.983
16651000000256QAM-1.2001638.605
17657000000256QAM-1.3001738.605
18663000000256QAM-1.5001840.366
19669000000256QAM-1.5001938.983
20675000000256QAM-1.3002038.983
21681000000256QAM-1.0002138.983
22687000000256QAM-0.8002240.366
23693000000256QAM-1.1002338.983
24699000000256QAM-1.2002438.983
25705000000256QAM-2.1002538.983
26711000000256QAM-2.2002638.983
27717000000256QAM-2.0002738.983
28723000000256QAM-1.4002838.983
29825000000256QAM0.5002940.366
30831000000256QAM0.4003040.946
31837000000256QAM0.3003140.946
32843000000256QAM0.2003240.366
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES-1.099998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
138596000ATDMA - 64QAM36.00033200000
230596000ATDMA - 64QAM32.25016400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM32.00026400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,262

Re: Ignite Internet Gigabit - Slow Speeds

@osh168 there's nothing that stands out as being an issue, however, your modem is using a DOCSIS 3.1 OFDM channel for the downstream data and the user interface doesn't present all of the data for that OFDM channel.  Call tech support and ask the Customer Service Rep to run a signal check on your modem.  Ask specifically if the OFDM channel parameters are within spec and what the QAM number is for the QAM channel.  It should be running at 1024.  

 

Also, have a look at the following Microsoft support page regarding the Windows TCP Receive Window Auto-tuning:

 

https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/help/4494445/tcp-receive-auto-tuning-level-feature-in-windows

 

I had to set this to experimental recently to get the data rate for one pc back to where it should be.   Here's another user's results with this as well:

 

https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/Slower-speeds-on-a-Windows-PC-other-devices-are-fine/...

 

I think that Windows 10 has been causing issues with this setting, so, its worth having a look at. 

 

Is your computer connected directly to the modem or does the data path run through any switches or house cabling?

 

Edit:  What Software (firmware) version is loaded on your modem, as indicated on the STATUS page of the modem?  That is displayed when you log into the modem. 



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Ignite Internet Gigabit - Slow Speeds

@Datalink my desktop computer is directly connected to the modem.

software version is 2.0.10.36T6

 

 

Thank you.