Rogers Frequencies

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Retired Moderator RogersHassam
Retired Moderator
Posts: 571

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hi @kco,

 

Thanks for sharing! The coverage map link you provided is certainly what we would refer to as well. 

 

RogersHassam 

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Technology GSM / HSPA / EVDO / LTE GSM / HSPA

2G bands GSM 900 / 1800 / 1900 - SIM 1 & SIM 2 - SCL-TL00H GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 - SIM 1 & SIM 2 - SCL-CL00, SCL-AL00

3G Network HSDPA 900 / 2100 - SCL-AL00 HSDPA 900 / 2100 TD-SCDMA - SCL-TL00H CDMA2000 1xEV-DO - SCL-CL00, SCL-AL00

4G Network LTE band 38(2600), 39(1900), 40(2300) - SCL-TL00H LTE band 1(2100), 3(1800), 41(2500) - SCL-CL00 LTE band 1(2100), 3(1800), 38(2600), 39(1900), 40(2300), 41(2500) - SCL-AL00

 

Would a phone with these specs work on the Rogers Network?

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hi, I'm returning from Japan and will be bring with me my unlocked phone. I'm just wondering if it'll work with Rogers at all.

The phone's bands are:
2G(GSM):850/900/1800/1900MHz

3G(WCDMA):2100MHz(Band1) / 800MHz(Band6/19) / 900MHz(Band8)

4G(FDD LTE): 2100MHz(Band1) / 1800MHz(Band3) / 2600MHz(Band7) / 900MHz(Band8) / 800MHz(Band19)

Thanks in advance.

Highlighted
Retired Moderator RogersArthur
Retired Moderator
Posts: 385

Re: Rogers Frequencies

 Hi @Jamesyy23,

 

Thank you for your post and Welcome to the Forums!Smiley Happy
  
So far the GSM frequencies for your unlocked device from Japan looks compatible. Our Rogers network uses GSM, UMTS, HSPA and HSPA+ at 850 MHz and 1900 MHz, the LTE technology works on 2100/2600 MHz AWS. For more information you can check our support page on Will my unlocked mobile device work with the Rogers network?

 
Please keep in mind, we cannot guarantee the functionality of an unlocked device on our network.

 

 

Hope this helps
RogersArthur

 

I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 6

Re: Rogers Frequencies

 This week LTE upgrades are being done in Langley and Abbotsford. Next week begins a month long upgrade of LTE & UMTS in the Greater Victoria areas.

 

 Pacificrigger

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Frequencies

NETWORK Technology GSM / HSPA / LTE 2G bands GSM 850/ 900 / 1800 / 1900 - SIM 1 & SIM 2 3G bands WCDMA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 TD-SCDMA 1900 / 2000MHz (B34/B39) 4G bands TD-LTE B38 / B39 / B40 / B41(2555-2655MHz) FDD-LTE B1 / B3 / B5 / B7 / B8 Do you know if "Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 from Hong Kong" can work on rogers Wireless network? Thanks

Retired Moderator RogersArthur
Retired Moderator
Posts: 385

Re: Rogers Frequencies

 Hi @Y133,

 

Thank you for your patience and Welcome to the Community Forums! Smiley Happy

 
If you're still looking for the frequency information our LTE is on 2100/2600 MHz AWS, we also offer 700Mhz in select locations. Looks like your Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 from Hong Kong may need to use our GSM, UMTS, HSPA and HSPA+ at 850 MHz and 1900 MHz, click here for more information.

 
Keep in mind, we cannot guarantee the functionality of an unlocked device on our network.

 

Hope this helps
RogersArthur

 

 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hello

I am looking to buy a Huawei E5786s-32a to use as a WiFi hotspot. I can't find any info to show if it is compatible with the Rogers LTE (although the device supoports LTE 2600). I was wondering if anyone has successfully used this product on the Rogers LTE. 

Any other suggestions for a good WiFi Hotspot on the Rogers network is also appreciated; other than the ZTE models.

thanks, Michael

Retired Moderator RogersPrasana
Retired Moderator
Posts: 624

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hi @GenetiCode,

 

Welcome to the Community!

 

We do provide 2600MHz LTE spectrum in Canada, however since we don't support third party hardware, we cannot guarantee full functionality.

 

Anyone else in the Community have any suggestions?

 

RogersPrasana

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 76

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Regardless of the frequencies you may run into Rogers administrative issues adding a non-Rogers device to a hub plan.  Messages #11 and #14 in this thread:

 

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/MobileInternet/thread-id/2697

 

 

 describe issues I had using a non-Rogers Huawei B890-66 hub.

 

I first had to contact Rogers through their Share A Concern facility because regular sales, 1st-level support, and 2nd-level (billing) support could not get their system to accept my hub's IMEI.  I needed a non-Rogers hub because at the time, the existing Rogers ZTE MF271 hub did not accept an external antenna, which I need because I am 30 km from the cell tower.  I think that is the reason they agreed to my using a non-Rogers hub.

 

Rogers 2nd and 3rd level support were very helpful in getting my Huawei router working, but it was a long process.  We first tested it to confirm it would connect with a Rogers SIM. But I still did not have an account so could not pass data.  The Rogers accounting/admin system would not accept my Huawei's IMEI.  They worked around this by using and IMEI from on off their hubs used by their internal support group.  Once I had an approved account everything worked fine.  So, if you have an approved hub account, and the frequencies are OK, it MAY work if you use the SIM from the approved account (it likely MUST be a SIM from a hub account).  You should make sure Rogers system will accept the IMEI for the plan you want to use it with.

 

Next, you need to worry about frequencies.  I don't know much about that, but I notice 850 MHz is missing which is needed for 3G service.  Also 1900 Mhz is missing and 700 MHz which Rogers will likely use more in the future.  Hopefully, someone with better knowledge than I (that's not saying a lot Smiley Happy ) can give you more advice about the frequencies.

 

Thirdly, the support issue RogersPrasana mentioned can be a problem.  Although my installation worked great I ran into a problem last December.  My non-Rogers hub was likely one of the reasons I failed to get requested 2nd-level callbacks for my first four calls (although I was assured someone would call).  Out of desparation I purchased a Rogers ZTE MF275R (which DOES accept an external antenna).  I finally got help from 2nd-level.  We determined a Rogers out-of-spec receive signal was the cause of my sporadic service.  The problem did not manifest for most users because they are not connecting from 30 km.

 

The 2nd-level support person also helped me improve my reliability and performance by recommending I add a 2nd antenna (in addition to the one I was using) to take full advantage of the LTE service (the details of that are in another thread).

 

Unless their is a real need, I recommend you stick with a Rogers approved hub.  Rogers were great to work with, but it took a lot of effort on both sides to get my non-Rogers hub on.  And then when I experienced problems it was hard to get support, and I accepted that because that was the agreement when they let me use it originally.

 

In the end, I wrote an email to Rogers explaining my frustration in being promised callbacks only to not have those promises fulfilled, but I was happy when I finally did get help but we had wasted time for Rogers and me.  To my surprise, Rogers gave me a very nice credit(I did not ask for it) for my trouble and for buying a hub to replace my non-standard hub which was working fine.  

 

So, my recommendation is to stick with a Rogers hub unless there is a reason it will not work.