Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

Hi there. I have 2 wired connections to the router, a desktop PC and a ps4. Both suddenly don't work now. The ports on the back all just give a yellow light. The WiFi still works though. I've power cycled and reset the thing, but it just doesn't recognize a wired connection. I'm wondering if something just failed and I should swap the modem.

 

 

*** Edited Labels ***

 

 

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,127

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

Hi, @Cwolfram64  and welcome to the Community.

 

Which modem do you have, the new Ignite Internet XB6 modem (made by either Arris or Technicolor) or one of the older Hitron modems?  Do your PC and PS4 connect through a LAN switch or do they connect directly to the Ethernet ports on the modem?



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

The Hitron CODA 4582U. They both connect directly to the modem, and both just died. Chrome on the PC gives a err no name given, and the ps4 just doesn't connect. I can't even log into the router from the pc. That gives an err address unreachable. So it knows its connected to something, but the modem is just refusing it.
Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 1,127

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

@Cwolfram64  I don't know that modem well so I will defer any further troubleshooting to experts in the Community.  However, if nothing changed on your side, and you still cannot get a connection after power-cycling the modem and trying another Ethernet cable, then I suspect a hardware failure.  You can also contact the @CommunityHelps  team for support by sending them a Private Message .



Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,872

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

@Cwolfram64 we've seen previous cases with Hitron Puma 6 modems, not the current Puma 7 CODA-4582, where a device ethernet or wifi failure would cause what appears to be a modem failure.  Replace the failing device ethernet or wifi adapter and the "modem" problem was solved.  Sometimes that took hours to occur as it took that long for the device adapter to heat up to a point where it started to fail.  So, not saying thats the case here, but, keep an open mind. 

 

What I would suggest is:

 

1.  Have a look at the back of the modem, specifically the connected port LEDs.  They should be flashing amber indicating a 1 Gb/s connection rate with the connected device port.  Flashing green indicates a 10/100 Mb/s connection rate. 

2.  Disconnect one of the devices and restart the modem.  Pull the plug from the wall socket, wait for about 15 seconds and then plug it back in.  After the reboot, test the device to see if that's made any change. If not, disconnect that device, connect the other device and restart the modem again.  After the reboot, test the connected device.  

3.  I would also test the other ethernet ports for the same dead results.  

 

Depending on your results, you will end up going in one of two directions:

 

1.  you've found that one of the devices does not connect properly via ethernet.  So, further investigation is required as to why?

2.  No device connects to the modem, despite the port LED indications of communication between the modem and the devices:  

     a.  Second last resort measure, run a factory reset to see if that resolves the issue: and

     b.  Last resort measure:  swap the modem.    "Its dead Jim" as they say on tv. 

 

Are both devices directly connected thru commercially produced ethernet cables?  As in, no ethernet switch in between the modem and devices, and no house ethernet cabling either?



Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

Plugging in the ethernet cable, the light would maybe blink once every few seconds, but was otherwise solid, and it did it across all ports.  Oddly enough, if the PS4 was in sleep mode, its port would be green, for whatever reason. 

 

Either way, a call/walk/swap later, the replacement modem is set up and everything is working fine again, so I suspect it was a freak hardware failure.  And I can finally type on a proper keyboard instead of a tiny phone. 🙂

 

Thanks so much for all your help!

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

Zoom - Your internet connection is unstable

 

We have Rogers Ignite Gigabit service.

 

My wife and I are both using Zoom for our business online meetings (COVID working from home). We both get the same Zoom message duing some of our calls that say "Your internet connection is unstable".

 

When we reboot our Hitron coda-4582 modem, Zoom  works again right away. A day or so later the connection is unstable message comes back.

 

We don't use wireless, we are hard wired using Cat 6 directly to our computers. There is a patch panel in the basement with the Hitron modem and keystone jack outlets are in all our rooms. We use Cat 6 patch cords from the walls to the computers.

 

We also watch Amazon Prime videos on another hard wired PC and sometimes it will freeze and/or will give us a message that the program is taking too long to load the video (cancel or wait).

