cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Call forwarding to a US number and other call forwarding issues

Hmm
I'm an enthusiast

I am just going to post this for reference purposes. The call forwarding feature on iPhones and Android devices, coupled with the specific star codes *21*xxxxxxx# to activate and #21# to deactivate, don't work as they should. I've been using call forwarding (CF) with Rogers since 1996. And it's only been this year that I have been experiencing this issue.

Additionally, is there a network block feature preventing Rogers mobile from being CF to a USA number even though we have a USA rate plan? I tried to CF to a USA number and callers reaching me say the number is out of service when, in fact, it's a valid active working number.

Also, your Tier 1 tech support team have no clue how to check, enable, or disable call forwarding to a specific phone number. They just tell customers to do it manually within the device settings, call forwarding feature. They don't know about the above #21# and *21* features. I find their training and knowledge is exceptionally poor. 

***Edited Labels***

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Call forwarding to a US number and other call forwarding issues

LordDrakkon
I'm a trusted contributor
Call forwarding should work to US numbers. I haven't used call forwarding since returning to Rogers but from what I remeber. It is poaaible. I used to forward my Rogers to T-Mobile numver while abroad because my plan included US calling at the time. Now my plan includes US calling and US roaming, which eliminated my need to use call forwarding.

Some US carrier servuces do not permit call forwarded calls to help cut down on spam. Especially if you have their spam filtering services or Google's call screening feature enabled as an example. Which US carrier is your service with and is it prepaid or postpaid?

Pauly
Resident Expert
Resident Expert