cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XB6 in Bridge Mode - Ignite STB (Xi6-A) Connects to 5 GHz WiFi but Gets No TV Signal

D_Barnes
I've been here awhile

Not sure if this should go under "internet" or TV" but I'll switch if not aloud here.

So I'm new to Rogers (switched from Bell finally) and my Ignite STB (Xi6-A) connects to 5 GHz wifi but gets no TV signal.
I can manually connect to the 2.4 GHz band and TV works fine, but I'd like to connect to 5 GHz if possible.
My phone and various devices connect to 5G fine (slight hiccup when connecting on my Samsung S9+ saying "internet may not be available" but sorts itself out after a few seconds and then remains stable).

I should mention that I am using my XB6 in bridge mode (used @-G- 's instructions here https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Ignite-TV/Using-the-Ignite-TV-Modem-Gateway-in-Bridge-Mode/td-...) connected to my TP-Link AX6000 router.
IPv6 settings set-up and registering 10/10 on https://test-ipv6.com/ (set up using RogerDave's instructions here https://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/Archived-Posts/Rogers-IPv6-Status/m-p/373238/highlight/true#M3...)

Now I know bridge mode may be the culprit but I remember when setting up the XB6, before ever installing my AX6000, I couldn't get TV to work on 5G so I switched it to 2.4G.
Also, 5G works through bridge mode on all other devices and ping.canbeuseful.com tests 100 send:1 fail on my phone.

Now for the reason why manually switching to 2.4 on the Xi6-A isn't a fix for my use case.
I have my router set to manually reboot at 4am on Tuesday night every week and when this happens, my Xi6 defaults to 5G and errors out and I have to set it up manually again.
I know I could stop the manual reboot, but it doesn't really fix the issue of 5G not working.

Little more background:

- I have regular wifi 2.4G/5G & a guest wifi 2.4G/5G (so 4x SSID in my home)