 

  • Called tech support and they had someone come by and check our cabeling outside. All checked out fine.
  • Called again and they replaced our modem.
  • Called again and was told a tech would come to our home and check our physical Cat 6 connections. When the tech arrived he said he was only a contractor and did not have any ethernet test equipment, so he left and did not do any testing. He said to call back to tech support and request a Rogers tech instead.
  • Called again and this time was told our internet shows to be working fine so no tech is necessary.

All I need to understand is if our problem is related to our internet service, Zoom or the wiring in our house. 

 

Does anyone have suggestions on how I can get our internet stable again?

Highlighted
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,872

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

@kwGuy can you log into your modem and:

 

1.  Determine what Software (firmware) version is currently loaded as indicated on the STATUS page which is automatically displayed when you log into the modem.  It will either be 2.0.10.36T6 or 7.1.1.32.   If you have 7.1.1.32 loaded, that is a new version.  I'd recommend a modem reboot (ADMIN .... DEVICE RESET .... Reboot) if you don't know when that version was loaded.  In a worst case scenario, I'd recommend a factory reset.  Although a modem reboot is scheduled during the firmware upgrade, I've always found that an additional reboot is necessary to see the full performance out of a Hitron modem after a firmware upgrade.  In a worst case scenario, I'd run a factory reset.  

 

If you find that you can't access the modem using 192.168.0.1 if its in Gateway mode, or using 192.168.100.1 if its in Bridge mode, thats a sign that version 7.1.1.32 is loaded.  There is an issue with the loss of access to the modem after a period of time.  That issue should be resolved in the next firmware version.  To gain access to the modem, restart the modem.  Pull the power, wait for about 15 seconds and plug it back in.  That should restore access to the modem.  

 

In restarting/rebooting the modem, that will temporarily alleviate any signal issues that exist.  It won't solve any underlying problems, but will provide a period of temporary relief.  

 

2.  The next step is to navigate to the STATUS .... DOCSIS WAN tab and copy the entire Downstream Overview table, down to the very bottom OFDM/OFDMA section.  Select or highlight that entire table area, right click .... Copy.  In a new post, right click .... Paste.  That should paste in the table so that it appears as it does in the modem's user interface.  

 

I'd actually like to see a couple copies of that table.  Once if you do in fact have to restart the modem to gain access to the modem's user interface and settings, and later, when you have trouble running Zoom or Prime Video or any other application.  So, a before and after shot, so to speak.  That second shot might not be necessary or appropriate for several hours or possibly days, as you indicated in your post. 

 

Did you always have problems with applications buffering, or is this a recent occurrence?  A recent start to this might be indicative of cable issues, or point to the possibility of high loads at the local neighbourhood node or Cable Modem Termination System, which your modem connects with.  The CMTS provides data services to, and control over connected modems.  Rogers network has seen a very large increase in traffic, so, that might be part of the issue as well.  

 

How is your home network connected to the modem:

 

1.  Direct connection to the modem, as in some rooms connect directly thru Cat 5 or Cat 6 house cabling to the modem; or

2. Does the modem connect to a managed or unmanaged "gigabit" switch which is also connected to the house ethernet cabling?

3.  If you do use a switch, is it a gigabit switch of some type, or a 10/100 Mb/s switch?  Just checking.

 

If for example you connect your pc thru Cat 6 to the house cabling and then directly to the modem, have a look at the following:

 

1.  On your ethenet connected pc, right click on the internet symbol in the task bar (lower right hand corner of your monitor screen).  

2.  Select "Open Network & Internet Settings"

3.  Select "View hardware and connection properties"

4.  Look at the Link speed (Receive/Transmit):  It should indicate 1000/1000 (Mbps) for a gigabit connection rate from the pc's ethernet port thru the house ethernet and down to the modem's ethernet port.  Anything less than 1000/1000 (Mbps) would indicate that you have a cable issue, most likely a cable to connector issue.  

