Gigabit Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Gigabit Speeds

Here are the details as requested. Thanks.

Downstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Signal noise ratio (dB)
1 591000000 256QAM 5.700 7 37.356
2 855000000 256QAM 6.900 3 36.610
3 861000000 256QAM 6.700 4 35.780
4 579000000 256QAM 5.800 5 37.356
5 585000000 256QAM 5.700 6 37.636
6 849000000 256QAM 6.800 2 36.387
7 597000000 256QAM 5.900 8 37.356
8 603000000 256QAM 5.500 9 37.356
9 609000000 256QAM 5.800 10 37.356
10 615000000 256QAM 5.900 11 37.356
11 621000000 256QAM 6.000 12 37.356
12 633000000 256QAM 6.900 13 37.636
13 639000000 256QAM 6.900 14 37.356
14 645000000 256QAM 6.900 15 37.636
15 651000000 256QAM 6.600 16 37.356
16 657000000 256QAM 6.600 17 37.636
17 663000000 256QAM 6.600 18 37.356
18 669000000 256QAM 6.500 19 37.356
19 675000000 256QAM 6.200 20 37.356
20 681000000 256QAM 6.200 21 37.636
21 687000000 256QAM 6.900 22 37.636
22 693000000 256QAM 6.700 23 37.636
23 699000000 256QAM 7.000 24 37.636
24 705000000 256QAM 6.800 25 37.356
25 711000000 256QAM 6.200 26 37.636
26 717000000 256QAM 6.400 27 37.636
27 723000000 256QAM 6.200 28 36.610
28 825000000 256QAM 6.900 29 36.610
29 831000000 256QAM 6.800 30 36.610
30 837000000 256QAM 6.700 31 36.387
31 843000000 256QAM 6.800 32 36.387
32 303000000 256QAM -0.100 1 37.356
OFDM Downstream Overview
Receiver FFT type Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz) PLC locked NCP locked MDC1 locked PLC power(dBmv)
0 4K 290600000 YES YES YES 0.599998
1 NA NA NO NO NO NA
Upstream Overview
Port ID Frequency (MHz) Modulation Signal strength (dBmV) Channel ID Bandwidth
1 38596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 39.500 3 3200000
2 30596000 ATDMA - 64QAM 35.250 1 6400000
3 23700000 ATDMA - 64QAM 34.250 2 6400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel Index State lin Digital Att Digital Att BW (sc's*fft) Report Power Report Power1_6 FFT Size
0 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
1 DISABLED 0.5000 0.0000 0.0000 -inf -1.0000 4K
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Gigabit Speeds

I have the CODA-4582 modem. I will go to the Rogers store and swap the modem out. I too have been only getting the same speed as when I had the 250u package. 

 

Thanks Datalink

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,221

Re: Gigabit Speeds

@mperry the DOCSIS 3.0 Downstream signal levels are high, still well within spec, but higher than normal.  The signal to noise ratios are good.  Typically those levels will be clustered around 0 dBmV with a signal to noise ratio in the 36 to 40 dB range.  The operating range for DOCSIS is -15 to +15 dBmV.  So, your downstream levels are within spec.  

 

The upstream levels are also within spec.  On this modem we're typically seeing somewhere around 30 to 32/33 dBmV.  Yours are a little higher which suggests a possible noise issue in that frequency range.  Those signal levels are will within spec as the maximum signal level for three channel DOCSIS operation upsteam is 51 dBmV. 

 

The signal data shows that the modem is running DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream side, so, the entire Downstream data table above is essentially irrelevant, interesting data but irrelevant.  DOCSIS 3.1 runs 4096 subcarriers with a single frequency band instead of the 32 carrier frequencies with DOCSIS 3.0.  That switch over to DOCSIS 3.1 does allow the modem to provide gig rates without issue.  The one problem at this point is that the data shown in the user interface isn't entirely accurate.  So, what I would recommend is a call to tech support to ask if the DOCSIS 3.1 OFDM channels are within spec.  I would advise the CSR of the rates that you are experiencing and see what turns up.  If the CSR indicates that everything looks normal, I would simply swap the modem for a CGNM-3552, as much as I hate to say that. 

 

Fwiw, if you are a gamer, the CODA-4582 (Intel Puma 7) modem is a better modem to use as it doesn't suffer from the latency issues that the CGN3xxx modems suffer from.  There was a firmware update in Sept 2016 that essentially took care of the latency for the CGN3ACSMR and CGNM-3552 for IPV4 ICMP and UDP.  So, if you're gaming and running IPV6, as far as I'm aware, your still subject to that latency problem.  My advice at this point for 4582 users is to keep using it if possible, but, if the data rate issue can't be readily resolved, swap it for a CGNM-3552 for now.  When we know more about the data rate issue, users can return to the 4582. 

