cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ZTE-MF-279T Rocket Hub with IP Cameras.

suew3026
I plan to stick around

I have just purchased a Rogers ZTE-MF-279T Rocket Hub (became available Jan 2019) because I want to use it for accessing IP security cameras and monitor a solar power system at our cottage. I have tested it with one IP camera and it works fine. I can access it from my phone app from either a public wifi or Rogers cellular.
I am a beginner to this stuff and have heard that Rogers may change my public access IP address at any time which means I would have to re-configure the camera(s) and presumably it would effect the link to the solar equipment. I haven't educated myself on DDNS yet which I understand may be a solution but before I dive in any deeper perhaps someone could answer some basic questions.
1) How often do Rogers actually change the IP? Perhaps I am exaggerating the problem.
2) Is there a solution using DDNS that will work with the ZTE-MF-279T for all IP devices, not just the cameras?
3) How do I go about implementing DDNS?

Thanks
Tony

***EDITED LABELS***

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: ZTE-MF-279T Rocket Hub with IP Cameras.

suew3026
I plan to stick around

I carried out a test of what happens when the Rocket hub external IP address changes i.e. do I lose contact with my IP cameras? I forced the IP address to change by switching the Rocket hub off and on and then checked the IP address using "Whatsmyip" This showed that every time you do this (switch off and on) the Rogers allocated external IP address does in fact change. The good news is that it did not affect communication with the cameras. It was as if nothing had happened. I confirmed the contact using both a public wifi (McDonalds) and via a cellular data connection. I also tested connection with a remote wifi AC wall outlet switch (as used in Smart Homes) and got the same results.