5.  This should be checked for all house ethernet cable ports. 

6.  If you look at the back of the modem, and I'm assuming that the modem is running in Gateway mode at the moment, look at the connected port LEDs.  For a 1 Gb/s connection rate with the connected device, that LED should be flashing amber.  For a 10/100 Mb/s connection rate, that LED will be flashing green.  

7.  If you log into the modem and navigate to the Advanced tab which shows the Switch Setup, it will show the current connection rate on all four ports.

 

In theory, and assuming that the modem is in Gateway mode at the present time, you should have 1000/1000 (Mbps) connection rates to the pc's.  Anything less, and depending on how much less, and you could have problems.  Did you do the keystone installation yourself and if so, how did you test the end to end cable to keystone connections?  That should be done with an ethernet cable tester which runs a basic continuity check, end to end.  A professional installation should also see a frequency sweep performed to determine the performance of the cable runs, from the basement structured wiring cabinet to their upstairs locations.  

 

The cables can be tested very easily with a cable tester such as the following:

 

https://www.homedepot.ca/product/sperry-instruments-cable-test-plus-coax-utp-stp-tstr-tests-for-open...

 

https://www.amazon.ca/Sperry-Instruments-TT64202-Tester-Master/dp/B004Y75B5Y

 

There are more expensive testers available.  One can spend several hundred dollars if one chooses.  The higher you go, the more information the test device will provide.  Here's one that is a small step up, in capability and price that would also do the job:

 

https://www.amazon.ca/Southwire-Tools-Equipment-M550-Continuity/dp/B01ADWQ94A/ref=pd_sbs_60_6/132-01...

 

Those test devices have a transmitter and receiver that allows you to do an end to end test, looking for cable to connector continuity and for reversed or miswired cable to connector situations.  Hook the transmitter at one end, the receiver at the other and hit run on the transmitter to see what comes up on the receiver.  Its pretty simple to use. 

 

Ok, that should do it for now.  If you can provide the modem signal levels and info on how the modem to house ethernet is connected, thats a good starting point.

 

What do you do for wifi?  Are you using the modem's wifi, where the modem is in the basement, or are you using an upstairs access point, wired thru the house ethernet?

 

On a wifi connected laptop, right click on the wifi symbol in the task bar, and following the same path as above.  Select "View hardware and connection properties" and drill down into the Link speed (Receive/Transmit) numbers.  They will be dynamic, changing as the laptop moves around the house.  Stop in place for a couple of minutes to allow the numbers to settle out.  Keep in mind those are raw link speed numbers, not the data rate you would see if you ran a speed test.  The raw numbers include the wifi and ethernet overhead.  The expected data rate can be calculated from those number however.  



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

 Thanks for your assistance with this.

 

1) My software version is 7.1.1.32. 

2) I haven't reboted the modem in 4 days, here is the overview data you have requested. I will reboot the modem later today when I get a chance a post the data for that also. 

 

Downstream Overview

Port ID

Frequency (MHz)

Modulation

Signal strength (dBmV)

Channel ID

Signal noise ratio (dB)

1

591000000

QAM256

4.099

7

37.355

2

849000000

QAM256

4.500

2

36.609

3

855000000

QAM256

4.599

3

36.609

4

861000000

QAM256

4.900

4

37.636

5

579000000

QAM256

4.400

5

37.636

6

585000000

QAM256

4.099

6

37.636

7

279000000

QAM256

2.799

1

37.636

8

597000000

QAM256

4.199

8

37.636

9

603000000

QAM256

4.300

9

37.636

10

609000000

QAM256

4.199

10

37.355

11

615000000

QAM256

4.300

11

37.636

12

621000000

QAM256

4.599

12

37.636

13

633000000

QAM256

4.199

13

37.636

14

639000000

QAM256

4.099

14

37.636

15

645000000

QAM256

4.000

15

37.355

16

651000000

QAM256

4.099

16

37.355

17

657000000

QAM256

4.099

17

36.609

18

663000000

QAM256

4.099

18

37.355

19

669000000

QAM256

4.400

19

37.355

20

675000000

QAM256

4.599

20

37.355

21

681000000

QAM256

4.500

21

37.355

22

687000000

QAM256

4.699

22

37.636

23

693000000

QAM256

4.900

23

37.355

24

699000000

QAM256

4.800

24

37.636

25

705000000

QAM256

4.699

25

37.355

26

711000000

QAM256

4.400

26

37.636

27

717000000

QAM256

4.699

27

37.636

28

723000000

QAM256

4.500

28

37.355

29

825000000

QAM256

5.400

29

37.355

30

831000000

QAM256

5.300

30

37.355

31

837000000

QAM256

4.800

31

36.609

32

843000000

QAM256

4.199

32

36.609

 

