Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

The one week  wait for a service call is over. A new three splitter was installed (internet, phone, television).

 

Everybody is happy.

 

Then 15 minutes after the technician has left ta-da lose my connection.

 

Call Rogers once again they say everything looks great, rep says could be an area issue and he is opening a ticket. Rogers has consistently denied that it is an area issue so I ask the rep to escalate. The next rep tells me it is not an area issue but will open a ticket with engineering about CMTS issue.

 

There is something seriously wrong with Rogers "Communications".

 

Over the last two weeks I've been told (1) swap my modem even though there doesn't appear to be anything wrong with it (2) that I'm not entitled to a CODA and to swap it back for a CGN (3) that I'm using a "user-owned" modem that is out of warranty and therefore I am responsible despite the fact that I'm an Ignite customer using the included modem (4) that they are showing me at an address 2 hours distant and 10 years out of date. 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

Here are my current numbers. Cable comes in to a newly Rogers installed three-way splitter (internet, phone, then amp for television. The CODA-4582 is approximately three feet from the splitter.

 

 

Version:1.0 StartHTML:000000192 EndHTML:000010855 StartFragment:000002676 EndFragment:000010799 StartSelection:000002772 EndSelection:000010761 SourceURL:http://192.168.0.1/index.htmlCODA-4582 Router - Hitron Technologies

DOCSIS Overview
Network AccessPermitted
IP AddressXXXXXXXXXX
Subnet Mask255.255.252.0
Gateway IP AddressXXXXXXXXXX
DHCP Lease Time😧 06 H: 11 M: 38 S: 25
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1639000000256QAM2.5001440.946
2849000000256QAM1.300240.366
3855000000256QAM1.100340.366
4861000000256QAM1.100440.946
5579000000256QAM2.000540.946
6585000000256QAM2.000640.946
7591000000256QAM2.100740.946
8597000000256QAM2.000840.366
9603000000256QAM1.700940.946
10609000000256QAM1.6001040.946
11615000000256QAM1.7001140.946
12621000000256QAM1.8001240.946
13633000000256QAM2.3001340.946
14303000000256QAM0.200140.366
15645000000256QAM2.7001540.946
16651000000256QAM2.4001640.946
17657000000256QAM2.4001740.366
18663000000256QAM2.5001840.946
19669000000256QAM2.9001940.366
20675000000256QAM3.3002040.946
21681000000256QAM3.4002140.946
22687000000256QAM3.2002240.366
23693000000256QAM3.1002340.946
24699000000256QAM2.8002440.366
25705000000256QAM2.5002540.946
26711000000256QAM2.5002640.366
27717000000256QAM2.8002740.366
28723000000256QAM2.6002840.366
29825000000256QAM2.0002940.366
30831000000256QAM2.0003040.366
31837000000256QAM1.3003140.366
32843000000256QAM1.1003240.946
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K290600000YESYESYES1.299999
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM41.50026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM44.75033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM41.50016400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

Continuing the saga:

 

(1) - The drop wasn't grounded and never had been in 10 years.

 

(2) - Even after the changes of Sunday this tech thought the signals were too high, interesting given that there has been a powered amp on the system for the same 10 years. I wonder why a powered amp was necessary if the signal levels were too high?

 

(3) - So he grounded the drop. Put on another splitter. So now drop to the splitter then three feeds to televisions one feed to another splitter for telephone and television.

 

Not quite optimal  WiFi setup as the CODA is at one end of the house, but I have Asus RT-AC68U as an access point.

 

Will report back in a couple of days.

 

Version:1.0 StartHTML:000000192 EndHTML:000010866 StartFragment:000002676 EndFragment:000010810 StartSelection:000002772 EndSelection:000010772 SourceURL:http://192.168.0.1/index.htmlCODA-4582 Router - Hitron Technologies

DOCSIS Overview
Network AccessPermitted
IP AddressXXXXXXXXX
Subnet Mask255.255.252.0
Gateway IP AddressXXXXXXXXX
DHCP Lease Time😧 06 H: 12 M: 07 S: 14
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1657000000256QAM0.3001740.946
2849000000256QAM-1.000240.946
3855000000256QAM-1.600340.366
4861000000256QAM-1.600440.366
5579000000256QAM0.100540.946
6585000000256QAM0.200640.946
7591000000256QAM0.100740.946
8597000000256QAM0.100840.946
9603000000256QAM-0.100940.946
10609000000256QAM0.0001040.366
11615000000256QAM-0.2001140.366
12621000000256QAM-0.3001240.366
13633000000256QAM0.2001340.946
14639000000256QAM0.3001440.946
15645000000256QAM0.4001540.946
16651000000256QAM0.3001640.946
17303000000256QAM-3.600140.946
18663000000256QAM0.8001840.946
19669000000256QAM1.0001940.366
20675000000256QAM1.1002040.946
21681000000256QAM1.2002140.946
22687000000256QAM1.3002240.946
23693000000256QAM1.2002340.946
24699000000256QAM0.8002440.366
25705000000256QAM0.6002540.366
26711000000256QAM0.2002640.946
27717000000256QAM0.2002740.946
28723000000256QAM0.1002840.366
29825000000256QAM-0.5002940.946
30831000000256QAM-0.5003040.366
31837000000256QAM-0.8003140.366
32843000000256QAM-1.0003240.366
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K290600000YESYESYES0.099998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM39.75026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM43.50033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM39.50016400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,086

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

@mrbrimi

The Signal looks excellent, 40db SNR is better than perfect!

