8300HD PVR Malfunctioning

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
I'm a Reliable Contributor

8300HD PVR Malfunctioning

Hey Rogers experts out there.  I have a problem, and I'll try to provide as much info as possible.

I have an explorer 8300 HD PVR that is a purchased unit, but NOT regestered to my account currently (shouldn't matter).  I have a lot of experience with these boxes (all explorer models) and know that typically once you connect the cable to the input of the box, and power it up, it should still go through its POST and boot up normally, but instead of getting the clock on the front display, you should see 4 dashes (called brick mode, ---- ) and you should see a "Box Not Authorized, Pls call Rogers" message on screen.  At this point its ready to be regestered and activated through Rogers.

Heres my problem.  I cannot get to this stage.  When I connect my box, it goes through a download cycle (starts with rxxx, and does countdown). When it gets to r000 it says "Boot" on the front display, then the 1080i (output res) shows up, a second later, the 720p shows up... a second or two late the 480p shows up..... and then nothing happens for about 8 minutes and the box will reboot itself and repeats the same pattern listed above.  If I press the power button during this time, the last output resolution will come on and off with the power button... it will show 480i (which flicks on/off as I press power).  The box will also sometimes show ER50 and then start its boot cycle.

As stated this box is a purchased box, and returning to Rogers for a swap is not an option.  Obviously I know there is a problem and am looking for any links or help in troubleshooting this issue.

***Edited labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.
Resident Expert
Resident Expert