What are good signal levels

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I'm a Regular
Posts: 852

Re: What are good signal levels

We all just got disconnected from the internet for no reason so I have copy and paste my modem signal levels.


Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 633000000 256QAM 8.900 37 40.366
2 363000000 256QAM 7.200 10 40.946
3 369000000 256QAM 7.200 11 40.366
4 375000000 256QAM 7.100 12 40.366
5 381000000 256QAM 7.000 13 40.366
6 387000000 256QAM 7.300 14 40.946
7 393000000 256QAM 7.100 15 40.366
8 399000000 256QAM 7.300 16 40.366
9 405000000 256QAM 7.400 17 40.946
10 411000000 256QAM 7.800 18 40.946
11 417000000 256QAM 7.900 19 40.946
12 423000000 256QAM 7.900 20 40.946
13 429000000 256QAM 7.200 21 36.387
16 447000000 256QAM 7.900 24 40.366
17 555000000 256QAM 9.200 25 40.366
18 561000000 256QAM 9.500 26 40.946
19 567000000 256QAM 9.400 27 40.946
20 573000000 256QAM 9.100 28 40.366
21 357000000 256QAM 7.000 9 40.366
22 639000000 256QAM 9.000 38 40.946
23 645000000 256QAM 9.100 39 40.366
24 651000000 256QAM 9.100 40 38.983
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 41.500 3 3200000
2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.750 1 6400000
3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.500 2 6400000
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 61

Re: What are good signal levels

Very Weird Signal

 

This is the signal on my Business Rogers Internet 100 at my office in the Yonge-Steeles area.  What would cause such a screwy signal?  How does the Internet even work?  Look at the fluctuation in the Signal strength.

 

Downstream Overview

Port ID

Frequency (MHz)

Modulation

Signal strength (dBmV)

Signal noise ratio (dB)

Channel ID

1

657000000

256QAM

5.900

40.366

41

2

363000000

256QAM

-1.300

36.610

10

3

369000000

256QAM

-1.200

36.610

11

4

375000000

256QAM

-1.200

36.610

12

5

381000000

256QAM

-0.700

36.610

13

6

387000000

256QAM

-0.400

37.356

14

7

393000000

256QAM

-0.300

37.356

15

8

399000000

256QAM

-0.200

37.636

16

9

405000000

256QAM

-0.100

37.636

17

10

411000000

256QAM

0.500

37.356

18

11

417000000

256QAM

0.500

38.605

19

12

423000000

256QAM

0.600

37.636

20

13

429000000

256QAM

0.400

37.636

21

14

435000000

256QAM

0.900

38.605

22

15

441000000

256QAM

0.900

38.983

23

16

447000000

256QAM

0.700

38.605

24

17

555000000

256QAM

3.300

38.605

25

18

561000000

256QAM

3.300

38.983

26

19

567000000

256QAM

3.600

38.983

27

20

573000000

256QAM

3.500

38.983

28

21

357000000

256QAM

-1.800

36.610

9

22

663000000

256QAM

5.900

38.605

42

23

669000000

256QAM

5.600

40.366

43

24

675000000

256QAM

5.800

38.983

44

 

Upstream Overview

Port ID

Frequency (MHz)

BandWidth

Modulation Type

Signal Strength (dBmV)

Channel ID

1

38596000

3200000

ATDMA

36.000

3

2

30596000

6400000

ATDMA

35.000

1

3

23700000

6400000

ATDMA

34.500

2

 

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 13,673

Re: What are good signal levels

YEah, somethings a bit out of wack..

 

some varience is expected.. but usually is more on a curve.. from say +1 to -1 range.. but gradually along the way.

 

That it goes from 5.9 to negative 2 then back up to almost 5.. 

but with one negative inbetween.

 

 

I would contact them and get someone out to check/replace connectors.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 61

Re: What are good signal levels

Rogers Ignite 250 Signal Question

 

I was just migrated from a Cisco to Casa CMTS on Rogers Ignite 250 with a CGN3ASMR using firmware 21.

