Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Need Help?

That's what we're here for! The goal of the Rogers Community is to help you find answers on everything Rogers. Can't find what you're looking for? Just ask!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
I'm a Reliable Contributor
Posts: 607

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

not ready to throw the towel yet.. giving it a month or 2 .. hopefully this ping goes down by then.

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Hello.

I'll be running those procedures a bit later when my wife goes to bed. But if I do have ipv6 connectivity. Does that mean I am being routed through that rotten potato of a cmts that Rogers decided to downgrade to?

If so. What is the solution? It's basically making my high speed service useless for my purposes. And it's this kind of performance that got me to switch back to Rogers in the first place.

Don't want to vent too much just yet. But if this is accurate. Then I'm beyond disappointed and expect credits until this penny pinching debacle is resolved.
I've Been Here Awhile
Posts: 4

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

@Datalink  I ran all those tests.

And actually one of the Techs on the phone did a factory reset on my modem, but I went ahead and did another.  Basically everything is exactly the same.  Still having the same issue.

If i factory reset/Restart my modem, my net will be fine for awhile, which is usually an hour or so.

 

As far as IPv4 and IPv6 IPs,   I have my normal IP address xx.xx.xx.xx and then my IPv6 IP address, is totally different, not sure if they are supposed to be that way, or if something is wrong, but its more along the lines of 1234:abc1:123a:ab12:a123:123a:1a34.  something along those lines.  (not going to post mine)

 

here are the stuff you request.

this is pingplotter file  (after reset)

http://imgur.com/a/1nYb9

 

pingplotter file when net is bad

http://imgur.com/a/epdyO

 

Speedtest Net when bad

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5533165392

 

Net right after modem Factory Reset:

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5532053629

 

I ran the IPv6 Test at that site, at first i was getting 16/20, but it mentioned something about my firewall blocking ICMP, so i temporarily disabled my firewall and ran that test again and got the 19/20 that you mentioned, with Hostname coming up as "None"

 

 

 

So im starting to wonder that maybe my modem may be the culprit? ive had it for a little over 1 year.

Could the firmware the modem be on be causing any issues?  its 4.5.8.21

I got this one pushed to my modem Via request a year ago because i was having some issues with some online games.

Could this firmware be conflicting now with the new CASA update? 

 

Also I cant find where to edit a post so i can remove that log.  Im a bit new here. 

However I could edit this post, I believe it had something to do with my original post beind edited by a moderator.

 

 

I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Let me preface that after last night's rant, the whole thing seemed to fix itself like Trudeau said about our economy.  It was perfect, good pings, no PL, 0 dropped frames to Twitch.

 

However this morning, it's back again.  The following is from a direction connection with the modem after a factory reset:

 

 

HW Version1A
SW Version4.2.4.6

 

DOCSIS Overview

Network AccessPermitted
IP Addressdeleted
Subnet Mask255.255.252.0
Gateway IPdeleted
DHCP Lease TimeD: 06 H: 04 M: 20 S: 44
Downstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)ModulationSignal strength (dBmV)Signal noise ratio (dB)Channel ID
1591000000256QAM-3.00037.3569
2597000000256QAM-2.80037.6361
3603000000256QAM-2.70037.6362
4609000000256QAM-3.00037.6363
5615000000256QAM-3.40037.6364
6621000000256QAM-3.60037.3565
7633000000256QAM-3.90037.6366
8639000000256QAM-4.30037.3567
9645000000256QAM-4.60037.3568
10651000000256QAM-4.90036.61010
11657000000256QAM-4.50036.61011
12663000000256QAM-4.00036.38712
13669000000256QAM-3.50037.35613
14675000000256QAM-3.60036.61014
15681000000256QAM-3.50036.61015
16687000000256QAM-3.50036.61016
17693000000256QAM-3.60036.38717
18699000000256QAM-4.00036.38718
19705000000256QAM-3.20036.38719
20711000000256QAM-3.00036.61020
Upstream Overview
Port IDFrequency (MHz)BandWidthModulation TypeSignal Strength (dBmV)Channel ID
1305960006400000ATDMA45.7506
2237000006400000ATDMA45.7507
3385960003200000ATDMA47.7505

 

 

 (google.ca):

 

google.ca 530PM Aug 6th 2016.jpg

 

DOCSIS Logs

The DOCSIS event logs is shown here

NoTimetypePriorityEvent
DOCSIS Logs

The DOCSIS event logs is shown here

NoTimetypePriorityEvent
101/01/70 01:02:0182000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=00:12:00:1a:3e:7a;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
208/06/16 23:11:1090000000warningMIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=00:12:00:1a:3e:7a;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
308/06/16 23:28:3682000200criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=00:12:00:1a:3e:7a;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
    

 

Looks like I am still on the Cisco CMTS?

