Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Okay,

Senior technician coming out this week sometime ? Senior tech will call me to schedule.

So far 2 hour phone call to get service in the first place...two junior techs 3 hours each At my home ....several phone calls ....the sheer number of hours this process has consumed for me is unbelievable!

So let’s see if this can get resolved? I was asked not to cancel so that ROGERS could use this case as a learning training example ...yikes.

Stay tuned for another update soon .
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

FYI - This is now the first day of week two ...waiting for Rogers to hook up Ignite TV internet.
I'm a Regular
Posts: 319

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Sigh. Unfortunately, this is becoming the norm these days with Rogers. Tech service is horrendously painful with this company. When I had issues with cable (prior to the network uplift in my neighbourhood), they kept wanting to send techs and I cringed every time they mentioned it. I haven’t had a single positive experience with their 3rd party techs. They’re slow, unknowledgeable, and very sloppy (leaving big messes in my telco closet/electrical panel). If I was Joe Natale, wanting to improve customer service, I would put way more focus on improving the experience of tech visits / service calls. Ugh...I’m getting nervous just typing this...horrible service!
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

I found the technicians friendly enough. They are just young inexperienced and under qualified beyond ..”plug in the power chord...unplug again...call tech support line if you need help...thank you good bye I have another call to go to...”

College kids with minimal training. Not their fault. This is what ROGERS is sourcing for its customers.

My concierge is exceptional and very professional!!!

We will see how this ends up.

I am still using BELL while I wait on the final installation from Rogers and the fiber cable construction that is pending?

I’ll update if / when they resolve the installation or if I simply am forced to return the equipment having received no services.

Geesh what a process...
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Week#3 Ticket still open.

Well a senior technician came out this past Sunday.....

He was unable to get any speeds past 425?

So three technicians now still nowhere near at or below 1gig? Hmmm. 750...800 even could potentially be considered a 1 gig service as the “ at or below” marketing stipulation.

Robo call received Monday ...” your ticket is delayed we are working on resolving the issue”...switching between Bell and Rogers ....Rogers yesterday disconnecting me several times from internet completely??? Techs must be working on . as this happened???

Tuesday- Construction update: trench cable apparatus is now on site outside my home where the fiber optic survey was done. Fiber or cable line fix soon?

Consierge still friendly: recommended I wait until end of week and hopefully Rogers’s will call me with issue resolved.

.....so I wait as bell keeps calling me trying to have me keep their service......

I am not sure who in my area has been sold the 1 gig service ? I would like to have that tech come hook me up....is the service available to consumers? .....or is just the billing side of the service available for consumers???? I’m really questioning what is being sold to consumers.....vs what consumers are actually getting for what they are being charged....hmmm.

Well, I’ll update again soon. Cross my fingers they update the infrastructure to support the customer base.

Oh my....
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Hey I've been experiencing both slow and inconsistent speeds for the last nearly 5-6 months. I've had the modem/router (CODA-4582U) replaced 3 times which didn't help at all. I've had several techs come and every time they tell me there's no issues despite the ping I'm getting and the trace routes I've shown them. I used to get on average 32-60ish ping depending on the game and now I'm lucky if I get 60. On average I get about 90-300 and it fluctuates like crazy all the time, at worst it spikes above 1k+ and that's not uncommon in the slightest, probably more common than getting 60. I have a direct connection to the modem/router and I've tried removing everyone off the network but myself and I get the same speeds. 

This is my downstream overview from my routers page

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM-0.300738.983
2855000000256QAM0.400338.983
3861000000256QAM-0.200438.983
4579000000256QAM-0.600538.605
5585000000256QAM-0.200638.983
6849000000256QAM0.900238.983
7597000000256QAM0.500838.983
8603000000256QAM0.500938.983
9609000000256QAM0.0001038.605
10615000000256QAM-0.6001138.605
11621000000256QAM-1.4001238.605
12633000000256QAM-2.0001338.983
13639000000256QAM-2.2001438.605
14645000000256QAM-1.1001538.605
15651000000256QAM0.0001638.983
16657000000256QAM1.0001738.605
17663000000256QAM1.2001838.605
18669000000256QAM0.1001938.983
19675000000256QAM-1.7002038.983
20681000000256QAM-2.6002138.605
21687000000256QAM-3.0002238.605
22693000000256QAM-2.5002338.605
23699000000256QAM-1.9002438.605
24705000000256QAM-0.9002538.605
25711000000256QAM0.3002638.605
26717000000256QAM0.9002738.983
27723000000256QAM-0.1002838.983
28825000000256QAM0.7002938.983
29831000000256QAM0.5003040.366
30837000000256QAM0.9003140.366
31843000000256QAM0.9003238.983
32279000000256QAM2.600138.605
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES1.099998
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
125300000ATDMA - 64QAM35.50023200000
236996000ATDMA - 64QAM31.50046400000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM32.25036400000
422100000ATDMA - 64QAM33.00013200000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K

 

This is a traceRouter I've been running to www.google.com for about 1-2 minutes. It's not always this bad but this is extremely common.

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| hitronhub.home - 91 | 31 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| 99.255.194.1 - 1 | 126 | 125 | 23 | 638 | 4175 | 174 |
| 8093-dgw01.lndn.rmgt.net.rogers.com - 1 | 124 | 123 | 21 | 661 | 4176 | 176 |
|0-4-0-8-cgw01.mtnk.asr9k.rmgt.net.rogers.com - 0 | 128 | 128 | 24 | 652 | 4160 | 180 |
| 209.148.230.2 - 0 | 128 | 128 | 35 | 657 | 3729 | 173 |
| 72.14.222.87 - 0 | 128 | 128 | 39 | 657 | 3734 | 173 |
| 108.170.250.225 - 0 | 128 | 128 | 33 | 659 | 3731 | 170 |
| 216.239.35.235 - 0 | 128 | 128 | 38 | 656 | 3730 | 174 |
| yyz10s14-in-f4.1e100.net - 0 | 128 | 128 | 37 | 654 | 3731 | 177 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

sorry for the formatting, first column is packet loss. When I run a traceRoute directly to the modem (192.168.0.1) it doesn't show large packetloss like that so I'm not sure what's up with that but everything else is legit

Thanks for your time and help.

 

Highlighted
I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 10

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Week#4

Well it’s week four. I’m still waiting on a resolution. Some construction has occurred with two new approximately 3’x3’ boxes being installed on the easement up the street from me.

As far as the post above;
Maybe your neighborhood needs it’s infrastructure updated or repaired like my neighborhood?

I hope the new installation to support the infrastructure in my neighborhood is completed soon.

I look forward to Rogers resolving the issue and establishing what service they can provide to me and my neighborhood.

I’ll update again soon as I continue waiting.

☹️
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

I was on Cable internet upto last week (CanNet Tel), and my plan was 100 up/10 down. I was using my own Asus N900 router and I could get about 90-95 mbs download speed over 5GHZ and about 10 mbs upload  on both 2.4 and 5ghz. We all know that these smaller companies are selling Rogers service if they provide the service over cable. 

Then this week, I was tempted by Rogers rep promotion and switched to Ignite 500.  Got the modem ( the white one), removed my old modem and my own router,  and hooked up the new modem  to the same coax cable the previous modem was connected to, and the whole drama started.

 

First thing first, using my laptop and gigabit ethernet port, the maximum speed I could get no matter what time of the day or night was about 180 mbs down/20 mbps upload.  So obviously there is a big gap between what I was sold  ( 500 ) and what I got in realty ( less than 200 mbps).

 

The other problem I started facing right after using the white modem/router is the speed I get over 2.4 and 5 ghz. The 5ghz signal keeps disappearing on me even if I sit literally beside modem/router. The speed on 2.4 ghz is not terrible ( 65 mbps  down / 17.5 mbps up) but if I manage to find the 5ghz signal, and connect to, the speed I get is even less than 2.4ghz signal (about 38 mbps down/10 mbps up).

 

So I decided to call Rogers. They checked a few things and said signal level is good and a technician needs to be dispatched. Today the technician showed up. He checked a few things, removed a splitter, replaced a coax connector and said everything else is in good shape. However after doing all these things the speed didn't change even a bit ( which to me it means what he did was not really necessary). Finally he said nothing is wrong here and another tech from maintenance department needs to come and check the main rogers box on the curb side of the street as it seems there is frequency interference !!! I asked him how come the 5ghz signal is so bad , isn't it the router that not broadcasting the signal properly? he said yes router is broadcasting the 5GHS signal but it uses different bandwidth of the cable which has problem ( I am not sure if this really makes any technical sense).

So now I am going to wait for next 2-3 weeks to get the maintenance crew come over and check the main box. Although I am not sure how come I could get 100 down/10 up through one of the small service reseller, in the same location, main big service provider like Rogers and much higher speed plan, I get less speed ???!!!

 

Below is what shows up in my modem docsiswan part. Can someone please have a look and comment on this?

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000256QAM4.700740.366
2855000000256QAM3.000338.983
3861000000256QAM2.700438.983
4579000000256QAM4.000540.366
5585000000256QAM4.800640.366
6849000000256QAM4.000238.983
7597000000256QAM5.100840.366
8603000000256QAM4.900940.946
9609000000256QAM5.9001040.366
10615000000256QAM4.5001140.366
11621000000256QAM4.2001240.366
12633000000256QAM5.9001340.946
13639000000256QAM5.0001440.366
14645000000256QAM6.1001540.366
15651000000256QAM5.9001640.366
16657000000256QAM6.9001740.946
17663000000256QAM7.0001840.366
18669000000256QAM7.6001940.366
19675000000256QAM7.2002040.366
20681000000256QAM7.8002140.366
21687000000256QAM7.7002240.366
22693000000256QAM8.0002340.946
23699000000256QAM8.1002440.366
24705000000256QAM8.1002540.946
25711000000256QAM7.1002640.946
26717000000256QAM6.7002740.946
27723000000256QAM6.9002840.366
28825000000256QAM5.5002940.946
29831000000256QAM6.0003040.946
30837000000256QAM5.5003140.366
31843000000256QAM4.5003240.366
32279000000256QAM3.400138.983
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
04K275600000YESYESYES4.900002
1NANANONONONA
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
123700000ATDMA - 64QAM30.75026400000
238596000ATDMA - 64QAM32.75033200000
330596000ATDMA - 64QAM30.75016400000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.00004K
1DISABLED0.50000.00000.0000-inf-1.0000

4K

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

Rogers, if you really care about you customers, then you should help me out. I recently got 1 GB service, and the speed I'm getting is too good to be true. I'm getting 50 Kb/s. So if your able to fix this then please do. Because I always thought that rogers is better than bell in so many ways, but I'm starting to have second thoughts.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,349

Re: Rogers Ignite Gigabit Very... very Slow Speeds

@Bhupinder-Singh how are you connecting to the modem, via ethernet or wifi?

 

Are you running the new Ignite TV system which uses an XB6 modem?

 

Or, do you have the white Hitron CODA-4582 modem.  

 

The modem models are either located on the bottom of the modem, or on the back of the modem.  In either case, there should be a product sticker indicating what modem you have.