Rogers Frequencies

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I've Been Around
Posts: 1

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Dear all,

 

I am wondering about the ROGERS Network Band / Frequency compatibility with cellular mobiles. I am quite new to this, so thanks in advance for being patient with my questions below. I think a lot of people have similar questions and let's collect a good data base here Smiley Happy I heard/researched that Rogers uses the following Network bands (Vancouver, Canada):

 

Rogers (Vancouver, Canada)

2G (aka GSM) 850 / 1900

3G (aka UMTS / HSDPA) 850 / 1900

4G (LTE) 2100 / 2600 AWS

 

Q1: Am i correct? if not, what are they?

 

Also, How is a cellphone considered compatible with the network....

Q2a: Do I need all 2G / 3G / 4G in order to make simple phone calls?

Q2b: And how about internet? (Only through provider data plan, exclude WiFi)

 

Q3a: If not, does it make a difference in a simple phone call in terms of clarity (signal strength) and coverage whether connected via 2G / 3G or 4G?

 

Q3b: I am guessing internet is the fastest on 4G (with all the ads about upload/download speeds on 4G), am i correct?

 

Q4a: Does the phone need to have both (2G 850hz) and (2G 1900hz) frequencies in order to use 2G? similarly for 3G and 4G?

 

i.e. PHONE #1 has (3G 850 / 900 / 2100) - Will it work on Rogers (3G 850 / 1900), where there's only 850 matching?

 

Q4b: If it does, will a phone with both (3G 850hz) AND (3G 1900hz) matching the network work better or no?

 

Q5: Is there a difference between (4G 2600) and (4G 2600 AWS)? If so, most phone specs only say (4G 2100 / 2600) (without mentioning AWS), how would I know if it's compatible or not?

 

I apologize for some noob questions, I did do some research but got all confused, so I want a clarification all at once. Any help would be deeply appreciated! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

 

Cheers

Highlighted
I'm Here A Lot
Posts: 5

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hi there... I think you're right about the frequencies

1700/2100/2600 for LTE though

you only need 2G for voice calls and SMS

 

You can get slow access via GPRS/EDGE (2G)

 

As for voice calls on 2 g I think you only need one frequency, but you might need two on 3G and I think that the LTE only is for data as it seems to drop to HSPA when a voice call comes in.

I'm a Trusted Advisor
Posts: 31,991

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hello momotarotaro

yea it will work. Most if not all ATT phones will work on Rogers. They both use the same frequency.

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Thank you Meowmix!!!!!

I'm a Trusted Advisor
Posts: 31,991

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hello momotarotaro

You are welcomeSmiley Happy

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hi 

 

With Rogers buying for $3.2 Billions of 700 Mhz frequencies.

 

I wanted to know what phones will work on the rogers 700 Mhz Frequencies 

 

The Iphone 5s says it does on the specifications

 

But will the Galaxy S5 work to on 700 mhz ?   the specifications of the GS5 says it only works on 

LTE Bands:
2100, 2600 MHz Cat 4
 
Please let me know before I buy a new phone
I'm a Trusted Advisor
Posts: 31,991

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hello Marc-andreG

Rogers uses bands 12 for 700Mhz. None of those smartphones will work on the 700Mhz band on Rogers. Those devices use band 17 which Rogers doesn't have. Also Rogers has NOT lit up the 700Mhz yet and most likely will within the summer depending in the area.

Rogers' new 700MHz spectrum covers 99.7% of the Canadian population. Its two blocks of contiguous, paired spectrum are located in the key rural and urban locations across Canada. Specifically, Rogers has acquired the A and B 12MHz blocks, in Southern Ontario, Eastern Ontario, Southern Quebec, Eastern Quebec, British Columbia, Alberta, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. Rogers has also acquired 12MHz of C block spectrum in Northern Quebec, Northern Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. 

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 3

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hi  thank you for your response,

 

 

but what does it mean ?   if I buy the Galaxy S5 now,  I will need to buy a new phone in 1 year to be able to use the 700 mhz 12 ?

 

or will Rogers be able to modify my GS5 to make it work ??

 

 

what phones should we buy then ??

I'm a Trusted Advisor
Posts: 31,991

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Hello Marc-andreG


They can not modify your phone.. That isn't allowed. The band must be turned on by Rogers and tested with the S5 and see if it works. If it does, Rogers will announce it and you will know. As of right now, i don't think any phone can access that network.

So yes, you might have to buy a new phone in a year IF the S5 doesn't support Band 12 with Rogers

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 113

Re: Rogers Frequencies

Finally some good news from Rogers. Rogers claims some of their phones support the new 700 MHz spectrum which is using Band 17 not 12 like some people believe. Good for RogersSmiley Happy

http://mobilesyrup.com/2014/04/17/rogers-launches-700mhz-service-in-parts-of-vancouver-calgary-and-t...