cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

cdpage
I've been here awhile

Hi there,

I'm new to rogers. Just got the NextBox 8642HD. 

It's been a slow learning curve, and as such i've accepted it's SLOW repsonce times, but after a couple months of use, I can't take it any more.

Is it normal for the cable box to be SO SLOW?

Can I fix this?

Do I have a Faulty Box?

I can not imagine that customers would accept this?

it take take seconds for a button to activate after pressing it on the romote. Worse, sometimes not at all.

It runs like a 3D program on a 386.

Any one else have a really slow NextBox?

***Edited labels***

70 REPLIES 70

Re: 8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

Lurker
I'm a senior advisor

@User0000624 wrote:

the SA8300 PVRs are not compatible with the Navigatr guide and should not be affected by these changes.

So are you saying the old guide is still available for those with the SA8300 PVR?  I was EMPHATICALLY told that the old guide is gone!  If that is not the case, then why can't those of us who want/need the old guide go back to it???

If this is the case looks like I need to trade-in my 8642 for an 8300.

1. Trade it in where?  Rogers no longer issues 8300's - havent for years.  You can probably find one on the secondary market somewhere tho. 

2.  You were told emphatically, probably by a first line CSR who, as we've established, dont know much.  They only know what they're told by Rogers and they generally assume that everyone has the equipment Rogers wants them to have.

If you have Nextbox era equipment, there's no going back from Navigatr, period.  Its Rogers' network, its Rogers' rules.  If you want the old guide, you need to track down old gear, and no first line CSR is going to tell you that.

@User0000624 wrote: