What are good signal levels

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,673

Re: What are good signal levels

@CommunityHelps, etc may be able to give you a hand, at least checking/confirming the levels you are receiving at the modem level.

They could possibly arrage a tech to come out as well to check things.. 
But in the end, its an on site issue that usually has to be fixed by a tech.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 12

Re: What are good signal levels

So Rogers tech came and said the line from the green box to my home is damaged thus the low signal.  He ran a "temporary line through the air and some trees and that has improved the signal.  Now how long will it take for the Rogers "burial" team take to bury a new line so we can get rid of the line hanging between trees?

 

Downstream Overview

Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1633000000256QAM-4.4007938.605
2591000000256QAM-3.5007338.983
3597000000256QAM-3.2007440.366
4603000000256QAM-3.7007538.983
5609000000256QAM-4.0007637.636
6615000000256QAM-3.3007738.605
7621000000256QAM-2.8007838.983
8639000000256QAM-3.8008037.636
9645000000256QAM-2.7008138.983
10651000000256QAM-2.1008238.983
11657000000256QAM-3.4008337.636
12663000000256QAM-4.3008437.636
13669000000256QAM-3.9008538.605
14675000000256QAM-2.8008638.605
15681000000256QAM-3.0008738.605
16687000000256QAM-3.9008837.636
17693000000256QAM-5.2008937.356
18699000000256QAM-5.8009038.983
19705000000256QAM-5.8009138.983
20711000000256QAM-5.5009237.636
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,673

Re: What are good signal levels

Burrials can take a while.. dont expect it right away.
BUT.. at the same time, keep on top of it.

Once it gets past fall, they wont do it till the SPRING.

Give it a few weeks, call back in and inquire on the burrial appointment set, etc.
There is a seperate department for it.
And just be aware of what was where.. what the temp, what the old wire, etc is when they do come out to do it.
(they, may not be rogers, may be a 3rd party contractor.  When mine was done... they said it was done.  Signal was back to bad.. i checked the cables (which i marked) and oh look, they just re attached the OLD burried one!  AND the 3rd party company charged rogers that they DID burry the line.. and 150 ft of it (when its only 30ft))



I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 579

Re: What are good signal levels

I noticed how all of you guys were all on the minus -, mines are all higher than 0. It's not close to 10 so I assume it's fine, however what kind of issues could I expect from anything higher than 10?

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1609000000256QAM5.9001737.356
9561000000256QAM3.300937.636
10567000000256QAM3.6001037.356
11573000000256QAM4.2001137.356
12579000000256QAM4.3001237.636
13585000000256QAM4.9001337.356
14591000000256QAM4.7001437.636
15597000000256QAM5.2001537.636
16603000000256QAM4.9001637.636
18615000000256QAM5.9001837.636
19621000000256QAM6.4001937.356
20633000000256QAM6.7002036.610
21639000000256QAM6.9002136.610
22645000000256QAM7.0002236.610
23651000000256QAM6.6002336.610
24657000000256QAM6.7002436.610
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
123700000ATDMA - 16QAM41.50026400000
238596000ATDMA - 16QAM42.00033200000
330595922ATDMA - 16QAM41.50016400000
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,673

Re: What are good signal levels

Rather than a LOSS of signal, you can get then more interfearance with a higher signal.


With where you are, what is the layout.. is there any splitters, etc before the modem?

Do you have a signal boster at all at the house? If its before the modem, could cause higher signal



I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 579

Re: What are good signal levels

Modem is connected directly , no splitter. And I also don't have a signal booster.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,811

Re: What are good signal levels

"Houston, we have a problem"  something's up, as you only have 16 downstream channels in total.  Did the channel data not paste in correctly, or is that downstream table really representative of what you see on the modem?  You should have 24 downstream channels in all, and the channel numbers should be continuous from 1 to 24.  In your case, some of the lower channels are missing.  The downstream signal levels are high, but that shouldn't cause any major issues where they are.  Signal to noise is ok, as are the upstream channel power levels. That's an odd case to see signal levels that are ok, and have missing channels at the same time.

 

Call tech support and ask the CSR to run a signal check on your modem.  It should fail automatically due to the missing downstream channels.  That should result in an appointment with a tech very soon.   You could also ask the CSR to provision the modem to where it should be while your chatting with him or her, as in 250/20, not 250/10 as it currently is.



I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 579

Re: What are good signal levels

I have 24, it shows 24 on my post.. not sure why you only see 16.

so the signal levels are not too high.. ok that's good then!

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,811

Re: What are good signal levels

Look at the port numbers on the downstream side, they end at 24, but some of the port numbers in the lower end are missing from the post that I see:

 

1 609000000 256QAM 5.900 17 37.356
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9 561000000 256QAM 3.300 9 37.636
10 567000000 256QAM 3.600 10 37.356
11 573000000 256QAM 4.200 11 37.356
12 579000000 256QAM 4.300 12 37.636
13 585000000 256QAM 4.900 13 37.356
14 591000000 256QAM 4.700 14 37.636
15 597000000 256QAM 5.200 15 37.636
16 603000000 256QAM 4.900 16 37.636

17
18 615000000 256QAM 5.900 18 37.636
19 621000000 256QAM 6.400 19 37.356
20 633000000 256QAM 6.700 20 36.610
21 639000000 256QAM 6.900 21 36.610
22 645000000 256QAM 7.000 22 36.610
23 651000000 256QAM 6.600 23 36.610
24 657000000 256QAM 6.700 24 36.610

 

Note the missing data where I have put in the port numbers that should be there.  Have a look with a different browser, and don't log in with that browser.  You should be able to see that some of the port data is missing.  Looking at this with Chrome and Opera, I see the same thing, missing port data.

 

Now if you have 24 (1 to 24 continuous) ports shown in the modem, then thats ok.



I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 579

Re: What are good signal levels

your right some channels are missing tried with another browser.. calling tech support now.

Topic Stats