cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nextbox 3.0 PVR Skips: Recorded Playback Only

testuser1010101
I plan to stick around

Hi all,

I'm just looking to see if anyone else has this issue as I have exchanged my NextBox 3.0 PVR once already and continue to have this same problem on all TVs and cable outlets in my home, so I am assuming it is a software issue with the boxes. It is not an issue with my audio/video system configuration as I am a home theatre expert and to be 100% certain I have tried it on all TVs and separate cable outlets in my home like I mentioned.

Whenever I am watching recorded programming only, I experience occasional freezes/skips in audio and video, but then if I rewind it to rewatch the part that skipped (usually only misses 0.5-1.5 seconds) it plays perfectly. It does not do this during any live programming, only recorded playback. It also seems to be completely random, sometimes happening every few seconds and sometimes only once per hour of recorded playback, but it is not an issue with the recording because like I mentioned I can rewind and watch the part that was skipped and it may or may not skip again. What happens is the picture will freeze for about half a second and then resume a few seconds later, resulting in me having to rewind to see and hear what I missed. It is usually not for long, like I mentioned usually max 2 seconds of skipped time, but during important scenes and conversations you can miss crucial bits and constantly rewinding this "advanced" cable box is irritating.

If anyone has also been experiencing this issue and has any suggestions please let me know as it has gotten quite frustrating now. I was ignoring it at first but after exchanging for a new box and continuing to have the problem it is getting more annoying. Has Rogers acknowledged any software issues with the boxes causing this, and is there a fix coming?

Thanks for any suggestions or feedback.

Cheers,

Adam

***Edited labels***