8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile

8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

Hi there,

I'm new to rogers. Just got the NextBox 8642HD. 

It's been a slow learning curve, and as such i've accepted it's SLOW repsonce times, but after a couple months of use, I can't take it any more.

Is it normal for the cable box to be SO SLOW?

Can I fix this?

Do I have a Faulty Box?

I can not imagine that customers would accept this?

it take take seconds for a button to activate after pressing it on the romote. Worse, sometimes not at all.

It runs like a 3D program on a 386.

Any one else have a really slow NextBox?

***Edited labels***

Solved! Go to Solution.
I'm a Senior Advisor

Re: 8642HD really SLOW - is this normal?

The 8642 IS that slow.....its why Rogers quickly introduced the NB 3.0........

Resident Expert
Resident Expert

Generally yes the box is that slow.. while the software has made SOME improvements (can you beleive it was WORSE than that at one point?).. its still slow.. most likley hardware limitations.

If you just signed up recently.. i would go back, and see if they can get you/switch you to the nextbox 3.0.  a MUCH better unit overall.  Same software, but NO slowness at all (more storage, and 8 tuners as well too)

I Plan to Stick Around

My neighbour got an 8642HD last spring and it was deadly slow compared to my old 8300HD. I called Rogers and they switched it back to the old Guide (SARA firmware). Although not as fancy of an interface, it's much quicker and less buggy. I'm not sure that option is still available.

Resident Expert
Resident Expert