OFDM Downstream Overview

 

Receiver

FFT type

Subcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)

PLC locked

NCP locked

MDC1 locked

PLC power(dBmv)

0

NA

NA

NO

NO

NO

NA

1

4K

275600000

YES

YES

YES

2.900002

 

Upstream Overview

Port ID

Frequency (MHz)

Modulation

Signal strength (dBmV)

Channel ID

Bandwidth

1

36996000

64QAM

42.020

4

6400000

2

22100000

64QAM

39.760

1

3200000

3

30596000

64QAM

42.020

3

6400000

4

25300000

64QAM

40.760

2

3200000

5

0

QAM_NONE

-

---

1600000

6

0

QAM_NONE

-

---

1600000

7

0

QAM_NONE

-

---

1600000

8

0

QAM_NONE

-

---

1600000

 

OFDM/OFDMA Overview

  

Channel Index

State

lin Digital Att

Digital Att

BW (sc's*fft)

Report Power

Report Power1_6

FFT Size

0

DISABLED

0.0000

0.0000

0.0000

0.0000

0.0000

2K

1

DISABLED

0.0000

0.0000

0.0000

0.0000

0.0000

2K

 

Did you always have problems with applications buffering, or is this a recent occurrence?  

I can't say for sure. We know it has been going on since March which is when my wife and I started working from home and using Zoom for online meetings. During this time we also started streaming Amazon Prime Video. 

 

How is your home network connected to the modem:

2-1 - Our home is wired with Cat 6 cabling from a patch panel to keystone jacks in the various rooms. The ethernet connection cables are all Cat 6 also.

2-2 - I have 3 unmanaged switches on our network. D-Link DGS-1005G, D-Link GO-SW-5G, D-Link GO-SW-8G.

2-3 - The switches are all gigabit.

 

I have verified the link speed is 1000/1000 (Mbps) through my house wired keystone jacks.

I have looked on the back of my modem which is running in Gateway mode and see the lights are flashing amber beside each port.

The connection speed rate under Advanced shows 1000M Full Duplex 

Thanks for the information about testing the cables.  I did not install keystone jacks myself, they were done by a local AV store in town. 

I have a basic ethernet continuity tester with a transmitter and a receiver and will recheck my cables, this has not been done since they were installed 10+ years ago. 

For wifi I use a D-Link Mesh router (Covr-3902) as an access point.  The main unit and 2 pods (COVR-1300E) are connected to the network via Cat 6 for whole home coverage.

 

There is another odd behaviour I experience on our network and I am not sure if this is related with what you and I are discussing. 

 

Our HP OfficeJet Pro printer. It is connected to the network using Cat 6 ethernet. It prints great and is very reliable, however I am having problems with the Scan to Computer function. It doesn’t matter if we access the Scan to Computer from a PC wired or wirelessly after a day or two of it working, we see an icon in the system tray that says Scan to Computer is currently unavailable. When I reboot the PC it works again for a few days. I have troubleshooted this with HP and they have no explanation. I thoght I would mention this in case it is a clue.

 

Thank yoiu and I look forward to working with you on this.

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Ethernet (Wired Connections) Connectivity Problem

@Datalink

 

My modem has been running fine for 5 days, but now I am experienceing picture freezing on my Amazon Prime video. I have not tried Zoom yet.

 

Here is my overview while the problem is heppening.

