cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I receive 1.5 Gbps on PC?

Vanana
I'm here a lot

I'm a new Ignite Internet 1.5 Gigabit customer. 

Rogers' technician installed a Nokia Optical Network Terminal (ONT) in my basement to which, my 2nd floor's ethernet cable is connected. The 2nd floor's wall ethernet port is connected to the Ignite WiFi Gatway (Gen 2) aka XB7 via port 4 using a Cat6 ethernet cable.

Now, my PC is also on the 2nd floor and PC has a 2.5 GbE controller. However, XB7's remaining 3 ethernet ports are all 1 Gbps rated and PC is connected to one of these three ports as the only 2.5 Gbps port on the XB7 is connected to the wall ethernet port.

How do I get the full 1500 Mbps speed on my PC? I imagine I need to use external hardware? Any suggestions? I'm new to networking so please be gentle.

**Labels Added**

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: How do I receive 1.5 Gbps on PC?

That won't work.  The XB7 and XB8 modems connect to the Nokia ONT thru the modem's port 4.  It is the only port on the modem that supports a 2.5 Gb/s sync rate with the ONT.  And, port 4 is the only port that is a dual Wide Area Network / Local Area Network (WAN/LAN) port.  Since the modem isn't connecting thru the cable port, it requires port 4 to be used as the WAN port, connecting to the Nokia ONT's multi-gig port.  So, that occupies the modem's 2.5 Gb/s port, leaving the remaining gigabit LAN ports (1 to 3) for use as ethernet ports.  That also limits the throughput thru ports 1 to 3 to 1 Gb/s maximum for each port.