Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

So over the last few months my Hitron CGN3 seems to be taking a dive.  I frequently need to reboot - up to 3 times daily now, and most times I can't even log into the router without first rebooting - I'm starting to get frustrated.  This has been progressively getting worse.  I have tried the full factory reset

 

What would I have to do to trade in my CGN3 for the newer CODA-4582?  I'm on the ignite 250u with unlimited plan - so I'm fairly certain that I qualify for the upgrade.  Can I just walk into the rogers store with my old modem and trade it in for a the new one?

 

 

***Added Labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,872

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

Ok, thats not too bad.  The downstream signal levels roll off above 700 Mhz faster than I would like to see, but, they're all in spec.  The signal to noise ratios are ok, but, drop slightly above 700Mhz with the roll-off.  You can see the levels start rolling off around 650 Mhz.  The upstream levels are ok as well.  

 

So, based on where those levels are now,  I wouldn't expect any problems.  I'm assuming that the modem is working now and your internet service is ok.  The next time that it fails, don't reboot or reset the modem.  Leave it as is and call tech support to run the signal check and attempt to communicate with the modem.  Doing that when the modem has failed is the best time to do it.  

 

At the end of the day, you can simply take the modem in and exchange it for the CODA-4582 which is a much better modem in terms of latency.  If you or a member of your family are  gamers, that should make a difference to your gaming.  If you swap the modem and still see the failures, then yes, you definitely have cable or connector issues.  There is always the chance that the modem is failing, but, we see cable and connector issues far more often than failing modems.  



View solution in original post


All Replies
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,872

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

@RickyB yes you can.  My guess is that you might have cable or connector issues, which would explain the reboots.  Changing the modem won't solve a cable or connector issue.  Can you log into the modem, navigate to the DOCSIS WAN tab, copy the Downstream and Upstream table and paste that into a post.  The copy and paste process will paste in the text contents of the tables.  From there, we can tell if there is a signal issue. 

 

Alternatively, you can simply call tech support and ask the CSR to run a signal check on the modem.  Indicate that you're having to reboot the modem several times a day to get it back up and working.  

  

Note that a reboot will temporarily resolve the issue, but, it won't resolve the underlying cable/connector problem.  The best time to call tech support is when the modem isn't responding to your log in attempts or when you don't have internet service, if in fact its that bad.  If my assumption is correct, the modem will fail the signal check, in which case you should see a tech out to your home fairly soon.  The worst time to call is just after a reboot, when the modem will appear to be working as it should. 

 

When that is all said and done, you can still trade in the modem if you're interested as you're on an unlimited plan. 



Highlighted
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 586

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

@RickyB You most certainly quality for the CODA-4582 upgrade! All you need to do is bring in your CGN3 with the power cable to your nearest Rogers store and they will swap you to the CODA-4582 for free. 

 

 

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

Thanks for the replies.  The tables are posted below:

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Signal noise ratio (dB)Channel ID
1597000000256QAM-2.00036.6108
2579000000256QAM-2.40036.6105
3585000000256QAM-2.20036.6106
4591000000256QAM-2.40036.6107
5303000000256QAM-0.20037.3561
6603000000256QAM-2.40036.6109
7609000000256QAM-2.60037.35610
8615000000256QAM-2.60036.38711
9621000000256QAM-2.80036.38712
10633000000256QAM-3.10036.38713
11639000000256QAM-3.00036.61014
12645000000256QAM-2.70036.61015
13651000000256QAM-3.20035.59516
14657000000256QAM-3.90035.78017
15663000000256QAM-4.10035.78018
16669000000256QAM-4.20035.59519
17675000000256QAM-4.30035.78020
18681000000256QAM-4.60035.59521
19687000000256QAM-4.20035.78022
20693000000256QAM-4.10035.78023
21699000000256QAM-4.40035.78024
22705000000256QAM-5.50034.92625
23711000000256QAM-5.10034.92626
24717000000256QAM-5.30034.92627
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)BandWidthModulation TypeSignal Strength (dBmV)Channel ID
1237000006400000ATDMA32.2502
2385960003200000ATDMA35.5003
3305960006400000ATDMA33.5001
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,872

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

Ok, thats not too bad.  The downstream signal levels roll off above 700 Mhz faster than I would like to see, but, they're all in spec.  The signal to noise ratios are ok, but, drop slightly above 700Mhz with the roll-off.  You can see the levels start rolling off around 650 Mhz.  The upstream levels are ok as well.  

