cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

cdpage
I've been here awhile

Hi there,

I'm new to rogers. Just got the NextBox 8642HD. 

It's been a slow learning curve, and as such i've accepted it's SLOW repsonce times, but after a couple months of use, I can't take it any more.

Is it normal for the cable box to be SO SLOW?

Can I fix this?

Do I have a Faulty Box?

I can not imagine that customers would accept this?

it take take seconds for a button to activate after pressing it on the romote. Worse, sometimes not at all.

It runs like a 3D program on a 386.

Any one else have a really slow NextBox?

***Edited labels***

70 REPLIES 70

Re: 8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

LimboMan
I plan to stick around

To my dismay I woke up this morning to find my PURCHASED 8642HD force-updated to the new guide.  I was happily using the SARA and had asked not to have any of my purchased boxes updated in the past.  I called in and was told all remaining boxes were being updated without the option to opt-out.  

I didn't ask for the new guide nor was I unsatisfied with my SARA guide.  I can no longer use the box as waiting 10 sec after a keypress before something happens is not acceptable.  Even after a power-cycle it still has the same lag so I now wish there was a way to restore the original firmware on my two 8642HD boxes.  

brownie31
I've been here awhile

Agree totally. I would like to get the old software back!! Brutally slow, awful FF and REW, 2am "software upgrade" every night (never happened on the old software). I was dreading the day when my old reliable PVR was getting a forced update and that day arrived.

brownie31
I've been here awhile
Couldn't have said it better myself.....

Hello @LimboMan & @brownie31,

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums!