cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

After watching a recorded program

Richardbourgeau
I've been here awhile

Once a recorded program is finished, a menu comes up asking if you'd like to delete it. And behind that menu is the channel guide. It never goes away unless you choose to delete it. MY question is Is there a way to have the delete menu and the channel guide dissappear after x amount of time and just resume live TV, without having to press anything? If you're busy doing other things, it just remains stuck on the delete menu with the channel guide behind it, but the audio of live TV is on.

 

**Labels Added**

RB
9 REPLIES 9

Re: After watching a recorded program

Biollw
I'm a senior advisor

It should give you option to delete it or a "No Thanks". Else just press exit key on your remote.

Re: After watching a recorded program

57
Resident Expert
Resident Expert

If you're not around to press the exit or confirm key, then I believe the regular programme will return after 10 minutes, but that may be longer than you like.  It's the same if you pause a recorded programme - it'll only stay paused for 10 minutes and then the box returns to the previous channel you were on.

Re: After watching a recorded program

Richardbourgeau
I've been here awhile
That's not what I'm asking. I know I can press delete or not delete. My question is can this screen go away on its own after a while and back to live TV without having to press anything.
RB

Re: After watching a recorded program

Richardbourgeau
I've been here awhile
Thank you. I wish that it did, but It doesn't. It stays on the delete or not delete screen indefinitely while you hear the audio only of live TV.
RB

Re: After watching a recorded program

@Richardbourgeau : Sorry, I thought it would go away.  Not quite sure why you would care if you're not there to press a button.  It may go away (and the STB go into screensaver) if you set the power save/screensaver functionality to a shorter time?

Re: After watching a recorded program

Richardbourgeau
I've been here awhile

My previous box (I forget what it was called, before ignite anyways), would go back to live programming on it's own after 5 mins or so.
My question is asking if there is a way to have this system do the same. Its a simple question if the box has that capability. The reason why I care is not relevant. It think it obvious that if I'm sitting in front of the TV, remote in hand, that I can press the delete option or continue option and it would resume to live TV. There are many times where I am preoccupied in the kitchen with wet or dirty hands, or that I'm on computer in dining room preoccupied on computer for 10 mins and remote isn't near me, or 10 other situations that I didn't was feel was necessary to share while asking the question if this box has the capability of resuming live TV after x amount of time bein idle after watching recorded program. 

RB

Re: After watching a recorded program


@Richardbourgeau wrote:

My previous box (I forget what it was called, before ignite anyways), would go back to live programming on it's own after 5 mins or so.

My question is asking if there is a way to have this system do the same. Its a simple question if the box has that capability.


Not that I know of.  There isn't anything in Settings to change this behaviour.

Re: After watching a recorded program


@Richardbourgeau wrote:

The reason why I care is not relevant.


Actually, the reason can be relevant:

 

1. If you were concerned about screen burn in, then the option I outlined in my earlier post could be relevant.

2. Thank you for outlining your reasons.  As indicated by @-G- above, I don't believe there is an option for the box to do what you want. I don't recall anyone ever asking this question before.  Most times if people are "watching" a recording they are present and available, not in another room or otherwise occupied.  

3. Sometimes we can think of a workaround, but that doesn't seem likely in this case.

Re: After watching a recorded program

mebe
I'm a trusted contributor
I still have Legacy Digital TV, and my Nextbox 4K PVR is set to Not delete unless I ask it to. If I'm watching a recorded show and fall asleep, it will just take 3 minutes for the box to return to Live TV with both picture and sound) after the recording has finished playing.

If I had Ignite TV, I would set the cloud recordings to never delete (although Ignite TV will still delete oldest content after 1 year), so I assume you might not get a prompt to delete the recorded content. Not sure if the box would then just wait 10 minutes to also show the picture of Live TV, or just sit there until the screen saver activates.

If the prompt asking to delete recorded content can't ever be blocked from appearing, put the remote in a clear bag, so that your dirty fingers don't get the remote sticky.

Sincerely,
Sleepy Joe
Topic Stats
  • 9 replies
  • 1040 views
  • 1 Like
  • 5 in conversation