 

So, based on where those levels are now,  I wouldn't expect any problems.  I'm assuming that the modem is working now and your internet service is ok.  The next time that it fails, don't reboot or reset the modem.  Leave it as is and call tech support to run the signal check and attempt to communicate with the modem.  Doing that when the modem has failed is the best time to do it.  

 

At the end of the day, you can simply take the modem in and exchange it for the CODA-4582 which is a much better modem in terms of latency.  If you or a member of your family are  gamers, that should make a difference to your gaming.  If you swap the modem and still see the failures, then yes, you definitely have cable or connector issues.  There is always the chance that the modem is failing, but, we see cable and connector issues far more often than failing modems.  



View solution in original post

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

So i picked up the new CODA today. Signal levels are about the same as the CGN3, not that I expected them to be better.

Time will tell if this fixes my issue.

Thanks for the help!
Highlighted
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 359

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

I am on the (now grandfathered) Ignite 250u service and I have had a Hitron CGN3 since shortly after they introduced (2013? and that was very painful) but it has been stable in recent years.  The only problem is that I can no longer access the web UI of the device at 192.168.100.1 when it is in bridge mode - I think this happened with a firmware upgrade that came out a year or two ago.

 

What are the pros and cons of switching to a newer modem like the CODA 4582?

 

I would need to put the device in bridge mode as I have a fairly large and sophisticated network.  I use a Ubiquiti Unifi USG as my router and I have five Unifi WAPs around my house for Wifi.  So I have no need for any routing or wifi from the gateway.  I have a very connected home and on average I have about 70 devices connected to my LAN and many of these have static addresses or DHCP reservations.  I forward a few ports and I also run OpenVPN server on my router.

 

Highlighted
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 624

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

Hi @wayner92

 

Thank you for posting on the Community Forums!

 

You've come to the right place for your research on the modems. 

 

Having a network set up for your home is set up with the right equipment is definitely something that would be important.

 

Perhaps one of Resident Experts can provide some insight here, @Datalink @Gdkitty @gp-se

 

RogersPrasana 

 

 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,233

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582

I havent had any issues running mine in gateway with my own router.

 

And you are able to access the modem, via 192.168.100.1.



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,111

Re: Trade Hitron CGN3 for Hitron CODA-4582


@wayner92 wrote:

I am on the (now grandfathered) Ignite 250u service and I have had a Hitron CGN3 since shortly after they introduced (2013? and that was very painful) but it has been stable in recent years.  The only problem is that I can no longer access the web UI of the device at 192.168.100.1 when it is in bridge mode - I think this happened with a firmware upgrade that came out a year or two ago.

 

What are the pros and cons of switching to a newer modem like the CODA 4582?

 

I would need to put the device in bridge mode as I have a fairly large and sophisticated network.  I use a Ubiquiti Unifi USG as my router and I have five Unifi WAPs around my house for Wifi.  So I have no need for any routing or wifi from the gateway.  I have a very connected home and on average I have about 70 devices connected to my LAN and many of these have static addresses or DHCP reservations.  I forward a few ports and I also run OpenVPN server on my router.

 


@wayner92 I saw your post on dslreports, I would suggest getting the CODA, it uses DOCSIS 3.1 which is the future on Rogers. The network is also being tuned for DOCSIS 3.1, so it's worth changing your CGN for the CODA.