 

I've noticed I've gone from 20 download channels to 24.  I take it that's normal?

 

At first the signal looked great.  You can see it in the first status page from August 25th.  But today (August 29)  I rebooted the modem and the signal jumps way down on the last four ports. 

 

You can also see that all the frequencies have changed to higher ones between the two status pages.  Does Rogers change these often?  Do you typicall sync to the same frequencies or possibly different ones every reboot?

 

Does the jump at the last four ports (21-24) look weird or normal? 

 

August 25, 2016

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1   591000000 256QAM -1.800 31 38.983
2   363000000 256QAM 0.500 10 40.366
3   369000000 256QAM 0.400 11 38.983
4   375000000 256QAM 0.500 12 38.983
5   381000000 256QAM 0.200 13 38.983
6   387000000 256QAM 0.000 14 38.983
7   393000000 256QAM -0.300 15 38.983
8   399000000 256QAM -0.100 16 38.983

9   405000000 256QAM -0.400 17 38.983
10 411000000 256QAM -0.600 18 38.605
11 417000000 256QAM -1.200 19 38.605
12 423000000 256QAM -1.200 20 38.605
13 429000000 256QAM -1.500 21 38.983
14 435000000 256QAM -1.000 22 38.605
15 441000000 256QAM -0.900 23 38.983
16 447000000 256QAM -0.500 24 38.983
17 555000000 256QAM -1.200 25 38.983
18 561000000 256QAM -1.400 26 38.983
19 567000000 256QAM -1.500 27 38.983
20 573000000 256QAM -1.500 28 38.605
21 579000000 256QAM -1.600 29 38.983
22 585000000 256QAM -1.800 30 38.605
23 357000000 256QAM 0.800 9 38.983
24 597000000 256QAM -1.600 32 38.605
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 40.750 3 3200000
2 30595922 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.250 1 6400000
3 23700078 ATDMA - 64QAM 38.500 2 6400000

 

August 25, 1016

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1   693000000 256QAM -1.600 47 38.605
2   609000000 256QAM -1.400 34 38.983
3   615000000 256QAM -1.900 35 38.605
4   621000000 256QAM -2.100 36 38.605
5   633000000 256QAM -2.100 37 38.605
6   639000000 256QAM -2.600 38 37.636
7   645000000 256QAM -2.400 39 38.605
8   651000000 256QAM -2.700 40 38.983
9   657000000 256QAM -2.700 41 38.983
10 663000000 256QAM -2.700 42 37.636
11 669000000 256QAM -2.500 43 37.636
12 675000000 256QAM -2.200 44 37.636
13 681000000 256QAM -1.900 45 38.605
14 687000000 256QAM -2.200 46 38.605
15 603000000 256QAM -1.300 33 38.983
16 699000000 256QAM -1.500 48 38.605
17 705000000 256QAM -1.300 49 38.983
18 711000000 256QAM -1.500 50 38.605
19 717000000 256QAM -1.800 51 38.983
20 723000000 256QAM -1.900 52 38.605
21 825000000 256QAM -7.200 53 36.387 (big loss in signal)
22 831000000 256QAM -7.800 54 36.387
23 837000000 256QAM -8.200 55 36.610
24 843000000 256QAM -8.300 56 36.387
Upstream Overview Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV) Channel ID BandWidth
1 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.750 3 3200000

2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 38.500 1 6400000
3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 38.000 2 6400000

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 37

Re: What are good signal levels

I just switchted Gigabit and my Docsis Wan Status looks nothing like anything posted here.  They told me I'm on the 500u plan as the area isn't ready yet for Gigabit.  I'm just curious is the Status page is messed up or not.  

