Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Yahoo Email redirects to rogers.com

 

My yahoo email address is somehow linked to rogers account and when I try to login to yahoomail 9desktop/phone) it keep redirecting me to https://rogersmembercentre.com/rmcapp/remc.html#/changePassword.

I talked to yahoo support and they are saying that its not at their end and asked to contact rogers and have you escalate this issue to yahoo canada supports. I live in USA right now and hence the US yahoo support cannot do much.

Can someone here look into my issue which is going on since couple of months. My yahoo account is 18 years old and its my life  being my primary account. As soon as login via dekstop browser or yahoomail app, it redirects me to rogersmembercenter which is really strange. Someone needs to disconnect the link between my yahoo email and rogers.

Please help!

 

 

***Edited: Removed personal info***

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 319

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Hello @candyresidence,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums, and thanks for your post.

 

I can certainly understand the importance of having access to email, especially an address that's existed for many years!

 

Did you previously have an @rogers email address? We may need some additional information to have this rectified for you.  Please send a private message to @CommunityHelps.  For more information on our Private Message system, please see this page.

 

RogersShaun

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Thanks RogerShaun.

 

I have this email @yahoo.com long before Rogers merged with Yahoo, I had that account for more than 20 years. When Rogers separated with Yahoo, I could no longer access my @yahoo.com email. I tried recovery using alternate emails, all phone numbers I can remember but didn't work.

 

I contacted Rogers customer support 3 times, but all the same, directed me to contact Yahoo. They should know better that there is no direct contact for public to Yahoo, where Rogers would have a back channel with Yahoo for issues related to the separation, and since the problem is not of our making. I also sent a message to Rogers customer satisfaction but didn't have a response, where as promised to get back after 2 to 3 days.

 

As suggested, I created a new @yahoo.com email account. My old @yahoo.com email is still active since emails can still be sent to that address without rejection, and some of my verifications are still based on that old @yahoo.com email. The problem is that I could not read emails anymore on the old @yahoo mail and I could not access important information I saved for years.

 

This is a simple technical problem but need some coordination with Yahoo, I hope RogerShaun this can be rectified, thanks.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2,021

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Thank you for reaching out to us via Private Message, @Roehl_MD!

 

We thank you for the additional information you provided us with.

 

We'll look forward to your reply, so we can discuss this matter more in depth.

 

RogersMaude

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

I have found two work arounds to access my yahoo.com email account. 1. I am now using thunderbird mail program to access my yahoo.com mail on my desktop which is running Linux.  2. On my android tablet I configured access to my yahoo.com mail account using the mail program that comes standard with android, it is just called email.

 

 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Hi,

I have the same problem after I terminated the Internet with Rogers and lost my Roger's email account. Now when I enter mail.yahoo.com, I am always redirected to rogersmembercentre sign in page. I can't sign in to my yahoo email account unfortunately!!!

I called Roger's Internet tech support, and was only told that I have to call Yahoo support. I looks that I'm stuck between Rogers and Yahoo. 

 

If someone has resolved this, would really appreciate your help. Thanks a lot!

 

Sheldon

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Hi,

 

I figured out how to resolve my problem. I went to yahoo.com and noticed the page showed that I was still signed-in with my Rogers email ID. So I signed out from my Roger's email ID and re-enter yahoo.com page to sign-in with my Yahoo email ID. Then I'm able to access yahoo email without being redirected to rogersmembercentre sign-in page. Hope this is helpful for others. 

 

Cheers,

 

Sheldon

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,059

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Hi @XSheldon!

 

Welcome to our Community!

 

Thank you for taking the time to share the solution that worked for you. I'm certain it will be of help to other users in the future. 🙂

 

Regards,

RogersCorey

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

Yahoo mail redirected to rogersmembercentre (again)

 

This problem surfaced for me in 2017. I could not access my yahoo.com email account because every time I tried to log on from the Yahoo! portal there was an automatic redirect to the rogersmembercentre page. After much pain in 2017, a Rogers tech somehow fixed that at his end. Now the problem has resurfaced, and when I call support I get a run around and the techs deny it’s a Rogers issue (even though in 2017 they admitted it was a Rogers issue, and fixed it). I am getting nowhere. Was there ever a published solution to this? I know a lot of people experienced the same problem in 2017. Now it’s happened again, and I can’t get any techs to acknowledge the problem.

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Yahoo.com domain no longer accessible

I called Rogers again today, as nobody called me back when I first put in a service ticket on August 12th. They actually closed that ticket without fixing the issue. Today I was told that this wasn't something Rogers could fix at their end, and that I needed to speak to the (non-existent) tech support at Yahoo!. Yahoo! already had emailed me that they "don't support these issues" ... unless I want to upgrade to a $5/month premium plan. Anyway, I explained to the Rogers rep today that Rogers actually was able to fix the problem at their end in October 2017, so why is it now a Yahoo! problem that Rogers can't fix? But I just kept getting the response that this is a Yahoo! issue.

I suppose a customer focused company would have their tech reps contact Yahoo! directly on the customer's behalf to resolve this, instead of putting the customer through such a spin cycle ... after all, the problem was caused by the inadequate technical plan that went into the Rogers/Yahoo! separation in 2017 ... it wasn't cause by the customers.