Rogers announces 4K set top box and broadcasting in 4K with HDR

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
I'm a Trusted Contributor

Re: Rogers announces 4K set top box and broadcasting in 4K with HDR

Hi @wayner92

(Re: post 165) Audio video receivers with support for up to HDMI 2.0a will support all 4K including the newest HDR, HDMI 2.0 will support all versions of 4K up to 60 fps, and HDMI 1.4 will only support 4K up to 30 fps.

I'm not an expert on AVR's, but I believe you may be able to connect the digital audio out of your PVR into your receiver if your receiver doesn't have the newest HDMI support, or, if your receiver supports ARC, I think you may be able to send the HDMI cable straight from the PVR to the TV, and then hook an HDMI cable OUT of your TV on the one HDMI port on the TV that supports ARC - and run that cable out of your TV into the ARC HDMI on your Receiver - and set your AVR to get it's sound from there.  (I'm not certain about this - because I'm still learning about receivers - but I think that will work.)

Hi @Dimundz88

The Nextbox 4K runs Navigatr, and your existing PVR will soon be infected with it - so you're going to have to get used to it.  Many people have asked if they can 'refuse' the 'upgrade' to Navigatr, and lots who have experienced the fun times with Navigatr have asked if Rogers would PLEASE give them back the old interface.  Nope.

Hi @studlygoorite

If you have Cogeco, I assume that you DON'T have access to Rogers cable through your cable TV connection.

As some people may not be aware of, I'm 95% certain that Rogers is required by law to make its 4K feed available to Bell and other telco's - BUT if Cogeco doesn't have a decoder box that can handle 4K - then you are out of luck.