Unable to access Chinese website

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

YouTube works fine.
Google works fine.
Rest is all not working.
From markham
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,786

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Hello, @Maxtt

 

Welcome to Rogers Community Forums! 😀

 

Thank you for posting your concern in the Community. It's good to know that Google sites are working fine. Can you provide the websites addresses which are not working? And what's the error message you are getting?


Also, please browse through the first two pages of this thread where we have discussed a similar issue.

 

We look forward to hearing more details from you.

 

Cheers,

RogersMoin

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Hello, I have the same issue of connecting some China websites with Roger wifi. I changed from Bell to Rogers since Jan and all China website connections were okay until Mar. For some reason, I couldn't access some China websites but there was no problem if I used my cell phone network instead of home wifi. I reset the modem to factory settings but it's still not working. Someone said it could be a problem of DNS settings or IP address. Can you please help me out? 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,213

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

We would need to know what website you were trying to access.

Yes a lot of times, It can be DNS settings.  
It can be rogers side, that they are not updating it properly.
But also as well, it could be on the website wise.  If they are not going through a service which is updating their end address properly to some of the normal central places where the sort of more 'global' dns listings are stored.

Now, on most of the rogers modems now, i know at least the Ignite ones, you can not change the DNS manually to something else. 
But there are some ways you can do it on a device.   90% of my devices I have all run off the rogers DNS servers, but I have my desktop and laptop set to manually override the DNS to the Google ones.

So a little more info would be helpful.
The site your trying to get to.
and what device your trying to get to it on.  (sounds like phone?  what brand)

 



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Hello, I tried the following websites and could't access. The error message were the same - "connection timed out". I believe there are more websites that couldn't be loaded but it's impossible for me to list them all.

 

www.z.cn

www.yxdown.com

www.ali213.net

 

My rogers modem is  Hitron CODA-4582. My friend helped me change the DNS manually as the Google one but it didn't work either. And I didn't remember how he did that.

 

My phone band is Telus and I use smartphones (Samsung, Xiaomi) to get in the above websites with no issues. It's also working perfectly if I connect my laptop to my smartphone using the band as the hot spot and access those websites.

 

Thanks for your help.

 
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 389

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Hey @david_7611!

 

Welcome to the community!

 

Sorry to hear you're unable to access those sites! I've confirmed on my end that it isn't an issue across the whole of the Rogers network as I'm able to access them but we can certainly get to the bottom of why you're unable to.

 

Are you able to ping the website(s) and perhaps run a traceroute to them and share the results?

Has there been any changes to your modem's security settings?

Is this a recent issue? When was the last time you were able to access the sites?

Can you confirm the model and firmware revision it's running for us?

 

Thanks!

 

@RogersAndy

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Hello, I tried to ping the following websites and I got the same message of "Request timed out. Packets: sent=4, received=0, lost=4 (100% loss)".

 

I didn't do any changes to the modem's security settings but just reset it to factory settings. It didn't work anyway.

 

This issue happened in early March. Before that, everything was okay. All these websites were loadable.

 

What is "the model and firmware revision" you mentioned? The modem model is  Hitron CODA-4582. I'm not sure if the following is what you asked for.

 

Hardware Version 1A
Software Version 2.0.10.36T6

 

Thanks.

 

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 389

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Thank you so much. Were you able to run a traceroute to the website? You can do so by following these steps:

 

Can you provide us with a traceroute using a wired connection to your modem? (Please ensure no 3rd party devices are connected such as a router/switch).

 

To run traceroute on Windows:

1. Open the command prompt. Go to Start > Run > Type: cmd > Hit Enter

2. In the newly opened command prompt window, type: tracert www.google.com

3. You may have to wait up to a minute or more for the test to complete

4. Once completed highlight the results with your mouse then ctrl+c on your keyboard to copy

5. Provide the complete results (every line) here for analysis

 

Performing a Traceroute in Mac OS X

1. Launch Network Utility (Search Network Utility in Spotlight and choose the first option)

2. Click the Traceroute option in the top menu

3. Enter the network address to trace an internet route to: www.google.com

4. Click Trace at the bottom right

5. Select the results in the window below, and then right-click and select Copy or press COMMAND+C to copy the text

6. Provide the complete results (every line) here for analysis

 

 

We'll require the traceroute at this point of the troubleshooting to identify if there's a visible issue with packet transmission within the Rogers network.

 

Keep us posted, thanks!

 

@RogersAndy

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Tracing route to www.google.com [2607:f8b0:400b:802::2004]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 5 ms 12 ms 7 ms hitronhub.home [2607:fea8:3c5f:ff06:6677:7dff:fe5e:a342]
2 29 ms 14 ms 12 ms 2607:f798:804:1e1::1
3 12 ms 10 ms 11 ms 2607:f798:10:c9a:0:690:6325:5153
4 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms 2607:f798:10:320:0:2091:4823:3189
5 12 ms 12 ms 11 ms 2607:f798:10:309::1
6 12 ms 14 ms 11 ms 2001:4860:1:1::b86
7 17 ms 12 ms 11 ms 2607:f8b0:825e::1
8 21 ms 19 ms 20 ms 2001:4860:0:1::9c2
9 20 ms 22 ms 29 ms 2001:4860:0:11d7::2
10 23 ms 24 ms * 2001:4860:0:16::1
11 33 ms * 24 ms 2001:4860:0:1::1551
12 19 ms 21 ms 20 ms yyz12s06-in-x04.1e100.net [2607:f8b0:400b:802::2004]

Trace complete.

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,256

Re: Unable to access Chinese website

Thank you @david_7611!

 

Based on those results, it doesn't appear to be an issue with your connection. Now that we've eliminated that, let's try another approach.

 

Let's try surfing by IP. Please paste the following IP address into your browser bar and then hit enter.

 

54.222.60.252

 

If you're successfully able to load the site with the IP address, please let me know.

 

Regards,

RogersCorey