STB Extended Warranty

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot

STB Extended Warranty

Every month I get billed 4 bucks for an extended warranty on two set top boxes. One of them has stopped working so I take the box into the local Rogers store only to find out there is no such thing as an extended warranty.

I came home with my tail between between legs and called the 1888 number only to be told that yes I was paying for a extended  warranty but it was useless and the only thing they could do was to remove the charge from my account.

I was told by the CSR that I have been paying this fee for 13 years.....well by my calculation this would cover the purchase price (not their cost) of two brand new HD boxes. He was really nice and said I could be credited for the past 90 days...WOW a whole 12 bucks. Something about disputes have to addressed within 90 days.

Well I don't expect my STB to break every 90 days just so I can find out a service I think I am paying for is worthless.

What kind of customer service is this? I've been with these guys since they took over in our area from shaw and I've alway praised their services and value..I have all my communication service with them and only them...but I am now seriously thinking otherwise.

Anyone else that maybe paying for an extended warranty thinking they are covered may want to question their bill.

Signed..unhappy customer.

***Edited labels***

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Re: STB Extended Warranty

I didnt think that rogers DID an extended warranty....
Unless that was a cary over thing from when it was shaw..

Is this a standard Definition box?
And what was is the exact listing on the bill list the warranty as?

I'm a Senior Advisor