 

Here is a screen of it

chrome_2016-08-29_16-00-04.png

 

Just spoke to online support, they are saying the signal from the street is weak and I need to have a tech come out to see/fix what's going on.  Anyone have an ideas what could be the issue?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,811

Re: What are good signal levels

@Earache, you have some type of external cable or connector issue on the go.  You only have 16 physical channels present in that list.  You should at a minimum have 20 channels if you were connected to a Cisco CMTS, more likely 32 channels when your modem is connected to the newer Casa CMTS which has replaced the Cisco  CMTS.  There may be a possibility that your modem is connected to a Casa CMTS but Rogers is not ready to provision the connected modems to run a 1 Gb/s.  That would depend on the network support on the other side of the CMTS and on the number of subscribers connected to your particular CMTS. 

 

You should be showing three upstream channels, possibly four depending on the area. 

 

So, for the present time you need a field tech to determine what the problem is and correct it so that you are running the correct number of channels for the CMTS that the modem connects to.  The channel numbers are sequential, starting at 1 and moving up to the end point with no gaps, which these days is 20, 24 or 32 depending on the CMTS and modem combination.  There should not be any missing channels.  I suspect that you should have 32 channels running.  If you have a CGNM-3552 on a Cisco CMTS, there should be 24 channels, for a CGNM-3552 on a Casa CMTS you should have 32 channels.  The exact modem model can be seen on the product sticker at the back of the modem.

 

When the tech has completed the required work, can you repost that table along with the Upstream table so that we can see how it finally turned out. You can copy the tables and simply paste them into the thread.  The copy and paste process will paste in the text components of the tables, so you don't have to post a screen capture.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 37

Re: What are good signal levels

No external cables that I know of. The Event Log shows CASA CMTS (could only find 1 reference to it via MAC). I'm using the CGNM-3552.

I do have 3 upstream channels (getting between 40-48mbps).

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 5,811

Re: What are good signal levels

Every home or apartment has external cabling.  In the case of a house the external cable runs from local tap that services between 4 to 6 houses I believe, its at least 4 houses.  A small apartment might have a direct run to a local CMTS.  A larger apartment/condo will have one or more Multiple Dwelling Units (MDUS) in the basement utility room to provide data distribution throughout the building.  The MDU then connects via larger trunk line or possibly fibre to Rogers Network.  So, all of the cabling outside of your home is external, in one way or the other.  Its typical to see cable faults with the external drop cable that runs between the local tap and the house which requires a tech to inspect and replace / repair.

 

Here is what the cable tv distibution system looks like.  From the Hub to the modem, constitutes the internet portion of the system at the same time.  In front of the hub will be interconnects to other ISPs for internet traffic.

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/media/gallerypage/user-id/829158/image-id/1349i109BEE583F11A744

 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 37

Re: What are good signal levels

Oh you mean that. Sorry I thought you were referring to something completely different. The tap is in between my home and my mother-in-laws (yes I live next door to her).
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 9

Re: What are good signal levels

Please advise on these stats, thanks [Hitron model # CGN3AMR]:

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1615000000256QAM-10.6003536.387
2363000000256QAM-9.2001037.356
3369000000256QAM-9.1001137.356
4375000000256QAM-9.0001237.356
5381000000256QAM-9.4001337.636
6387000000256QAM-9.6001437.356
7393000000256QAM-9.8001537.636
8399000000256QAM-9.8001637.356
9405000000256QAM-10.1001736.610
10411000000256QAM-10.1001836.610
11417000000256QAM-10.1001937.356
12423000000256QAM-10.2002036.610
13429000000256QAM-9.9002137.356
14435000000256QAM-9.6002237.636
15441000000256QAM-9.4002337.636
16447000000256QAM-9.2002437.636
17555000000256QAM-9.9002537.356
18561000000256QAM-9.9002637.356
19567000000256QAM-9.7002737.356
20573000000256QAM-10.0002836.610
21603000000256QAM-10.2003336.387
22609000000256QAM-10.7003436.610
23357000000256QAM-8.800937.356
24621000000256QAM-10.4003636.610
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM34.25026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM36.50033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM35.25016400000
Topic Stats