cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I receive 1.5 Gbps on PC?

Vanana
I'm here a lot

I'm a new Ignite Internet 1.5 Gigabit customer. 

Rogers' technician installed a Nokia Optical Network Terminal (ONT) in my basement to which, my 2nd floor's ethernet cable is connected. The 2nd floor's wall ethernet port is connected to the Ignite WiFi Gatway (Gen 2) aka XB7 via port 4 using a Cat6 ethernet cable.

Now, my PC is also on the 2nd floor and PC has a 2.5 GbE controller. However, XB7's remaining 3 ethernet ports are all 1 Gbps rated and PC is connected to one of these three ports as the only 2.5 Gbps port on the XB7 is connected to the wall ethernet port.

How do I get the full 1500 Mbps speed on my PC? I imagine I need to use external hardware? Any suggestions? I'm new to networking so please be gentle.

**Labels Added**

26 REPLIES 26

Re: How do I receive 1.5 Gbps on PC?

Smarty_pants
I've been around

That would be your opinion. I tend to agree with @danno100 with this one. It's ridiculous that the only 2.5G port is occupied by the ONT .. this should be told to the customers up front when the little loony toon dressed in red shows up at your door. If you only have 1G ports then give the option to aggregate them together. At least you wouldn't be 90% lying about the speed you will never be able to reach but are paying extra for.

@Smarty_pants The problem is Rogers requires an Ignite "gateway" to deliver Ignite TV and Ignite Home Phone, and to support value-added services for Ignite Internet, and the XB7 and XB8 gateways are currently the only arrows in their quiver.

Comcast is currently developing their own router for FTTH customers that is due for release sometime in the second half of 2024.  Presumably, Rogers will also provide their FTTH customers with the XER10 router when it becomes available.

Datalink
Resident Expert
Resident Expert