cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email to SMS service discontinued.

notdavis
I plan to stick around

I found out this morning that Email to SMS has been discontinued as a service.  I found this out because I never received an emergency text message. 

Rogers never notified me/did notify me on a bill (I looked at my bills)/didn't notify me because I wasn't "subscribed" to this service (I've been using since the 2000s). The supervisor and business support don't have any replacement solutions.

What does Rogers do to wake up their employees when the network breaks in the middle of the night? Or do they just plan it for the day, and reaching everyone fails because the network is down and thats why it takes so long to fix it? 

Other than switching to Bell or Telus, what are other solutions, 3rd party email to SMS providers? 

***Added Labels***

48 REPLIES 48

Re: Email to SMS service discontinued.

Christopher77
I plan to stick around
My concern is the instant notifications via text from security alarm triggers or alarm notifications. Email notifications will be lost due to email volume.

Solarguy
I've been here awhile

Same here.  Missing critical alarms from multiple power stations.  HUGE public risk!!! Who can I call???

Pauly
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Unfortunately you can not call anybody, Your company is using a service which you were not paying for but now its gone and discontinued. Your boss now has to set up an email on your mobile device which by the way, is just as reliable and instant as a text message is, and use the email client on your phone,   one good thing about this, is it is now going from email to email instead of email to text, so you will get a proper full message with no portion of the message cut off.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

You can also ask that the "alarms" (or any other notices required) are sent out as texts (or phone calls) to begin with, rather than e-mails.

Pauly
Resident Expert