cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple "Generic Brand Windows PC/Laptop" Showing Connected on Ignite WiFi Hub.

User60
I've been here awhile

I am a beginner, not familiar with Wi-Fi or networks. I am looking at my Ignite Wi-Fi network and I see a list of 6 offline "Generic Brand Windows PC/Laptop" that have connected to my Wi-Fi. Each of these computers/laptops appear to have a different alphanumerical "name". I do not use 6 different laptops. Is it my neighbours using my Wi-Fi? Are they just system/duplicates, like always the same device/laptop (the one I am using) that appears under a different alphanumerical name at each new connection? Is it just waiting for me to rename my laptop with a non-generic (specific name) and assign it to my Wi-Fi home profile so it stops generating new "Generic Brand Windows PC/Laptop"? How am I supposed to understand these "Generic Brand Windows PC/Laptop"?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Multiple "Generic Brand Windows PC/Laptop" Showing Connected on Ignite WiFi Hub.

RogersMaude

Good day @User60,

Welcome to the Rogers Community and thank you for your post! We certainly want to help you get the most of our Ignite WiFi Hub app!

Here are the steps to follow to start naming your devices:

1. Open the Ignite WiFi app or website and sign in using your MyRogers username and password.
  2. Select Connect to display a list of the devices currently connected to your home WiFi network.
    • The list will also include any device that has connected to your home WiFi in the past 6 months.
  3. Select the device you wish to name
  4. Select the pencil icon (in the app) or Edit (on the website)
  5. Give the device a name and customize the icon for easy identification.

If you wish to assign devices to user profiles, follow these steps:

1. In Ignite WiFi Hub, select People.
  2. Select the profile you want to add a device to.
  3. Select Assign a Device.