Rogers Frequencies

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Can I use this phone with my Rogers account?

  • Unlocked quad-band GSM cell phone compatible with 850/900/1800/1900 frequencies and US/International 3G compatibility via 850/900/1700/1900/2100 UMTS/HSDPA plus GPRS/EDGE capabilities
  • 3G-enabled messaging phone in black with 2.46-inch touchscreen and physical QWERTY keyboard; access to personal and corporate e-mai

 

Retired Moderator RogersAliciaG
Retired Moderator
Posts: 235

Re: Rogers Frequencies

@BriMar

 

Welcome to the community! 

I hope we are able to help you find the information that you are looking for. Smiley Wink

Have a look at this link.

It will provide you information on mobile devices and the Rogers network.

 

Cheers,

 

RogersAliciaG

I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Frequencies

For all of you who (like me) need to buy an unlocked offshore phone and want to use it on Rogers (or anywhere else in the world) please use the following link.

 

 http://www.willmyphonework.net/

 

I will be buying a Galaxy Note 5 Dual Sim from Taiwan. I need dual sim because I spend only 1 week a month in Canada and Rogers' European roaming rates are prohibitive.

 

Hope it helps

Highlighted
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Frequencies

I'm wondering if a Samsung S6 Edge (originally from Wind) will be able to fully work on the Rogers 4G LTE if I get the S6 unlocked? I've heard varying reports on this, some say yes, some say no, some say "depends." Just looking for some clarity before pulling the trigger on anything.

 

Yes, I am currently a Rogers customer with a Rogers SIM card. Thanks in advance for any help.

Rogers Employee ShakTiburon
Rogers Employee
Posts: 992

Re: Rogers Frequencies

 
Details below:
 
Wind Galaxy S6
Frequencies / Bands
2G GSM 850/900/1800/1900
3G 850/1700/1900/2100
 
 
Rogers Galaxy S6
GSM/EDGE Bands:
850/900/1800/1900MHz
HSPA+/HSPA Bands:
850/AWS/1900/2100MHz
LTE Bands:
Band 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 12, 17
 
Wind Doesn't have LTE marketed. So they don't provdie LTE specs, their phone 'may' connect to LTE with the correct APN settings.
 
This is probably why you are getting mixed responses.
The Devices don't compare in details and tech specs (Information retreived from Rogers and Wind's respective websites.
 
Galaxy S6 however does run on LTE without a doubt ~ If you can find Wind Mobile Galaxy S6 specs for LTE and match it with the LTE band by rogers, then you'll have a clear answer.
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hey ShakTib.

Yes, that's what I had heard: basically that the S6 will work on LTE but that Wind doesn't bother advertising that fact since Wind is not an LTE network to begin with.

So are you essentially saying that:

a) I will have to first confirm the S6 Edge I want to buy is the SM-G925W8 model?
b) If it is the model above, I will have to both unlock it and change the APN settings?

Thanks

Rogers Employee ShakTiburon
Rogers Employee
Posts: 992

Re: Rogers Frequencies

It doesn't have to be THAT model. The thing you have to keep an eye on, is if it supports the LTE Bands to get LTE service. Simple.
Match it and it will work.
APN is the software side telling what servers to connect to. You only set up APN settings if the phone is unlocked and was originally another carrier.
(If it is locked to Rogers, it already has the Rogers' APN to begin with).

Hope that make sense...
If WIND doesn't advertise it, you can always check the phone model and find out it's specs online. It isn't going to be that hard. All Phone Model Variation have slight band differences, based on region and carrier network. So you just need to be aware of what you are getting. That's all.
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Frequencies

I am looking to purchase the following unlocked phone, Blu Studio Super Camera 5.0 smartphone,GSM Quad Band 4G HSPA+ (850/1700/1900):  can anyone advise me if it will work with the Rogers network?

Retired Moderator RogersAsif
Retired Moderator
Posts: 700

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hello @txh191

 

Find more information about Unlocked Devices on the Rogers network here

 

Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee the compatibility of non-rogers devices on our network.

 

I have tagged our Resident Expert @Meowmix to chime in if you need anymore information.

 

RogersAsif

 

 

Rogers Employee ShakTiburon
Rogers Employee
Posts: 992

Re: Rogers Frequencies

@txh191 by the bands you mentioned it will work on the 2G and 3G network.
It will however not give you LTE speed as it doesn't meet that requirement.
Your APN settings should meet standard data so don't do the default lte apn. (if you do, it will just attempt lte first fail and go to 3G but will cause slower response time on every connection).

Hope that answer's your question.

@Meowmix can definitely chime in or add additional info, but I like beating him to the punch 😛

 

 

Edit: @txh191 just to confirm, I assume you meant BLU Studio C Super Camera as I couldn't find any Blu Super Camera only