Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

Home Monitoring alert classified as spam by Gmail

 

Tried to find a better place for a bug report but failed.  I had an alarm go off the other day and Gmail classified the alert as spam so I never saw it.  Not the kind of thing you want in your monitoring solution ;).

 

Issue was, this wasn't an algorithmic decision, so I can't even whitelist the sender.  The problem was that Rogers wasn't obeying Google's standards for sender behavior.  I've included some (hopefully) sanitized email headers that should help you diagnose the issue (dunno if it's been fixed already since Sunday)

 

ARC-Authentication-Results: i=1; mx.google.com;
spf=softfail (google.com: domain of transitioning alarms@smarthome.rogers.com does not designate 2607:f798:108::8 as permitted sender) smtp.mailfrom=alarms@smarthome.rogers.com
Return-Path: <alarms@smarthome.rogers.com>
Received: from to5email01.mta.rogers.com (to5email01-v6.mta.rogers.com. [2607:f798:108::8])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id q10si9340228itq.128.2017.06.25.10.50.21
for <m***l@gmail.com>;
Sun, 25 Jun 2017 10:50:21 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: softfail (google.com: domain of transitioning alarms@smarthome.rogers.com does not designate 2607:f798:108::8 as permitted sender) client-ip=2607:f798:108::8;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com;
spf=softfail (google.com: domain of transitioning alarms@smarthome.rogers.com does not designate 2607:f798:108::8 as permitted sender) smtp.mailfrom=alarms@smarthome.rogers.com
Received: from rshm-cpe06-mtnk.rmgt.net.rogers.com (unknown [209.148.139.172]) by to5email01.mta.rogers.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 60C52306BBA3 for <M***L@GMAIL.COM>; Sun, 25 Jun 2017 13:50:21 -0400 (EDT)
Date: Sun, 25 Jun 2017 17:50:21 +0000 (GMT+00:00)
From: EMERGENCY ALERT <alarms@smarthome.rogers.com>
To: M***L@gmail.com
Message-ID: <2003465512.372979.1498413021391.JavaMail.weblogic@rshm-cpe06-mtnk.rmgt.net.rogers.com>
Subject: Home Monitoring Alarm!
01:50 PM 06/25/2017

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,033

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

Looks like the rogers mail is sending out via an IPv6 address now?

 

Probably to help filter, etc.. gmail may be looking at external lists of proper mail server addresses.. which this one isnt matching.

 

Where did you get the headers from?
Was it in the spam?  You should be able to then whitelist it.  Even just whitelisting the email address may help it get through anyways.



I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

The message was classified as spam, yes.  I got the headers via the "Show Original" menu option.  It did not give me the option to whitelist the address, which probably makes sense given that the reason for classification was that Google thought the sender address was being forged (in which case it being whitelist is a false sense of security).  I was able to pin the message which cleared the spam status.  I triggered another alarm this morning and the mail was delivered to my inbox this time, however the message still has the same warning in the headers.  So I think pinning the first message probably instructed Google to trust future similar messages, not sure based on what though.

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

DSC LCD keypad

 

Hello,

I am trying to adjust the volume of the keypad beeps. Previous to switching to Rogers I could press * 6 then enter the master code to enter the menu, then by scrolling through using <> buttons I could choose and adjust the keypad volume. However, since switching to Rogers the *6 master code now arms the system to the "stay" option.

How can I access the keypad volume control?

I'm a Trusted Advisor
Posts: 32,019

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

Hello @strattonbl

Have you tried to contact Rogers Smart Home Monitoring tech support line and see if they can guide you through the settings?. Thar would be your best bet.

I know i can access it going via the settings option.
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

I am wondering if you can have the following rule and how:

 

1. Light comes on from sunset to sunrise at 40% (No issue with this rule)

2. When front door is open, light should go to 100% for 5 minutes and then go back to 40% between sunset to sunrise ( I am not sure how to make this rule)

3. When front camera picks up motion, light should go to 100% for 5 minutes and then back to 40% between sunset to sunrise ( I am not sure how to make this rule)

 

Thanks

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,033

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

The whole sunrise/sunset thing.. not sure that there is a specific setting.. but you can put an active timeframe that it will only trip.  So might have to tweek that timeframe over a period of time. (as it changes over the year)

But otherwise, should be MOSTLY doable.  Slight differences with door vs motion, but practically the same.

Untitled.jpg

 

- Event

- When your specific device

- Has the specific action happen

 

Untitled2.jpg

 

- Turn on light

- Select your light

- Duration - Turn off after X many minutes

- How often, this is where you would select the days of the week, and the TIMES that this would activate on.  It would only trigger if in those timeframes.

 

 

Now the only things with this, is that it wouldnt go back to the 40%... it would go OFF.



Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

I was able to tweak the rule like this;

 

1. Turn light on sunset to sunrise at 40%

2. When front camera becomes motion, light turn on to 100%

3. When front camera becomes still, light turn on to 40% (within 5 minutes, this happens)

 

This way all my rules are working the way I want.

 

Thanks

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

Controlling Rogers Smart Light Bulbs

 

Hi. Does anyone know of an app that I can use to control my rogers smart lights (and ideally the appliance switch)?  I had Rogers Smart Home Monitoring but discontinued it.  I have a number of Rogers lights though, and one appliance switch, that I would still like to control remotely if possible.  I have not been able to identify any apps that let me do that though.  From what I've seen online Rogers uses a Zigbee connection rather than wifi but I still have not been able to find any Zigbee apps to control the lights.

 

Ideally I want a simple free app that doesn't require registering for an account or or online service that will autodetect the lights and just let me turn them on and off.  Something more sophisticated would be fine, but is not essential.  

 

Thanks,

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 14,033

Re: Rogers Home Monitoring - Q & A Thread

The problem is that with those devices, there is no way for it to directly connect to the app on the phone.
It needs a HUB, a central point to connect to (which the rogers control pad was), then that is what you connect to.

I would think that you would need to buy a 3rd party hub for them to connect to, then that to your internet, in which the app connects to.
Something like the following: https://www.primecables.com/en/p-360929-cab-vs10zw-1uo-orvibo-zigbee-smart-hub-for-your-smart-home-z...
(now, i have not looked to see if this one DOES work with all the devices, etc.. its just an example type of devices)