cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email to SMS service discontinued.

notdavis
I plan to stick around

I found out this morning that Email to SMS has been discontinued as a service.  I found this out because I never received an emergency text message. 

Rogers never notified me/did notify me on a bill (I looked at my bills)/didn't notify me because I wasn't "subscribed" to this service (I've been using since the 2000s). The supervisor and business support don't have any replacement solutions.

What does Rogers do to wake up their employees when the network breaks in the middle of the night? Or do they just plan it for the day, and reaching everyone fails because the network is down and thats why it takes so long to fix it? 

Other than switching to Bell or Telus, what are other solutions, 3rd party email to SMS providers? 

***Added Labels***

48 REPLIES 48

Re: Email to SMS service discontinued.

Martin_S
I've been here awhile

Same here. I missed two emergency messages (I am a search and rescue volunteer): one yesterday and one today. Is it because the service is discontinued or because there are filters that  block the messages? If it's the latter, is it possible to have a white list?

notdavis
I plan to stick around

Support via chat confirmed the service is discontinued, and so I called 611 and spoke to a technical support agent, and a technical support supervisor / escalation support, and they also confirmed the service is discontinued.

They both pointed to a 3rd party app called Hyper Care as a replacement but it looks to be geared towards Health Care. I am now looking at 3rd party email to SMS providers and or cancelling my 20+ year Rogers account and switching to Bell/Telus which still supports this. 

notdavis
I plan to stick around

This silent cancellation of this by Rogers is a joke. I wonder if Louis Rossmann will do a youtube video about it. 

Pauly
Resident Expert
Resident Expert