cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does adding an HDD to the back of an HD PVR via eSATA cable work?

ArianK
I plan to stick around

I've never done this before, so I just want to get the right kind of background information before I attempt such a thing. Let me set the scene a little more specifically...

Say one has two PVR boxes. One NextBox 2.0 and one NextBox 3.0. Both are full-fledged PVRs.

Now, say the NextBox 2.0 just stops working. And the owner decides to take the HDD of the 2.0 and plug it into the back of the 3.0 via an eSATA cable so they can access the recordings that were on there, would the recordings show up alongside the recordings on the 3.0? Would they replace the 3.0 recordings until the cable became unplugged?

There just isn't too much information around about this specific practice, so any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: How does adding an HDD to the back of an HD PVR via eSATA cable work?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Here are my comments:

1. You cannot move an eHDD from one PVR to another and watch programming from the previous PVR. The eHDD is "tied" to the particular PVR.

2. You could erase the eHDD and install it on the other PVR, but obviously your recordings would be lost.

3. There is no direct way to tell which recordings are on the eHDD.  The recordings on the Rogers PVRs go the the HDD with the most space on it - percentage wise. So, when you add a new eHDD, all of the recordings will go to that eHDD until it is as full, percentage wise, as the iHDD.  Obviously if you unplug the eHDD and try to access a recording on it, you cannot view it, so that way you can tell which recordings are on the eHDD.

4. The only time that may not be true is if you're doing two recordings at the same time. One recording may go to the eHDD and one to the iHDD.

5. Here's an old thread on the topic of eHDDs over on Digital Home.