cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WiFi file sharing and Hiltron 4582 USB access

cschnurr
I've been here awhile

In our home we have a laptop and PC with Windows 10, an iPad, and a couple of older iphones.
My router is a Hiltron 4582, hardware version 1A, software version is 7.1.1.33.

I am trying to
i) set up my network to file share between devices, and
ii) use the router USB as a shared storage location for all devices.

I'm not a techie, but can usually fumble my way through resolving most things as they arise. 
So far I've been partially successful on both but have the following issues.  

ISSUE 1
I have been able to to get my laptop and PC so see each other and access each other through Windows File Explorer.  However this only seems to work when both devices are connected to the network via LAN. When my laptop is connected via WiFi, and my desktop is connected via LAN.  My laptop cannot see my PC, but my PC can see my laptop. 

How do I get my WiFi connected laptop to see my LAN connected PC?

Is it possible to get WiFi connected iOS devices to see Windows Laptop or PC?

FYI, my PC does not have WiFi capability (LAN only)

ISSUE 2
I would like to be able use the router USB port to store shared files to be accessed from Windows 10 laptop, Windows 10 PC, ipad and iphones.

I have been able to get the router mounted USB stick to be viewed with Windows Explorer on my Windows PC and laptop. My problem is that I can only do this when my laptop is connected to network using LAN. When my laptop is connected to network using WiFi, it loses connection to USB stick. I hoping that the solution to ISSUE 1 will solve this as well.  I've seen in several posts that people had difficulty connecting to router USB, so I'll summarize my method below:

-Format USB stick as FAT32 and insert into the router USB port.
-Go to ADMIN -> USB STORAGE
-Set 'Shared Status' to ENABLE