 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

So far I've been up for 6 hours with NO entries in the event log! I'll update in a couple of days.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet


@gp-se wrote:

@mrbrimi

The Signal looks excellent, 40db SNR is better than perfect!

 


May be good signals but I've lost internet connection three times this morning.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet


@mrbrimi wrote:

So far I've been up for 6 hours with NO entries in the event log! I'll update in a couple of days.


As promised I'm back. A "senior" technician is coming next week.

 

Went one and a half days with any real issues.

 

Saturday 1026 am (b).jpg

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 18

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

@mrbrimihow was your connection now? I have the same issue upon reading all these it is the same exact issue as what I am having right now.

changed modem 3 times now.

2 tech came in and one more on the way.

both techs put in some sort of signal reducer (1 at the back of modem, then 2nd tech removed it and put in a splitter)

btw I have the internet as sole connection from the cable, I don't have tv or phone services.

 

I just wanted to know if yours is resolved and how. Thanks.

 

logs atm.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1609000000256QAM4.8001035.595
2849000000256QAM1.100236.610
3855000000256QAM1.000335.780
4861000000256QAM0.900435.084
5579000000256QAM3.600537.636
6585000000256QAM4.400637.356
7591000000256QAM4.900736.387
8597000000256QAM4.200835.084
9603000000256QAM4.600935.084
10303000000256QAM2.700136.610
11615000000256QAM4.9001136.610
12621000000256QAM4.8001237.356
13633000000256QAM4.7001338.605
14639000000256QAM4.4001437.356
15645000000256QAM4.2001536.610
16651000000256QAM4.0001635.780
17657000000256QAM3.6001735.084
18663000000256QAM3.5001834.926
19669000000256QAM3.1001935.084
20675000000256QAM3.0002035.780
21681000000256QAM3.1002136.387
22687000000256QAM2.7002236.610
23693000000256QAM2.1002336.610
24699000000256QAM2.6002437.636
25705000000256QAM2.9002536.387
26711000000256QAM2.4002635.595
27717000000256QAM2.1002735.780
28723000000256QAM2.1002835.247
29825000000256QAM3.0002937.356
30831000000256QAM2.3003037.356
31837000000256QAM2.3003137.356
32843000000256QAM1.5003237.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES2.700001
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM32.00056400000
238595824ATDMA - 64QAM34.75063200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM32.25046400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 97

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

Sorry for taking so long to get back to you.

 

The last technician that came seems to have resolved most if not all the problems.

 

To make a long story short: the modem never was the problem, a number of changes were made to the splitters in the house plus my understanding is that he made changes outside as well.

 

A lot of time was spent both on the phone and with different technicians attending the house.

 

The unfortunate thing from my point was that the technician who finally resolved the problem has left Rogers and gone to a competitor.

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Hitron Modem keeps dropping internet

We had the same issue in bridge mode.  Once the signal levels are confirmed as within spec (this can be the first problem, you need to confirm they are -10 to +10dB), then the issue seems to be that bridge mode on these modems is problematic (could be a firmware or hardware revision issue, who cares at this point, since it's a problem anyway).

 

In order to fix it and preserve your PERSONAL router settings and features and port forwarding, etc, here's what to do:

 

1) disable any ddns on your own router (this function needs to be transferred to the HITRON modem/router if it's not in bridge mode).  Get all the account settings together because you'll need to enter them for the HITRON setup.

2) note the WAN MAC address of your PERSONAL router, you'll need it.

3) physically disconnect your PERSONAL router from the HITRON modem and plug in a network cable (from HITRON port 1) directly to a laptop or pc to do the rest (there is no guarantee that the factory reset on the HITRON will turn on wireless - sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't).

4) perform a factory reset on the HITRON (hold the RESET button for 10 seconds and release).

5) login to the HITRON (usually at 192.168.100.1) with your PC/laptop username "cusadmin" password "password" (or it may retain the one you had previously set)

6) check dhcp assignment on HITRON to ensure it doesn't overlap your PERSONAL router - easiest just to use a different subnet - i.e. - 192.168.100.xxx if your PERSONAL router uses 192.168.0.xxx

7) create a dhcp reservation on HITRON for your PERSONAL router's MAC address noted in #2 - i.e. 192.168.100.15

😎 create a port forwarding rule on HITRON for TCP/UDP port range 1-49151 to go to the IP you reserved in #7

9) set up DDNS on the HITRON and wait for confirmation of function (it'll tell you if it passed or failed)

10) ensure you turn off both of the HITRON wireless radios to reduce interference with your PERSONAL router

 

That's it.  You do NOT need to implement DMZ, port forwarding is sufficient.

 

Steve Arnold