Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

Hi Datalink,

Thank you for the reply.

1) I'm fairly confident I'm on FTTN.

2) I'm in a detached home

3) I haven't had any tech visits yet. Just the modem swaps. I may do one more modem swap only because there's high latency with the Wi-Fi from the modem right now.


I agree, there might be high congestion due to the fact that Bell isn't available in my neighborhood. Just Rogers and smaller companies that run off of Rogers.

Thank you for your help once again.

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1621000000256QAM-0.8001238.605
2849000000256QAM-0.300238.605
3855000000256QAM-0.400338.983
4861000000256QAM-0.400438.983
5579000000256QAM-1.300537.356
6585000000256QAM-1.100637.356
7591000000256QAM-1.100737.636
8597000000256QAM-1.300837.636
9603000000256QAM-1.400937.636
10609000000256QAM-1.0001037.636
11615000000256QAM-1.0001137.636
12279000000256QAM-0.300137.636
13633000000256QAM-0.6001337.636
14639000000256QAM-0.6001437.636
15645000000256QAM-0.7001537.356
16651000000256QAM-0.6001637.356
17657000000256QAM-0.6001737.636
18663000000256QAM-0.6001837.636
19669000000256QAM-0.6001937.636
20675000000256QAM-0.6002037.636
21681000000256QAM-0.7002137.356
22687000000256QAM-0.5002237.636
23693000000256QAM-0.9002337.636
24699000000256QAM-0.8002437.636
25705000000256QAM-1.3002537.356
26711000000256QAM-1.4002637.636
27717000000256QAM-1.7002737.356
28723000000256QAM-1.9002837.356
29825000000256QAM-0.2002938.605
30831000000256QAM-0.2003038.983
31837000000256QAM-0.2003138.605
32843000000256QAM0.2003238.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES0.200001
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
122100000ATDMA - 64QAM39.75013200000
236996000ATDMA - 64QAM37.75046400000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM37.75036400000
425300000ATDMA - 64QAM39.75023200000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,050

Re: Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

@Ginibini before you consider swapping the modem, have a read thru the following post, specifically the wifi settings and applications to monitor the wifi environment to see who you're competing with.  

 

https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Internet/slow-wifi/m-p/429489#M54216

 

I understand that band steering firmware loading has been completed on the Rogers network.  Personal opinion, I'd turn off Band Steering, and, looking at a wifi monitoring application, determine which 5 Ghz band you should be using.  I'd guess, remain in the channel 149 range and higher.  I don't know the priority of the Band Steering, Signal level or Data Rate?  Our neighbourhood typically has 35 to 40 2.4 Ghz network running, all sharing the same 1, 6, and 11 channels.  On the 5 Ghz side, channel 149 and up, I'm competing with one or two other users, so, I ignore the 2.4 Ghz side and run everything via ethernet or 5 Ghz wifi.  There's no way that I would achieve the data rates on a 2.4 Ghz network that I can see via my 5 Ghz network.  So, food for thought, have a look at your wifi settings and wifi environment and see if you can make any changes that will improve your wifi performance. 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 23

Re: Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

Seems like every evening the modem reboot's. takes anywhere from 30 seconds to 30 minutes to come back online. Have had many techs come out and none have fixed the problem. Because It's not a neighbourhood issue no one has any idea how to resolve it.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 23

Re: Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

Could a faulty grounding wire be causing intermettent drops?

I've notice that sometimes when I move the ground wire around it resets my modem. It's attached to a copper wire grounding other electronics in my utility room. there is also another wire connected at the same point with the rogers wire. Could that be causing issue's? Not sure what the other wire is for.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,487

Re: Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

Hello, @Geezup.

 

We have discussed a similar condition in a different thread@automaton  reattached the ground, and the WAN didn't drop after that. Perhaps you can post an image of the ground cable, so the experts in the Community can advise. 

 

Cheers,
RogersMoin

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,050

Re: Intermittent disconnects - CODA-4582U

@Geezup there should be a covered cable box located outside of your home.  That is the demarcation point between the external cable from the local tap and your home's internal cable system.  That box cannot be accessed by the home owner, so it would take a tech visit to check the ground block that is usually contained within that box.  That ground block is usually connected in some fashion to the external electrical box that contains your electrical meter, which in turn is connected to an earth ground of some type.  

 

If you look at that external box, you should see the separate ground cable running to the electrical system.  You should be able to clean up that connection point to the electrical system to ensure that it provides adequate contact between the cable and the ground clamp that attaches to the electrical system.  

 

If for some reason the ground block is located within your home, then it requires an adequate connection to a ground point within your home.  You would have to ensure that the ground cable is clean and connected securely at the ground block and at the ground point, wherever that happens to be.  

 

Fwiw, there was a recent incident with a Comcast customer that I know of.  That was the result of a lightning strike near his home.  Unfortunately the house builder and Comcast installation tech didn't ensure that cable ground block was actually grounded to the electrical system ground.  The lightning strike smoked the modem, connected pc and a tv.  So, while its probably unusual to see that, that incident serves as a reminder to ensure that the cable ground blocks are actually providing an adequate ground for the cable systems.  

 

Here is an example of the cable ground block:

 

https://www.groundedreason.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/ground-coaxial-e1478480871869.jpg

 

That comes from this page, which is actually for grounding external antenna, but, the same principals apply to the ground block:

 

https://www.groundedreason.com/how-to-ground-an-outdoor-antenna/

 

That block or something very similar should be installed within the external cable box, with the ground cable running out of the box to a nearby ground point.  Its possible to use a Can Wrench Hex to access that box.  Its not a perfect fit, but it works:

 

https://www.google.com/search?q=can+wrench+hex&rlz=1C1PRFI_enCA774CA774&oq=can+wrench+hex&aqs=chrome...

 

So, you can do your own inspection of the ground cable and grounding points that you have access to and clean them up if required.  The external ground block should be addressed by a field tech, who can install new connectors to the external cable at the same time.