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1591000000QAM2564.699736.386
2849000000QAM2565.099236.386
3855000000QAM2565.199336.386
4861000000QAM2565.599436.609
5579000000QAM2564.900537.355
6585000000QAM2564.699636.609
7279000000QAM2563.000136.386
8597000000QAM2564.599836.609
9603000000QAM2564.699936.609
10609000000QAM2564.5991036.386
11615000000QAM2564.6991136.609
12621000000QAM2565.0991236.609
13633000000QAM2564.6991336.609
14639000000QAM2564.5991436.609
15645000000QAM2564.5001536.386
16651000000QAM2564.5991636.609
17657000000QAM2564.5001736.609
18663000000QAM2564.6991836.609
19669000000QAM2564.9001936.609
20675000000QAM2565.0992036.386
21681000000QAM2565.0002136.609
22687000000QAM2565.1992237.355
23693000000QAM2565.5002337.355
24699000000QAM2565.3002437.355
25705000000QAM2565.1992537.355
26711000000QAM2564.8002636.609
27717000000QAM2565.1992737.355
28723000000QAM2565.0002836.386
29825000000QAM2566.0992936.609
30831000000QAM2565.9003036.386
31837000000QAM2565.4003136.386
32843000000QAM2564.9003236.386
OFDM Downstream Overview
ReceiverFFT typeSubcarr 0 Frequency(MHz)PLC lockedNCP lockedMDC1 lockedPLC power(dBmv)
0NANANONONONA
14K275600000YESYESYES3.099998
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandwidth
13699600064QAM42.02046400000
22210000064QAM39.76013200000
33059600064QAM42.02036400000
42530000064QAM40.26023200000
50QAM_NONE----1600000
60QAM_NONE----1600000
70QAM_NONE----1600000
80QAM_NONE----1600000
OFDM/OFDMA Overview
Channel IndexStatelin Digital AttDigital AttBW (sc's*fft)Report PowerReport Power1_6FFT Size
0DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K
1DISABLED0.00000.00000.00000.00000.00002K

 

I ran a test that says I am experiencing 100% packet loss. I ran it a few minutes later and it showed no packet loss, but 75% late packets. I was able to save the results for you.

 

Total Packet Loss: 0.00%
Upload Packet Loss: 0.00%
Download Packet Loss: 0.00%
Late Packet Rate: 75.00%

Average Latency: 231.88ms
Average Jitter: 42.90ms

Test Settings:
Duration: 10 seconds
Frequency: 15 pings/second
Average Size: 220 bytes
Acceptable Delay: 200ms

Details:
--------------
id,status,ping
1,success,250
2,success,184
3,success,255
4,success,192
5,success,165
6,success,162
7,success,169
8,success,156
9,success,161
10,success,166
11,success,163
12,success,176
13,success,187
14,success,185
15,success,183
16,success,190
17,success,196
18,success,197
19,success,202
20,success,205
21,success,209
22,success,215
23,success,222
24,success,228
25,success,222
26,success,234
27,success,235
28,success,241
29,success,247
30,success,251
31,success,251
32,success,257
33,success,261
34,success,280
35,success,272
36,success,279
37,success,283
38,success,281
39,success,287
40,success,290
41,success,287
42,success,284
43,success,265
44,success,215
45,success,166
46,success,120
47,success,127
48,success,237
49,success,240
50,success,232
51,success,243
52,success,244
53,success,244
54,success,242
55,success,250
56,success,255
57,success,251
58,success,265
59,success,259
60,success,253
61,success,263
62,success,272
63,success,268
64,success,262
65,success,274
66,success,279
67,success,265
68,success,276
69,success,282
70,success,281
71,success,275
72,success,289
73,success,351
74,success,306
75,success,283
76,success,294
77,success,272
78,success,223
79,success,253
80,success,263
81,success,260
82,success,272
83,success,276
84,success,283
85,success,282
86,success,279
87,success,281
88,success,297
89,success,274
90,success,220
91,success,193
92,success,153
93,success,227
94,success,236
95,success,239
96,success,231
97,success,237
98,success,252
99,success,224
100,success,160
101,success,47
102,success,94
103,success,52
104,success,47