 

Bonus:

bonus #1.jpg

 

 

bonus #2.jpg

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,049

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

@scratchieepants you downstream signal levels are ok, as are the signal to noise ratios.  The uptream levels are elevated above their normal 36 to 40 dBmV range which usually indicates that the external cable is aging.  As that cable ages, the signal losses in both directions increase, so the downstream starts to drop and the modem output signal levels increase to make up for the losses outbound to the CMTS.  So, at the present time those signal levels are still okay.  The normal levels are 0 dBmV on the downstream with a 36 to 40 dB signal to noise level range.  The upstream is normally in the 36 to 40 dBmV range.  The downstream limits are +/- 15 dBmV but long before those levels are reached, users normally see signal issues somewhere in the +/- 8 to 10 dBmV range.  The upstream limits are 51 dBmV, but Rogers apparently uses 52 dBmV as a failure point.  Tech dispatch usually occurs at the -10 dBmV range or below on the downstream and 52 dBmV on the upstream.

 

Ok, looking at your pingplotter images, you have a large packet loss showing just reaching the modem.  Were these taken via ethernet or wifi, and was the Focus time in the upper right of Pingpltter selected to All?  If its selected to ALL, you will see the packet loss on the image even if it has come and gone.  Thats ok, because its a big flag that tells you that at some point you had a large percentage of packet loss.  The question is, is this an ongoing issue.  To see that, rerun the test and select 30 seconds, or even 5 seconds if necessary as the Focus time in the drop down menu.  If this is a persistent issue, it will constantly refresh and you will see that on the application.  Same goes for any downstream losses. 

 

So, thats the starting point, to resolve the initial packet loss to the modem and go from there.  Please let me know how that was run, ethernet or wifi, and run any futher ping tests via ethernet to rule out any wifi issues. 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Hi Datalink,

 

First of all, thanks for jumping in to help.

 

1: I had a 'new' install about 1.5 years ago.  The line may be aging (assuming we're talking about the line from the locked box at the back of the house then into the house), but it's newer than most.

 

2: I know it's always important to isolate end cilent hardware from a trouble shooting perspective.  But I feel perhaps my modem is at fault.  Here's a ping plotter with me using my Linksys WRT1900AC with the modem in bridged mode:  

 

haywoodjablowme 1PM.jpg

 

Focus was set to "all"

 

I never use wifi for these tests, everything is via ethernet.  

 

The image is for like 74 count, but looking now at the 244th count, still no PL from the PC to the router; using the same cables and hardware that were utlized during the direct connect test. 

 

I will try another direct connection to my gaming PC and trying a different Ethernet cable.  But doesn't this image above absolve my ethernet cable from the gaming PC of any fault?

 

Another image, ping plot to google.ca from my Acer mini pc:

 

acer ping plot.jpg

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,049

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

One of the mods has to approve the image before anyone can see it.  Still waiting for that.

 

Are you using a power bar of any type to run your computer equipment?



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 13

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

Yep,

 

Belkin power bars for most of the pc's.

 

The Acer PC is part of the home entertainment setup, so a Belkin AV power conditioner type unit.  

 

I'm still curious as to why this issue just started creeping about in the past 2-3 weeks.  

Resident Expert
Resident Expert
Posts: 6,049

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

@scratchieepants, for some reason you have packet loss occurring between your modem and the CMTS.  Call Tech Support and ask the CSR to run a signal check on your modem, and your neighbors modems, looking specifically for packet loss.  If you drop that Focus time down to 5 seconds so that its current, and still see packet loss to the neighborhood node on line 2 (the CMTS), then the CSR should be able to detect that on the signal check.  Comparing that to your neighbors will determine if the problem is isolated to your particular cable that runs from the outside tap to your home, or if its a problem will all modems connected to that tap.  That points to the local tap or further upstream as the source of the problem.  If so, have a chat session with your neighbors and get them to call in as well.  The more complaints that occur, the quicker that this should gain the necessary attention.   Ensure that when you are in conversation with the CSR, that you detail the problem, in terms of what the effects are on your pc's, gaming, video streaming, issues with cable tv signal and audio and with home phone service if you happen to have either or both.  Sometimes a CSR will disregard packet loss, leaving a customer with no solution, however, if the problem is severe enough, despite what the signal check shows, it should be examined by a field tech.  Is there any chance of any new equipment in the house that could bleed noise into the cable, and that doesn't mean anything near the modem itself?  Anything in close proximity to the cable, anywhere in the house could cause noise issues.

 

Keep in mind that basic power bars commonly use metal-oxide varistors to prevent any overvoltage condition from damaging connected equipment.  These are usually much simpler than the Belkin AV power conditioner that you have.  These varistors age and eventually can fail, causing enough RF noise to kill cable and ethernet signals.  That's why a CSR will ask you to disconnect them if you have them running, just as a check for noise generated by a power bar.  Looking at your images, the problem exists between the modem and the neighborhood node, so, thats the place to start looking. 

 

Can you delete the second image as it has your modem MAC address in it.  I'd prefer that this isn't left out in the open as its a security hazard.

 

 



I Plan to Stick Around
Posts: 21

Re: Slow Internet and Latency Spikes, Need Help!

I have been getting very low signal noise ratio results on port ID 21,22,23,24 as seen in this imgur http://i.imgur.com/pchL351.jpg

 

Is there anything I can do on my end to make them stay within the 35-40dB range? whenever they drop low my internet begins to degrade greatly.

 

When my internet is working well I get 31-35 on port 21-24 more in line with port ID 1-20

 

Also the low dB on port 21-24 only last  maybe 5 minutes max befoe going up past 30dB

 

Thanks for any advice