cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Second Gigabit Internet Connection at Same Address & Self-Install - Issues?

SebsAway
I'm here a lot

Hey guys so I just purchase the GIGABIT internet with rogers to add it to my home (currently live in the basement) while the other family lives upstairs. I'm a bit concerned in regards to adding my modem and actually getting the signals and the download speeds i payed for as I've heard theres sometimes issues with having two rogers internet in the same household? there is a coax outlet down here not currently used. I also am doing self install to add it so I'm hoping there wont be issues

Has anybody experienced any issues or concerns?

thanks!

***Added Labels***

12 REPLIES 12

Re: Second Gigabit Internet Connection at Same Address & Self-Install - Issues?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Although I'm not an expert on such matters, I do have the following comments.

1. If this is a separate account, then there should be no issues and Rogers should probably run a separate RF-coax line for your use.

2. If this is on the "same" account, then this would be called "account splitting" and is against the terms of service with Rogers and could result in suspension of both services.

3. Rogers rarely lets anyone use their own modem any more, especially for Gigabit service.  If this is a separate account you should be picking up (at a store) or receiving via tech delivery a modem specifically provisioned for your service.

If you could elaborate further on your plans, we can comment further, however, as stated earlier in my post, a "self install" in the same house, without a separate account ,and without a separate co-ax line, attempting to use your own modem is asking for trouble.

SebsAway
I'm here a lot

hey there @57! thank you for your reply.