 

Hope this helps 🙂



Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,221

Re: Gigabit Speeds

@rpsjj@mperry, one more item to check with tech support.  Ask the CSR if the modem has been provisioned for gigabit service instead of the previous 250 Mb/s.  That might save a trip to the Rogers store. 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Gigabit Speeds

No idea, i was with another provider a few years ago. I then had rogers the passed few years , since ive switched the range hasnt been the greatest.. I went from the old rogers modem, and upgraded to the gigabit one because i originally wasnt getting the speeds you guys promise, so they recommended upgrading to the new modem.. Funny when i tested my speeds the first day they were fine 200-240, now im getting maybe 80-100 even on a wired connection.. But since ive switched to this new gigabit modem, i cant connect via wifi with this laptop to the rogers modems wifi
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 11

Re: Gigabit Speeds

Here you go

Downstream OverviewPort IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)1591000000256QAM-1.600735.5952855000000256QAM-3.100337.6363861000000256QAM-3.000437.3564579000000256QAM-1.500535.5955585000000256QAM-1.600635.5956849000000256QAM-2.500237.6367597000000256QAM-1.700834.9268603000000256QAM-1.900934.9269609000000256QAM-2.2001035.08410615000000256QAM-2.2001135.08411621000000256QAM-2.3001234.92612633000000256QAM-2.2001335.08413639000000256QAM-2.3001435.08414645000000256QAM-2.3001535.59515651000000256QAM-2.2001635.59516657000000256QAM-2.4001735.78017663000000256QAM-2.5001835.59518669000000256QAM-2.8001935.78019675000000256QAM-3.0002035.59520681000000256QAM-3.1002135.78021687000000256QAM-2.7002235.78022693000000256QAM-2.6002335.59523699000000256QAM-2.7002435.78024705000000256QAM-2.7002536.38725711000000256QAM-3.1002635.78026717000000256QAM-3.6002735.78027723000000256QAM-3.5002835.78028825000000256QAM-2.2002937.63629831000000256QAM-2.2003037.35630837000000256QAM-2.2003137.63631843000000256QAM-2.2003237.35632303000000256QAM0.800136.610

OFDM Downstream OverviewReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)04K290600000YESYESYES0.5999981NANANONONONA

Upstream OverviewPort IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth123700000ATDMA - 64QAM32.00026400000238596000ATDMA - 64QAM36.50033200000330596000ATDMA - 64QAM33.00016400000

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 7

Re: Gigabit Speeds

Thanks very much for the insight.  I have a Rogers Tech coming to the house between 4pm-6pm today, so I will see what they say, and then possibly swap out the modem if they are of no help.

 

Next step is to get service through another provider.

 

Thanks 

Matt

 


@Datalink wrote:

@mperry the DOCSIS 3.0 Downstream signal levels are high, still well within spec, but higher than normal.  The signal to noise ratios are good.  Typically those levels will be clustered around 0 dBmV with a signal to noise ratio in the 36 to 40 dB range.  The operating range for DOCSIS is -15 to +15 dBmV.  So, your downstream levels are within spec.  

 

The upstream levels are also within spec.  On this modem we're typically seeing somewhere around 30 to 32/33 dBmV.  Yours are a little higher which suggests a possible noise issue in that frequency range.  Those signal levels are will within spec as the maximum signal level for three channel DOCSIS operation upsteam is 51 dBmV. 

 

The signal data shows that the modem is running DOCSIS 3.1 on the downstream side, so, the entire Downstream data table above is essentially irrelevant, interesting data but irrelevant.  DOCSIS 3.1 runs 4096 subcarriers with a single frequency band instead of the 32 carrier frequencies with DOCSIS 3.0.  That switch over to DOCSIS 3.1 does allow the modem to provide gig rates without issue.  The one problem at this point is that the data shown in the user interface isn't entirely accurate.  So, what I would recommend is a call to tech support to ask if the DOCSIS 3.1 OFDM channels are within spec.  I would advise the CSR of the rates that you are experiencing and see what turns up.  If the CSR indicates that everything looks normal, I would simply swap the modem for a CGNM-3552, as much as I hate to say that. 

 

Fwiw, if you are a gamer, the CODA-4582 (Intel Puma 7) modem is a better modem to use as it doesn't suffer from the latency issues that the CGN3xxx modems suffer from.  There was a firmware update in Sept 2016 that essentially took care of the latency for the CGN3ACSMR and CGNM-3552 for IPV4 ICMP and UDP.  So, if you're gaming and running IPV6, as far as I'm aware, your still subject to that latency problem.  My advice at this point for 4582 users is to keep using it if possible, but, if the data rate issue can't be readily resolved, swap it for a CGNM-3552 for now.  When we know more about the data rate issue, users can return to the 4582. 

 

Hope this helps 🙂


 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Gigabit Speeds

also in regards to having a hard time connecting.. Im getting 20 Dl speed and 22 Upload.. with 250u package.. What kinda business is this lol..

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,221

Re: Gigabit Speeds

@BritesDW when your ethernet data rates are low, can you log into your modem, navigate to the DOCSIS WAN tab, copy the Downstream and Upstream table (top to bottom) and paste that data directly into a post.  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the table and it should look like the table itself when its pasted in.  Ignore the data that resides above the Downstream table as it's modem specific. 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Gigabit Speeds

how do i log into my modem ?