Suffering Packet loss

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,154

Re: Suffering Packet loss

Very  interesting.  I might bug you for some details on going pfSense.  Thinking of going that route as well.  I'm curious how fast that board might go considering that we're running the gigabit service.



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Suffering Packet loss

@Datalink - I'd be happy to share my meagre knowledge about pfSense, but you'd probably be better served asking questions on the pfSense forums, as I'm very much a pfSense noob, and not a networking expert.

 

I just finished moving the modem to basement to connect directly to the coax coming in from outside, bypassing the coax from the basement to the home office.  I'm still getting packet loss, so I'll call Rogers support yet again.  At least this time I've got enough test data to rule out anything in the house.

 

 

2016-08-19-0932-60s-www.google.com.png

 

60s focus, taken after moving the modem to the basement.

 

Edit - I called support, and they also see the packet loss, and similar loss at several neighbours.  He raised a ticket for network maintenance to solve.

 

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,154

Re: Suffering Packet loss

I'll ask one of the mods to delete the image as it has your modem's IPV6 address in it.  Try this.  Instead of running the test out to google, use 2607:f798:80c:10e::1 which is the line 2 address.  That is the CMTS.  That will give you a bottom display for the modem to CMTS path.  The object of the exercise is to keep an eye on that path, looking for packet loss, and keeping an eye on it to determine if the maintenance crew manages to resolve the problem.  So, if you get a call one day to indicate that the issue has been resolved and yet you still see packet loss on that path, then, call tech support again when the packet loss is occurring to get the maintenance crew back out for another go.  When the local packet loss issue has been resolved, then any packet loss that you see further downstream when you run a test out to some far flung server should be due to the network path and its servers.  That can be resolved, but thats a network issue that requires the attention of the network engineering staff.  In theory, at that point, there shouldn't be any local packet loss issues clouding the picture.  

 

When you post those images, and you have an IPV6 address, as this one shows, dump the image into something like Microsoft Paint, wipe out that line one IPV6 address, save it and post it.  The remaining data, ie: the ping times can remain on the image, just wipe out the address.

 

If you click on your personal icon at the upper right hand corner of the page when you're logged in, select Profile from the pop up menu, then My Images to bring up your image library.  You can then delete the last image with the IPV6 address in it.  



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 15

Re: Suffering Packet loss


@Datalink wrote:

I'll ask one of the mods to delete the image as it has your modem's IPV6 address in it.  Try this.  Instead of running the test out to google, use 2607:f798:80c:10e::1 which is the line 2 address.  That is the CMTS.  

Thanks for catching the embedded IP - I forgot to remove it.  I've deleted the image. And thanks for the advice on just going to the CMTS.
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Suffering Packet loss

top one is 60 seconds bottom is 30 seconds, its still happening, im looking at WhatTheFast while gaming and i can see my Bytes sent jump from 7-15bytes up to50-70Bytes every couple minutes, 11.jpg22.jpgShould i use arin.net to find something?

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Suffering Packet loss

Here is also an update on this, I had someone come over a couple weeks ago and "fix" it.

 

 

Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDSignal noise ratio (dB)
1639000000256QAM6.7003840.366
2363000000256QAM9.1001040.946
3369000000256QAM9.4001140.946
4375000000256QAM9.3001240.946
5381000000256QAM8.8001340.946
6387000000256QAM8.3001440.946
7393000000256QAM7.4001540.366
8399000000256QAM7.5001640.946
9405000000256QAM7.9001740.946
10411000000256QAM7.1001840.366
11417000000256QAM7.9001940.946
12423000000256QAM8.2002040.946
13429000000256QAM8.7002140.946
14435000000256QAM8.8002240.366
15441000000256QAM8.6002340.946
16447000000256QAM9.0002440.946
17555000000256QAM7.6002540.946
18561000000256QAM7.8002640.366
19567000000256QAM8.0002740.946
20573000000256QAM8.5002840.946
21633000000256QAM7.4003740.946
22357000000256QAM8.400940.946
23645000000256QAM7.0003940.366
24651000000256QAM8.4004040.366
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Channel IDBandWidth
138595915ATDMA - 64QAM42.75033200000
230595528ATDMA - 64QAM41.25016400000
323700000ATDMA - 64QAM37.75026400000

I seem to have been connecting to a rogers line quite often while gaming 67.231.223.255 and i have had alot of issues with it, I dont know if thats the entire case though

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Suffering Packet loss

http://imgur.com/a/AABcs shows what my gaming connection looks like. its very similar across all games
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,072

Re: Suffering Packet loss

Hello @AHxCode,

 

If that's what your connection looks like across all games, we would need to do some troubleshooting and check your connection.

 

Please PM us @CommunityHelps for further assistance.

 

RogersCorey

I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 2

Re: Suffering Packet loss

Severe Packet Loss For The Last Week or 2.

 

I have been getting severe packet loss the last week or 2 at anytime between 10pm-3am. The way I am seeing the packet loss amounts is through my Teamspeak Connection Info. It spikes up to 60%. And it isn't the teamspeak server because it also disconnects me from my games and stops my Netflix stream. I called tech last night and was told there was an outage in my area and that it would be fixed soon. An hour later my net was fine. But once again tonight it spiked up to 60%. Am currently calling Tech Support again but am at a 36-54 minute wait. I am connected ethernet directly into my PC. It isn't just my PC because my cellphone can't load any websites at the same time that the packet loss is happening.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,541

Re: Suffering Packet loss

 

Hello, @cailerh

 

Welcome to the Rogers Community Forums! Smiley Happy

 

Thank you for joining and posting your concern in the Community. Were you able to reach tech support and resolve the packet loss issue? If the issue is only happening at certain hours it could be related to noise in the signal.  Please send us a private message at @CommunityHelps when the packet loss is occurring so that it can be properly diagnosed. Our private messaging system is explained in this blog.

 

Cheers,

RogersMoin