cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

cdpage
I've been here awhile

Hi there,

I'm new to rogers. Just got the NextBox 8642HD. 

It's been a slow learning curve, and as such i've accepted it's SLOW repsonce times, but after a couple months of use, I can't take it any more.

Is it normal for the cable box to be SO SLOW?

Can I fix this?

Do I have a Faulty Box?

I can not imagine that customers would accept this?

it take take seconds for a button to activate after pressing it on the romote. Worse, sometimes not at all.

It runs like a 3D program on a 386.

Any one else have a really slow NextBox?

***Edited labels***

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: 8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

@OLDYELLR wrote:

I have a SA8300HD PVR , a SA8300SD PVR, 10-year-old technology, and a DTA50. None of them are slow to respond. How is it that all those much newer STBs are such dogs and why is Rogers foisting them on new customers?

The 8300HD/SD are now close to 15 years old. Using SARA firmware they are quite acceptable.  Rogers launched them in 2004.  I bought mine at that time and still have it, although I had to replace the iHDD twice and it doesn't get much use now.  The graphics are not "pretty" and are not HD.  For those people who prefer performance over looks, they function just fine.