cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What IP is assigned to XB6 when in Bridge mode?

Dahak
I've been here awhile

Request for info - What IP is assigned to XB6 when in Bridge mode... if it's NOT 10.0.0.1

Good day folks. Yes I'm a noob... but I do believe I've worn my fingers raw doing due diligence looking for this single piece of info. Well, TWO pieces of info: IP and login credentials, lol.

Back story:

Received my XB6 (Technicolor version) from Rogers a couple years ago - Internet-only plan. As soon as the installer fellers departed, I changed the default gateway IP from 10.0.0.1 to my existing network's value of 192.168.0.1. All good.

I'm now on the cusp of migrating to an all-Ubiquiti architecture (Unifi UDM-SE Gateway, Unifi Pro PoE switches, several Unifi APs, future cameras, etc, etc), and I'm going to put the XB6 into Bridge mode. (Why, you ask. Well looks like fiber and GB+ speeds are coming to my 'hood finally - so I'd like to be prepared with 'future-proof' gear that will accept it. The UDM-SE will do that quite nicely ... and it's in Stock! Plus, I love to implement proper VLANS for Guest, IoT, etc isolation. Oh, and their native Unifi camera support,  their stellar fully managed switches for a host of wired connections, their wonderful APs and above all their Unifi Network Controller application.)

BUT - in the course of doing my research, there are recurring (and concerning) posts regarding not being able to log back into the modem once it is switched to Bridge Mode. Specifically, since it is currently at 192.168.0.1 in Gateway mode, I'm not at ALL certain what it's new IP will be once switched to Bridge. I sincerely hope to avoid having to factory-reset every time I need/want to get back into the management pages. From what I have read so far, it seems to change depending upon it's initial IP in Gateway mode.